Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butterscotch Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butterscotch Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2011

      This really hits the spot. Warm, creamy, and just the right amount of sweetness. My picky daughter and niece loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I am not a kid and I LOVED this! I was able to use less sugar in the morning then at night a little more and eat for dessert too! Mine came out a little too thick but it was my fault I kept it on the heat a little too long. I still loved that thick gooey texture. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      DELICIOUS!!! A great and tasty breakfast. I cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet! Added raisins the kids ate it up. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This is a really hearty oatmeal! I have never put an egg in oatmeal before and was skeptical, but I think it added a lot of richness. Thanks for a different oatmeal recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Best oatmeal yet! Very sweet, and very rich, but oh so decadant! Loved it! I'm hooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This oatmeal tasted great. I think I would reduce the sugar a bit for my personal taste. It had a light butterscotchy type taste to it though. I've been experimenting with oatmeal lately and had to give this one a try. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      was delicious... at the end i added a little more milk to thin and cool as kids dont like oatmeal too hot..... DELICIOUS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe!! This was my absolute favorite breakfast when I was a child- how wonderful to have the recipe now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is a yummy oatmeal! I followed other reviewers and decreased the brown sugar and butter, and added pecans (which married nicely). With the cold milk, egg and lower heat, it does take some time to get to boiling. The milk, egg and butter make this a richer, creamier oatmeal. I loved it (but did not think it tasted like butterscotch - but that might be because I used less brown sugar). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This has got to be some of the best oatmeal I have ever had. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Tagged in Zaar Stars. This is a wonderful oatmeal! My 9 yo, who hates oatmeal, liked this and ate a whole bowl. He does like eggs, so maybe that helped. Used 1/3 C brown sugar, no salt, 1/2 tsp cinn., less butter and added oat bran and flax meal (I add to all my oatmeal). Thanks for a keeper, Kit. Forgot to add, I used quick oats, so it only took a few minutes to cook. Edited to add: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2008 book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      We liked this. Wouldn't be something we make all the time due to the amount of butter, but was a nice treat on one of the first chilly weekend days of the season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Another nummy recipe! I changed it to 6 servings for my family of 5, and had left-overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Oh Kitten - this is deeeeelicious! I used skim milk and irish oats, cinnamon and a light butter spread with omega 3. Wow!! this really is a good, hearty meal that will be good for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I was looking for a way to add egg to my baby's daily oatmeal but wasnt quite sure how to do it. I tried this recipe and its great! The consistency is nice and thick and its very filling. I added alot less sugar (probably even less than 1/4 cup) because she doesnt like it too sweet. Next time i'll probably make it just for DD (I definately dont need the extra calories)so i'll half the recipe and just add the egg yolk. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal. I am a follower of your recipes and am a fan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loved this! I served this with what my niece and newphew call our Sunday big breakfast. We had sausage, hashbrowns, and milk/orange juice/coffee with the oatmeal. I followed the recipe as directed. I even added the cinnamon. I did not think this tasted like butterscotch but that could be because I added the cinnamon. I did think it tasted like cinnamon & brown sugar instant oatmeal though. I have made this so many times to many to count but what I have found is I liked to use the quick cooking oats as they are smaller and I think cook faster and much better then the old fashioned! Thanks for posting such a great recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Wonderful change from the usual morning oatmeal. After reading other's comments I did cut the brown sugar in 1/2 as I don't care for it to be to sweet. I also used Steal Oats as that's what I had but that only meant I cooked it slower and for a little longer. I enjoyed this with fresh hot coffee and will be using it often. Thanks Kittencal, as with all of your recipes I've used this is another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I am always looking for a different tasting oatmeal because we eat it often and I get tired of the same old thing. I cut back on the sugar and it was stil sweet enough to please my husband. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Thought this was pretty good. Made it according to the recipe, but felt that it could have been made without all the sugar. DDs love oatmeal, so they gobbled it up. The recipe doubles quite nicely. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Absolutely delicious!! I rated this 3 out of 5 because DD and DH wouldn't try it. But DS did try a few bites! I added a tablespoon more brown sugar and used cinnamon sugar. Also, I put half the cinnamon sugar in the egg mixture and the other half I mixed in with oats. Just because I love to add vanilla extract to different things, I added 1/2 tsp. to this and came out GREAT! Great way to eat oatmeal! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butterscotch Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 638.0
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    34%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 166.1 mg
    55%
    Sodium 321.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 53.7 g
    214%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes