Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butterscotch Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butterscotch Bars

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times. It is easy to make and the bars get plenty of compliments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      These tasted good, and were gooey and brownie-like as advertised. However, they didn't taste like butterscotch, which was disappointing. They tasted more like brown sugar bars. I might make these again though... thanks MaeEast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Good recipe. I added butterscotch morsels, which made it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Wonderful and easy...how much better could it get? I modified them a bit using gluten-free flour and they still were delicious. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      These were a big hit at a NYE party. One guest even asked if they could take the leftovers home (um....NO!....but you can have a few, lol) Several people asked for the recipe. I'd say that makes them a winner! The only change I made was to add a bag of white chocolate chips. I also added the optional nuts (walnuts).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Yikers, these are really sweet and rich. Very easy to make. Warning-they are very flat and dense. Just eat a few at a time, because I ate a whole strip and got a tummy ache. Good for a major sweet tooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Turned out well. Very, very rich. I had some leftover butterscotch chips, so I added them to the mix. I did undercook them a bit, so they were gooey (luckily that's the way most folks like them).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I loved this- and I do not like buttersctoch. I added choc chips and PB chips to half (no nuts) and my kids loved it. The other half was plain w/out nuts. I thought it was good. I was suprised Hubby did not like this at all. So since some of my house loved this and some did not- I did not put any stars. Also I doubled this recipe but forgot to double the baking powder. It was a little flat but still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      We've never had these before, but certainly loved it. Very interesting texture, crunchy top layer, sof middle and the bottom was a bit like a thin pie base. I made it without nuts - I didn't have any- but will defenitely make again. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Didn't work for me. I didn't have 1c. brn sugar, so used 1/2c. brn and 1/2c. white w/ about 1T. molases. Wouldn't recomend this substitution because of the bad flavor it got. Didn't turn out the best either

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      I was looking for easy but good recipes to make for a special family occasion, and this was so highly rated (and seemed so easy to make) that I knew I had to try it. I was happy to discover that this is indeed worthy of a 5-star rating. The squares are delicious, and so simple to prepare. I made this plain, but might add nuts or something else to jazz it up in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      These were so easy and fast for such a great tasting treat. I added pecans. These are added to my xmas cooking for this year ~Tammy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      These were AWESOME!!! I did not have an 8X8 pan so I made them in a 7X11 glass dish. I did add some extra flour & sugar and use an X-large egg (because the pan was bigger). Just to be extra daring, I added a 1/2 cup butterscotch chips and used a cup of chopped walnuts... oh this was JUST what we wanted! Who knew that walnuts and butterscotch are so perfect together?!! The Butterscotch addict in the house went nutz over these bars... and, if i wasn't before... I am certainly now... his hero! Thanks MaeEast for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Yum... Let's just say that I had a craving for something sweet and this hit the spot! Mom thought that these were the best butterscotch bars that I've ever made! The only thing I changed was that I didn't add nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      so AWESOME! I couldn't tell you how many times I yearned for a brownie but didn't really want chocolate! These absolutely fit the bill! I added a cup-ful of pecan chips to the batter. This bar has the classic brownie texture with the crackly top but with the gooey center. So addictive! I will be making these again probably until I'm dead! Thanks MaeEast, love em'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      I made these without nuts.I tried to do it all in one pan but transferred the melted mix to a cold bowl to speed up the cooling process.I cut them into squares--but I cant tell you how many as they were being eaten as I cut.Absolutely delicious ,sweet but not sickly and incredibly moreish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      These bars are awesome! I added chopped pecans - I cut the bars in the 8" square pan 4 slices one way and 5 the other way to yield 20 bars, just a good size for small rich bars. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      Yumyumyum! Getting ready to make another pan of these! Thanks, MaeEast!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      These were delicious and my family practically ate them all in one sitting. The yield was not nearly 25, I think I got 16 small bars at the most. These are nice and moist,with a nice flavor that's not overly sweet. I will have to make a double or triple batch next time!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      SO easy and SO good! I did add nuts, a 'baker's mix' of 4-5 different chopped nuts. Thanks Mae, this is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butterscotch Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (586 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.2
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    33%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 13.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 41.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites