21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this recipe several times. It is easy to make and the bars get plenty of compliments!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat Local October 18, 2011

These tasted good, and were gooey and brownie-like as advertised. However, they didn't taste like butterscotch, which was disappointing. They tasted more like brown sugar bars. I might make these again though... thanks MaeEast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose May 02, 2011

Good recipe. I added butterscotch morsels, which made it even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PennyLane22 January 01, 2010

Wonderful and easy...how much better could it get? I modified them a bit using gluten-free flour and they still were delicious. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbronwynne February 20, 2009

These were a big hit at a NYE party. One guest even asked if they could take the leftovers home (um....NO!....but you can have a few, lol) Several people asked for the recipe. I'd say that makes them a winner! The only change I made was to add a bag of white chocolate chips. I also added the optional nuts (walnuts).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted January 01, 2009

Yikers, these are really sweet and rich. Very easy to make. Warning-they are very flat and dense. Just eat a few at a time, because I ate a whole strip and got a tummy ache. Good for a major sweet tooth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa P. October 22, 2008

Turned out well. Very, very rich. I had some leftover butterscotch chips, so I added them to the mix. I did undercook them a bit, so they were gooey (luckily that's the way most folks like them).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy March 09, 2007

I loved this- and I do not like buttersctoch. I added choc chips and PB chips to half (no nuts) and my kids loved it. The other half was plain w/out nuts. I thought it was good. I was suprised Hubby did not like this at all. So since some of my house loved this and some did not- I did not put any stars. Also I doubled this recipe but forgot to double the baking powder. It was a little flat but still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookQueen September 21, 2006

We've never had these before, but certainly loved it. Very interesting texture, crunchy top layer, sof middle and the bottom was a bit like a thin pie base. I made it without nuts - I didn't have any- but will defenitely make again. Thanks for sharing this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
97grad September 17, 2006

Didn't work for me. I didn't have 1c. brn sugar, so used 1/2c. brn and 1/2c. white w/ about 1T. molases. Wouldn't recomend this substitution because of the bad flavor it got. Didn't turn out the best either

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria January 13, 2006
Butterscotch Bars