Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2002

      We had this on our Thanksgiving table. I used the last of my butternut crop to prepare it. Was a nice change fromt he regular sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      The toasted pecans were so good with the squash and sweet onions. I ended up adding water to the pan to steam the squash after a bit, as it was taking a long time and I didn't want the onions to burn. I think I'll roast the squash in the oven next time and then combine. Great flavors! Thanks, LikeItLoveIt. [Made for I Recommend]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This was amazing and so easy, the taste was enjoyed by both me and DH. The only thing I did differantly was to use ready cut squash I found at the store, cut the recipe in half (there's only two of us) and added a small amount of freshly graded nutmeg. I'll be making this often, what a great way to get some really healthy vegies in the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      It's been quite a while since I made this and I can't believe I didn't rate it right away. This is a great way to prepare butternut squash! Thanks =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I too was looking for an alternative to baked squash and turning on the oven. Everyone loved it. The only change I did was to toast the pecans in a skillet as it is just to hot this summer to think about using the oven. Loved your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Delicious! I was looking for something different to do with a butternut squash, AS THE REST OF DINNER WAS COOKING (!) and found this recipe. My family loved it! Definitely adding it to our repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This is different and quite good, although I didn't think it was outstanding. Still, I will serve this again, if only because it isn't sweet like a good many winter squash recipes. I put the squash in the microwave for a few minutes to soften it up some. This makes it easier to peel and cut. Be sure, if you do this, to make some vent holes in the squash; otherwise it may explode! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This is really good. Different form what most people will bring, and tasty. The reheating on medium did not seem to make a difference, just skip that part and add peacans after you finish the low heat part. I cut the squash the night before. You'll need a good, sharp knife to cut butternut squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.9
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    64%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 44.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites