15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This was so good! We loved the savory taste; some butternut squash recipes end up too sweet. I cooked the whole squash in the microwave for 6 minutes for easier peeling, and baked it at 350 for about an hour. Served with pork tenderloin and creamed spinach. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC October 29, 2009

This was very good! I used alot more garlic and added some dried sage. It came out very caramelized and sweet. Thanks for this one! Made for I Recommend Tag Game 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty December 11, 2009

This is the way I like to make butternut squash! I used jarred minced garlic to make it even easier and top it at the end with some parmesan cheese and then broil for a few until it's browned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish April 17, 2014

We really enjoyed this. A wonderful alternative for those of us who try to avoid sugar. Great flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JBolger December 10, 2012

Very good! Simple and quick to put together. I used 4 good size cloves of minced garlic. Will try adding some fresh herbs as others have recommended. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debilyn_Ks September 19, 2011

First time i ever had butternut squash. Im glad we started with this recipe. simple and the squash makes the statement. sometimes less is more. thanks for sharing it. Everyone should get a Titan peeler. the one thats on TV. one of the few seen on TV that are worth the money. It worked great for peeling

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mooredist July 30, 2011

Really really really good. And easy. My favorite combo :) I toss in a few sprigs of thyme and sage from my garden (I rub a little of the leftover olive oil and garlic on them so they don't burn). Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wahmommy June 16, 2011

How could you not love this recipe? 4 common ingredients, 5 min to put together. You pop it in the oven and your house smells like happy, and it's super awesome tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo November 12, 2010

Great recipe. I added some fresh sage. This is great for fall.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
School Chef September 25, 2009

So easy and very good! the tendency in South Africa is to prepare this popular vegetable with brown sugar and cinnamon, I prefer your method, Quistis!! I made exactly as directed, and I like another reviewers suggestion of sage, I have plenty growing in the garden and will try adding some next time. Thank you for an excellent twist on a perennial favourite! Made for PAC Fall 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 25, 2009
Butternut Squash With Garlic and Olive Oil