Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2009

      This was a very nice and thick squash soup. I couldn't find the frozen squash, so I subbed the pre-packaged chopped butternut squash which worked out really well for this recipe. I halved the recipe but used an entire unpeeled apple and onion. I loved the different spices in this recipe although I wasn't crazy about the lime juice for some reason... might just omit it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I just made this for about 50 teachers at my school for our annual Teacher Appreciation Week lunch and they left me a gushing note about how much they loved it and how they demand the recipe ;-) My husband suggested I make this type of soup and when I saw lime, apple and honey in the ingredients list, I was sold. It was truly delish, and I stayed true to the recipe except I added a little less black pepper (personal taste) and a little more cream (also personal taste). I'm not sure I cooked the squash long enough cause when I blended it in the pot, it didn't come out perfectly smooth. Since I've never made this type of soup before, I wasn't sure how smooth it was supposed to be, but that didn't affect the flavor one bit. It was complex and satisfying and just "warm" enough. This will be an heirloom recipe. Thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Delicious! The apples, lime juice, honey... it all came together as many delicious layers to this soup. My only complaint: too salty! Next time I'll cut way back on the salt, but I did love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Wow!!! This was the best soup I've had. It is very filling and so tasty. I didn't have carrots so I used 2 jars of baby food carrots. I shared some with a friend and they wanted the recipe. Next time I will serve it in sourdough bread bowls. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Ummmm! This was delicious! I've been wanting to try a butternut squash soup for several years now and this is the first time I've tried it. It was very satisfying. And the flavor changed significantly and beautifully after adding the lime, seasonings, and cream. It was great! Thank you.... ~JamHan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Loved this recipe - will become a regular in my winter soup rotation. I did roast the squash first and the only changes I made was to cut back by half the black pepper, which I'm not really a fan of, and used three 14 oz. cans of chicken broth. Oh, and I used several little Golden Delicious apples instead of the Granny Smith. Thanks, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This is amazing!!!!! The first time I made it, I didn't bake the squash first and ended up with sore arms for my trouble. But now I know better... I added 24 add'l oz of chicken broth so it would be a little less thick and it ended up perfect consistency for me. Thanks for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      There's always something so very satisfying having soup bubbling away in a pot - especially when it smells as divine as this soup did. And WOW this soup tasted just SO good. We have zero tolerance of anything hot and spicy so I omitted the ground red pepper and added some cinnamon in its place. But otherwise, except for doubling the garlic, I made this exactly to the recipe, and blended the soup with an immersion blender (so much easier). An absolutely superb blend of flavours. How satisfying to know that there are some more serves in the freezer! Thank you so much, Kim, for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This is a very delicious soup! I made it vegetarian by using fake bacon and vegetarian chicken seasoning and water for the broth. The four of us in the family finished it off easily! Thanks! Made for ZWT4 - Los Jefes de la Cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Thought was outstanding, TRUE! Added bit of homemade chilli sauce...is FAB...good for weight loss too! LOVE the combinations, really GREAT taste for me! Thanks for sharing your GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I halved the recipe, but left the same amount of whipping cream in it, and used an immersion (hand) blender in the pot (oops orange walls!). I thought there seemed to be a lot of ground black pepper in it, but it gave it a nice zesty warmth we both loved. This came out excellent!! We both loved it very much, it received a "you can make this anytime you want" from DB which is a fine compliment indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I had this Pureed Squash Butternut, Acorn Any Hard Winter Squash! made so that is what I used. It makes it very simple, no peeling or trying to chop throught the hard squash. This is real confort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Suuuuper warm and fuzzy kinda food. Surprisingly, also liked by DH b/c of the Bacon. Not ever having made a Butternut Squash soup, I stuck to the instructions and used fresh squash. I did use center-cut bacon to cut down on calories. This is a great winter soup and would pair very well with any type of meat dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      This was not one of my favorites, but it had such great reviews that I'm wondering if I didn't do something a bit off. I did not use bacon to keep it healthy and I think I used too much squash (I didn't really have anything to measure with) which made it REALLY thick. I might try it again with a few alterations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      super yummy soup... pretty color and perfect for a grey fall day. i added some green onions to the garnish and a little worcestershire and tobasco sauce and used beef stock instead of chicken and it was very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Really good soup! I've never eaten butternut squash before, but my boyfriend bought one and this was the recipe I chose. I made it as written, but I didn't have allspice, so I subbed a lttle cloves. I used extra red pepper, and stirred in the sour cream and bacon.. I also added just a tad of liquid smoke to enhance the flavor of the bacon. It was perfect for this cool, dreary day. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      A really delicious soup recipe. I didn't change a thing. Just what I needed on a cold winters day - definitely making this again. Thanks Kim!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      Oh, we all loved this one! I've made it twice, making it again tonight. The second time I made it, instead of the whipping cream, I used fat free evaporated milk and there was no difference in taste or texture. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

    • on November 14, 2005

      Excellent, creamy texture, and a pretty soup with a kick! I didn't have bacon, but browned the onions and carrots in olive oil instead. Tasted great, though next time I think I'll scale back on the amount of red pepper. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.2
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 691.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites