71 Reviews

I tried this recipe again tonight and it is by far the best soup I have ever tasted. I used sour cream instead of whipping cream. The soup has a definite bite to it - spices would need to be minimized if you are making this for young children. The last time I made it I made a double batch and froze it. Freezes extremely well and when reheated on the stove top, tasted as though it had just been made. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cazannem December 21, 2014

The soup was good but I had to add a little more whip cream. Its better to use the fresh squash instead of frozen and I added some coconut milk. The results were good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pebblesp63 April 03, 2014

This was yummy and really easy! The kids and adults loved it alike. I left out the honey and it was delicious all the same. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 4 five kids November 19, 2013

Made as directed, apart from one tsp of turmeric - just 'cause I'm trying to get that in my diet every day. This is the best butternut soup I've tried and the one I will be using from now on. Thank you, Kim :) PS The blending in batches in my food processor has made me long for an immersion blender - must add to my wish list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie July 07, 2013

Yum!!! So many different flavors all combined together. I made it just as directed, with just a little extra chicken broth. Left out the ground red pepper since not a big spicy fan - the black pepper was plenty! Next time though, going to use the pre-cut butternut squash bagged in the produce section - peeling and cutting the squash was a pain and not worth it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN November 02, 2012

Very good! I wanted something more exciting than "Squash Puree", and this is it! (Like another reviewer, I baked the squash ahead of time; I even chopped the veggies ahead of time and froze them so that I could make the soup more quickly.)
I bought a 5 lb. squash, which may be why my soup was very thick. I ended up using about 48 oz. of chicken broth and double the amount of cream. Otherwise, I made as stated.
Next time, I would probably not use the red pepper. (Hubby, who likes spicy food, objected to it in this dish.) I did think the lime juice and honey were a nice subtle touch, just the right amount even though I increased the other liquids. The sweetness of the honey is more detectable than the lime juice, and I may decrease that as well, for personal preference.
What a great recipe though; thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn October 23, 2012

So great that my kids loved it!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AC&DKMomma October 18, 2012

Very good for me but the boyfriend and his kids weren't going for it. They are very very picky so I am not rating on their feedback. I may try this for my girlfriends and I will add a little curry powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain October 06, 2012

Amazing! I made it according to the recipe, and added half a baked potato (just because it needed to be used). It was thick and rich, and the lime perfectly offset the spice. Sliced green onions or chives would also be fantastic as a garnish, along with the bacon & sour cream. This one is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon September 10, 2012
Butternut Squash Soup