68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made as directed, apart from one tsp of turmeric - just 'cause I'm trying to get that in my diet every day. This is the best butternut soup I've tried and the one I will be using from now on. Thank you, Kim :) PS The blending in batches in my food processor has made me long for an immersion blender - must add to my wish list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie July 07, 2013

Yum!!! So many different flavors all combined together. I made it just as directed, with just a little extra chicken broth. Left out the ground red pepper since not a big spicy fan - the black pepper was plenty! Next time though, going to use the pre-cut butternut squash bagged in the produce section - peeling and cutting the squash was a pain and not worth it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN November 02, 2012

Very good! I wanted something more exciting than "Squash Puree", and this is it! (Like another reviewer, I baked the squash ahead of time; I even chopped the veggies ahead of time and froze them so that I could make the soup more quickly.)
I bought a 5 lb. squash, which may be why my soup was very thick. I ended up using about 48 oz. of chicken broth and double the amount of cream. Otherwise, I made as stated.
Next time, I would probably not use the red pepper. (Hubby, who likes spicy food, objected to it in this dish.) I did think the lime juice and honey were a nice subtle touch, just the right amount even though I increased the other liquids. The sweetness of the honey is more detectable than the lime juice, and I may decrease that as well, for personal preference.
What a great recipe though; thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn October 23, 2012

So great that my kids loved it!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AC&DKMomma October 18, 2012

Very good for me but the boyfriend and his kids weren't going for it. They are very very picky so I am not rating on their feedback. I may try this for my girlfriends and I will add a little curry powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain October 06, 2012

Amazing! I made it according to the recipe, and added half a baked potato (just because it needed to be used). It was thick and rich, and the lime perfectly offset the spice. Sliced green onions or chives would also be fantastic as a garnish, along with the bacon & sour cream. This one is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon September 10, 2012

I really loved this. I made without bacon out of consideration for vegetarian daughter, however, I did top my soup with a piece of bacon. Delish !! I could eat it without but it taste a lot better with. A lot of different flavors. When I make it again I may reduce the amount of pepper this coming from someone who likes a little spice. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church August 25, 2012

We really loved this soup. Instead of the butternut squash, I used some leftover mashed sweet potato (3 c. cooked) and just added it in right before the pureeing step. We like our soup really creamy, so I doubled the cream to 1/2 cup (and didn't skimp on the sour cream at the end either). Perfect! The one thing I will do next time is go with the suggestion to make more bacon for garnish. It complemented the flavors of the soup very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama March 01, 2012

Made this last week for DH and myself. Was so good that I froze the leftovers (before adding cream) and served it to my in laws for a dinner party this past weekend. They also loved it. I served with French Tart's Stilton and Walnut rarebit and a green salad and everyone was very happy! My only change was cut and roast the squash first. Awesome! Definitely recommended using the extra bacon on top.

Thanks Kim!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Romano-Clarke February 07, 2012
Butternut Squash Soup