Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2011

      Very good soup....I cut down on the red pepper as I don't like too much spice...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This is amazing! I wanted a butternut soup that had more flavor than just the squash. This fit the bill. So many flavors combine into a wonderful creamy soup. I didn't add the lime juice. I will be making this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Very best butternut squash soup I have ever made! I only used three slices of bacon and I skipped the half and half and the sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Fantastic soup, thanks for posting. I was happy to use the frozen squash, it really saved time. We served this with a loaf of good bread and a hearty salad for a complete meal. It makes quite a bit, so there are plenty of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Mmm, mmm, good! This soup was about as perfect as is possible to get. It wasn't too thick or too thin. The seasonings were right on. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but forgot to add the sour cream garnish. I didn't miss it at all. However, next time (and there will be a next time) I'll crumble the bacon extra finely. I put most of it in the freezer (before adding the cream) and plan to serve it at Thanksgiving dinner. Yes, it is that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Everyone liked this soup a lot. However, we liked it more when I used curry, cumin and some other spices for more flavour. I also like to roast the squash for awhile before adding to the pot. The bacon really topped the whole thing off and added some nice texture. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      We have been making this soup for over a year now after we found it on this site. We LOVE it. My five and three year old do too. We do cut down on the black pepper and red pepper to keep it from being too hot for little ones since you can always add more later, but the flavors in this soup are amazing. I was turned off for a while by the amount of steps, but it is so easy I can do it without the recipe now. Thank you thank you thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I made this soup for my parents and my husband and they loved it. I followed most of the recipe, I just excluded the whipping cream and the sour cream, and we didn't miss it. It was great and I will definitely make again. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Followed to the T, but I didn't like it at all. Must be a taste thing, as I was sure I would. However my kids and husband loved it, so guess it was just me. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Excellent soup - I just made it this afternoon. Very easy to make. I did substitute sour cream for heavy whipping cream and added ginger. Pure comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      WOW!! This is spectacular soup. The only changes I made is I used a 2inch cinnamon stick in the soup and removed it and the bay leaves before pureeing it. I have a chef friend and his tip with this type of soup is to strain it using a fine mesh strainer. Make sure you push it through with a spoon though, you should only have a couple of tbsp left in the strainer at the end. This is just the celery strings etc. Anyway this was soooo perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Wonderful soup. I omitted the heavy cream and it was still delicious. This was better than anything I've tasted in restaurants. Thanks, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      I loved this soup! I was tempted to skip the bacon on top, but I'm glad I didn't. It really pulled all the flavors together, and mixed with a little sour cream was delicious. A definite 5 star-thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I thought this was good but I didn't like the tang the lime gave it so next time I will omit the lime juice. I used maple bacon and I feel it complimented the sweetness of the squash really well. Also I didn't have carrots so I used parsnips and I didn't have a granny smith so I used a pink lady (half of one because it was huge) and it tasted great. I also didn't have allspice or anything like it so that was omitted.Also, I roasted fresh squashes in the oven (halved and face-side down on a lightly greased baking sheet) for about 30 minutes at 425 degrees, or until soft, before adding them to the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I have never tried butternut squash soup before. I loved it. I thought all the flavors went together perfectly. I hope it freezes well, would be nice to have a supply in the freezer. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Wow! This is SOOO good. I cut the salt back to 1 tsp. because our bacon was pretty salty. And I cut the black pepper back a little bit, too, for the sake of the kids. Everybody loves it! Next time, I'll make a double batch and freeze some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This is a terrific soup that we have made many times. I always get rave reviews when I serve it to friends. Even my kids like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Excellent flavor. Very nice and not overpowering. Used a hand blender and still got good results. Also used lighter cream and no bacon grease. Very good recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Yes, I agree with others! Complex flavors. Lots of layers. Time consuming but worth it! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.2
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    27%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 691.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites