51 Reviews

For an even easier way to cook the squash, slice it in half lengthwise and place in a plastic bag, seeds and all, and cook in the microwave. Cooking time depends on the microwave itself. I'd say 10-15 minutes. When soft, remove the seeds with a spoon, then scoop out the squash. Fast, clean, and easy. The soup sounds delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurapf January 17, 2003

I'm giving this a 5 even though I made several changes to suit our tastes. I am sure it is perfect exactly as is for people who like food a tad on the bland side. I added grated fresh nutmeg, more ginger (probably twice as much), black pepper, a little sherry, 2 T of finely minced crystalized ginger and a little lemon grass. My husband added some Louisiana red pepper sauce to his. This is a good, basic recipe that can be adapted to suit any taste. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ November 27, 2009

This is wonderful soup. I use 0% fat Greek yogurt instead of sour cream for fewer calories, but that's it for modifications to the recipe. I've served this at Thanksgiving for several years, and it's always a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rioja December 06, 2014

I grow butternut every year and enjoy the squash all fall and winter. The ginger compliments the squash well and provides for a really nice soup. I added more ginger than specified to kick up the spice a bit. I gave it five stars but this comes with a disclaimer: this is the best way I've ever made butternut. If I compared this with other soups, I'd give it 3 or 4 stars. It's good, but certainly doesn't beat the classics.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitterhill November 23, 2014

Enjoyed this very much! I added a few shakes of hot sauce to give it a little more bite! I would make this one again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl November 07, 2014

I'm not sure how I would have liked this as is, it seemed a little plain so I used it as a base. I added a bunch of minced garlic and sauteed it with the onions and ginger. I also added my curry spice mix (has things like curry, coriander, cinnamon, cumin) and some cayenne. I think it would be awesome with some fresh basil to garnish the way I made it. Good for a starter, easy to get creative!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pookiexcore January 09, 2014

This was an excellent soup! Easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunnerbun November 22, 2012

Good flavor and easy. It turns out I don't personally care for the chewy texture of the grated fresh ginger, but it was a really flavorful and healthy soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy January 23, 2012

Like others before me, I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and about 1/3 cup fat free half and half which helped the flavor greatly. I also had cubed butternut squash from Costco so I sprinkled olive oil and cracked black pepper and opened 3 cloves garlic to roast with it. The garlic didn't go into the soup. Without the additions, DH and I didn't love it but with them it was delicious. I will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clutucket November 03, 2011

Like a few other readers I made a few changes. I added 1 16 oz can pureed pumpkin to the soup once all other ingredients have blended. This not only gives added fiber, but a nice texture to the soup. I always make a similar soup on Thanksgiving and will be using this recipe this time around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cshmom October 09, 2011
Butternut Squash Soup