24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This did not need the whipping cream. Was ok. Will make again with out the cream or with coconut milk instead. UPDATE: made this with the coconut milk, it was better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz September 30, 2009

ratherbeswimmin', what a swimmingly great recipe only one change instead of chicken broth, I used apple cider instead. Absolutely yummy, I will make again but will definitely add more garlic to the baking process, we topped the soup with Greek thick yogurt and served with San Francisco Sour Dough Bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo September 28, 2012

This was good, but not excellent. I doubt I'll make it again, as my 3yo & 5yo daughters did not like it. :( I wanted to love it, as this recipe came highly recommended by a friend, but it wasn't for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goji Girl November 08, 2010

Great recipe but I cheated. I already had steamed my squash in my table top steamer before I found this recipe. I used chicken stock, omitted the onion just because I didn't have time to do it, and omitted the oil and used a 1/4 cup of half n half because that's what I had. I tasted it pre half n half and it was lacking. I also rationalized that not having the fat would not keep me full for long on a watery soup. The thyme took this soup to a whole nother level. This recipe is great because it is easy to customize.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffenade October 26, 2010

Nice basic recipe, but needed a few tweeks. I omitted the cream, then added about 1/2 tsp curry powded, 1 tsp fresh ginger, and 2 Tbs Dark brown sugar while the soup was on the stove top. Came out wonderfully flavorful, and everything complimented each other without a single overwhelming ingredient. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icefairyonfire February 21, 2009

I really liked this recipe made it for the first time tonight. Will definitely make again - and next time it may warrant 5 stars... A few words for those who are making it for the first time: no matter how much you LOVE roasted garlic -- use a MED - SMALL head of garlic -- not the biggest in your pantry (like I did). I had trouble peeling the squash after roasting so I figured I didn't roast long enough. I'll roast the whole 2 hours next time... I also used 2% milk instead of cream and don't think I missed a thing except a couple of calories... also used my immersion blender and it worked like a charm. All in all - a wonderful soup even if I would have had to title mine Roasted Garlic and Butternut Squash soup.... ! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 January 04, 2009

Excellent! I used canned whole milk instead of the cream on the third time I prepared it, and still wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Neely October 16, 2008

WOW, excellent. I did only 2 tablespoons of oil and 1 spoon of thyme.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyneuro September 29, 2008

Yummy soup. A bit of work, but so worth it! The only thing I omitted was the cream because I found the consistency to be thick enough without it.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Greenest January 16, 2008

Lovely soup, very easy to put together with outstanding flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl January 06, 2008
Butternut Squash Soup