14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup is easy to make and yummy. I followed the suggestions of the other posters and used one pack of cream cheese. It was perfect. I bought a large pack of peeled and cubed fresh butternut squash at Costco. Using the pre-cut squash made this a no fuss winner. Thank you for sharing this recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
904713 February 11, 2010

Thank you for this recipe, it was delicious and decadent tasting! We made a few tweaks; as suggested, we used only one bar of light cream cheese, then added one capful of apple cider vinegar and 1/4 tsp of ground coriander. We are making it again tonight for my Mother who is visiting from out of town. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
velvetmuffin34 October 15, 2013

I do love this recipe, I have made it twice now. Tonight, I didn't have marjoram so I added some saffron which was excellent. I use only 1 8 oz cream cheese, the light one. I had a sore throat and this was just the ticket!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss The Cook! August 22, 2013

oooh yum! I had this gigantic butternut squash, which I had oven roasted for another recipe, so I just went right to the puree part of the recipe, adding the chicken broth and cooked onions to the food processor in batches along with the cream cheese and squash... poured it in the pan, added the herbs and heated through... simple and scrumptious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R November 08, 2010

This is an easy and fantastic recipe. I used Curshaw squash and used butter instead of margarine, also took the other reviewers suggestions and used only 1 8 oz. package of cream cheese. You must try this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnydaze1004 November 08, 2009

This is a delicious "savory" type soup recipe. I prefer this over the sweetened squash soup recipes. I have used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it's still delicious. When I tell people about this soup they make a funny face....until they try it. I guarantee they will ask for the recipe. It's very comforting on a cold winter day. yummmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelltine October 31, 2009

Excellent flavor, very easy to make. Since you boil the squash instead of baking it, the preparation time is much shorter. Next time I make it, I will add a little ginger to some of it to see how that tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starman5 August 03, 2009

This turned out awesome. my husband usually doesn't get excited about a meal that doesn't showcase some kind of meat, but he just about licked out his bowl. I put in one and a half packages of cream cheese and it tasted perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandave November 12, 2008
Butternut Squash Soup