Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Souffle or Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Souffle or Kugel

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      I believe this recipe has lots of potential, but it just didn't work out for us. :-/ Since I love butternut squash, I'm going to make this again with the following changes: I'll use an 8x8 pan, as the 9x13 produced a flat product; I'm going to add cinnamon and nutmeg directly to the mix before baking so it's more flavorful; and I'll use 1/4 cup of oil instead of the half, since it was oilier than we would've liked. Thank you for posting this great idea for a healthy dessert. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      I am giving this a full 5 stars because it was the first time my husband and son were happy with squash. I halved the recipe, served this to company and the presentation was fabulous. When I said that there was no cream or butter in the dish, everyone demanded the recipe. While I am a lover of squash and thought it was good but not amazing, everyone else was raving. This is the ideal recipe to get non-lovers to convert. It is a great side dish; healthy, easy, and visually impressive. Thanks so much for something new. It will be in regular rotation.

      Addendum: We have made this a number of times. Though it was inconsistent originally, I have found to make it right every time mix the wet ingredients and blend well before mixing in the dry ones. I use my stick blender. Also, Replace the oil with applesauce. Not for health reasons, but because it makes it fluffier and doesn't have that oily or falling flat problem. We also prefer a bit of cinnamon in the batter and the greater amount of sugar. The frozen squash has been much better than the fresh, easier to use and cheaper, too. It doubles well for holidays. We like it best at room temperature, making it the perfect make ahead dish. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      This is really good and really easy to make! I used 1/4 cup of oil as someone else suggested and a bit less sugar. I also mixed in a few hefty shakes of cinnamon and nutmeg and sprinkled cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar on top before cooking. It tastes very similar to pumpkin pie, but much healthier! My 11 month old and 3 year old really liked it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I am not a squash person, but this looked interesting enough that I wanted to try it. I reduced the amount of oil and increased the amount of sugar a little. I also added nutmeg and cinnamon directly into the mixture before pouring it into the pan. I used more squash and flour than the recipe called for in order to give it a better consistancy. I also let it set up a little in the mixing bowl before baking. It resembled a pumpkin pie taste - - which my family loves! It was very easy to make and easy to remember. I gave the recipe to a friend right off the top of my head.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Wonderful! I made this for Shabbat diner using the following substitutes, ww flour, soy milk, and brown sugar. It was delicious! The 9 x 13 Pyrex pan was perfect. I served it as a side dish and was enough for 12 people. Next time I will try pumpkin or sweet potato. Thank You Msmd310

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      I served this for a Sukkot bbq. Big hit! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
      Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I made this for my husband and changed it to make it wheat free, dairy free, and also sugar free and it still turned out great. It's like a really healthy pumpkin pie. I just changed the flour to kamut flour, and sugar to agava syrup and only put in a little over a 14 cup, and the milk to rice milk. I had to cook it for about 8-10 min longer. Everyone loved it. No one knew how healthy it was for them. Great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I made this using egg whites, splenda, wheat flour, and applesauce (instead of oil) and it was absolutely delicious!! it was good hot, but it was REALLY good cold with cool whip on top! Similar to pumpkin pie! I also used frozen squash and it was just fine. I'm going to add this to my recipe box!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Was a good, healthy use for leftover winter squash puree, but not so impressive I would make puree for this recipe. Found it to be a not so sweet pumpkin pie. To be fair, I made a few alterations including not adding oil (use some apple butter that was languishing in the fridge). It's not going to win over people who dont like squash, but if you have a palate for healthy food, was very quick and easy. I mixed it with greek plain yogurt when eating as well- nice combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I made this with "Buttercup" squash - similar to acorn squash. It's a fairly sweet squash so I used 1/4 cup sugar (brown sugar, actually) and it was plenty. I'm not sure I'd make it again, but it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I grew Butternut squash this summer and was looking for a variety of ways to fix it. DH and I both really liked this recipe. I served some warm as a sweet side with a very savory dinner. Perfect! DH is anxious for it to chill so he can have it again for desert with coolwhip. He's declared this his favorite use of the squash so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This was very good! Mine was not as bright a yellow as the picture, but I used acorn squash because there was no butternut at our farmer's market. I also subbed Splenda brown sugar for sugar and placed Cortland apple slices on top. I did sprinkle cinnamon on top of the apples. It was delicious warm and cold as another review stated. Good for diabetics!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I've made this 4 or 5 times. I don't have much of a sweet tooth, but sometimes I crave something sweet in the evenings. This really satisfies the craving. It is kind of like a butternut squash pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I made the recipe just as it's written, with the lower amount of sugar, and loved it. So did my husband. What a nice, different, not everyday way to use squash. And it was super easy. The ony reason I didn't give 5 stars is because my chidren didn't care for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This was my first time cooking with butternut squash and this souffle was amazing! I used applesauce instead of the oil and 1/2 c. sugar and it turned out too sweet. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar and not bake it as long (it was overdone on the bottom). Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      It was totally mushy in the center, like a custard, until it "set" in the fridge overnight. It was good. It wasn't AMAZING. But it was good and a fine way to eat squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Made this as a test to see if I want to make it for Thanksgiving. I wasn't excited at first- it doesn't look like much and it didn't stay together when I tried to get it out of the pan. But the flavor is really growing on me. I used a half recipe and cooked in a loaf pan - it didn't really rise much at all, but it has a really comforting flavor and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I made this the other night and my boyfriend LOVED it !!! I did forget the flour which probably would have made it rise but it was still very good Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Used fresh squash and followed microwave directions given-perfect. I like squash and found this recipe really delicious. My husband does not like squash and did think that this was O.K.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This is absolutely delicious. I use less oil and add spices (cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and sometimes ginger) and this comes out with the taste and texture of pumpkin pie, but infinitely healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Souffle or Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.8
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    60%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 60.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 41.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes