Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash, Rice and Sausage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash, Rice and Sausage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2011

      Everyone in the house loved this--the vegetarian and the meat eater! Used a vegetarian sausage instead of real sausage, used veggie broth, and had to replace rice with barley (oops!), but it turned out great. Next time, would add a larger/tarter apple, and possible stir more cheese into the casserole itself instead of just on the top. But even my pickiest eater, not a veggie fan, loved this. Thanks for sharing! Oh, and I loved roasting the squash this way--much easier to peel and clean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      Wow!!!! Just made this for the 1st time and can already tell I am going to be making this all the time. Perfect combination of savory and sweet. Would not change a thing! thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      We really enjoyed this recipe! It was very tasty and felt like a nice Fall comfort dish. Modifications were: subbing "No Chicken Broth" (vegetarian) for the chicken broth, extra broth for the white wine since I was out, and I used a vegetarian sausage, which worked fine. Also, my apple was a little on the larger side, so I felt the amount of sweetness was perfect. I topped the finished dish with more Parmesan. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Wonderful flavor! Very different, the flavors blend together so nicely. I too, would use 2 apples. I used a wild rice mixture which really set off the flavors. Since wild rice takes longer to cook, I used 2 cups of water and cooked rice while preparing rest of dish. I used 2 cups of broth and no extra water when mixing dish in pan before pouring into casserole. Also used extra cheese. Great healthy meal, thanks for the post. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Very tasty! I made a few changes - replaced rice with 1.5 cups quinoa, also, I had some baby spinach on hand and added it to the casserole dish before pouring the rest of the mixture into it. I also doubled the parmesan. The family really liked it. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      This is great! My boyfriend kept coming into the kitchen saying how good it smelled, and sneaking bites of squash and bits of sausage. This is an amazing fall dish and - dare I say - in the realm of Thanksgiving food! I cut my squash into cubes and roasted with olive oil, salt, and pepper, at 425 for 40 minutes, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I used smoked turkey sausage and one normal-sized gala apple, which is what I had and it was great, but I think one large Honeycrisp apple would be just perfect next time! I also made garlic drop biscuits to go with it, but the two of us got 3 meals out of it, it is really quite filling. This is most definitely a dish I would take to a potluck, a family dinner, or just make for us. Thanks for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Wow--super inspired by other user who used veggie sausage! Went and got some at Trader Joe's & Whole Foods (then saw could get it at regular markets too--how cool) and it turned out AmAzInG! <br/><br/>SO much healthier with the veggie sausage goodness!!!! THank YOU! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Delicious! I loved the blend of flavors. Due to my schedule, I peeled & roasted the squash the day before. It made this really quick & easy to put together. I used Aidells Chicken & Apple Sausage. I will definitely make this again, but will probably use 2 apples next time. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Quite good. I peeled and cut up the squash before roasting it otherwise I followed the recipe. Next time I would add another apple for more sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      This dish is absolutely wonderful! I used turkey sausage, I didn't have an apple on hand, but I'm sure it would be really tasty in it. My husband really liked it too, even though he's not a big fan of squash, he did like it....took second and thirds! I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I really enjoyed this recipe. Next time I make it I will add two tart apples, or apricots would compliment this dish nicely. Very filling and made the house smell divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! I made this for dinner last night for myself & my husband,added some parmesan cheese while baking, then an Italian cheese blend at the end and baked 7additional minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Awesome! Made as is. It was very filling and delicious. I was surprised how complementary the sausage, squash, and Parmesan cheese were! We will definitively make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      5 stars based on smell alone... it's in the fridge waiting for lunch time and let's just say it's going to be a long three hours for me to wait!!! I am so excited to eat this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Husband said nice taste...thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Really yummy! I made this for a casual dinner party, and everyone loved it. With a salad on the side, it served six adults, a five-year-old, and a two-year-old with just a little leftover (I think everyone was too polite to finish off the dish). The only change we made to the recipe was to forgo the cheese only because I didn't realize that we were out of it until it was too late. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Tasty! I made a few substitutes to accommodate what I had on hand. I used frozen cubed butternut squash, thawed. I only had brown basmati rice which took longer to cook - which made the squash mushier~ but that actually didn't effect the meal at all (next time I'll try to use a quicker cooking rice). Also, I used AmyLu's Farmer's Market Chicken Sausage. Very Yummy, this recipe will defiantly be going into the rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Outstanding! I used leftover ham from our New Year's Day meal, finely diced, rather than sausage. This has become one of my favorite cold-weather dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This had a wonderful blend of flavors (restaurant worthy). The hardest part is cutting the squash! Thanks Jean Louise, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      A delicious winter meal. I started out to reduce the recipe by half but probably ended up using more squash than intended. The squash was approximately 1 1/2 to 2 pounds in weight and was peeled, cubed and drizzled with a touch of olive oil then seasoned with salt and pepper before roasting at 400 degrees. The squash was fork tender and ready to add to the mix in about 20 minutes. The sausage was Aidell's brand chicken and apple which was diced. I do not cook with wine and used additional chicken stock. The dish was served with a tomato salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash, Rice and Sausage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (456 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.9
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    14%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 8.8 mg
    2%
    Sodium 614.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites