14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for an appetizer party that we had the other night. After a little coaxing from me the first person tried one and raved and told everyone who came to try them. None left! It was a little labor intensive as I had to make them as people arrived, but well worth the effort. DELISH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 September 18, 2011

This turned out just fabulous for a company dinner! To make it main dish worthy, I added small pieces of havarti cheese and a single spinach leaf as I wrapped each ravioli. To the filling I added 2 cloves minced garlic. I recommend making the filling ahead of time to allow the flavors to marry. I plated them on point with a generous ladle of creamy nutmeg sauce from this recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/fettuccine-with-cream-nutmeg-sauce-91824 and drizzled chopped pecans over the top... to rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R November 07, 2010

This was a great hit! Even my mom asked for the recipe..I was wondering how this turned out frozen? Should I freeze it after or before boiling? I have plenty of the filling left over and would like to save some for later!! Yummy!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rubi July 28, 2009

Very tasty! I made it for a main dish but I would recommend it for a side dish as it is fairly light with the wonton wrappers. I added sage to the filling instead of parsley. I tried freezing some so we will see how they turn out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CC & G March 24, 2009

This was absolutely delicious! I had some heavy cream on hand, so at the very end of making the brown butter/sage sauce, I added the cream for a little extra richness. Fabulous! My entire family (hubby + 11 yo + 8 yo) absolutely loved it! They've requested this again! By the way, I had a very large butternut squash, so ended up with a lot of filling leftover. The next day for lunch, I took the filling and added a little chicken broth and a little more of the cream and it made a really delicious soup as well! A delightful treat on cool fall days!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Paula~ November 16, 2008

I buy butternut squash ravioli at a small Italian market in my town, so I was very anxious to try this recipe. These have very good flavor, however next time I will just use green onion instead of the leeks (preference). I also recommend throwing some dried cranberries or dried cherries in your sage butter. . . .yummo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 01, 2008

This recipe was so incredibly good! I think the leek really added the flavor to the filling and the squash was so rich. It was really good. Next time I think I will try to make it with a pasta ravioli inseatd of the wontons. There was a lot of the wonton skin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CourtneyY5 April 15, 2008

Out of this world! I microwaved the squash instead of baking in the oven and used a tsp or two of ground sage instead of the leaves. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Very easy recipe. A definite keeper! Thanks, Cookiedog!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn January 21, 2008

This was a great use for my fresh sage bush! However, I found the flavor surprisingly mild and not very sage-y. I absolutely loved the filling and would have just as well eaten that plain as a mashed-potatoes type side dish. I may do this in the future, since the filling was so simple to make. I liked the wonton wrappers as ravioli as well. Thanks for a great dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherry Pi Gal August 14, 2007

I followed the recipe exactly as written, but we just weren't crazy about this. The sage overpowered all the other flavors. Thanks though! I loved the idea of wonton wrappers as ravioli casings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moot0009 June 10, 2007
Butternut Squash Ravioli With Sage Butter