10 Reviews

I work at a comedy club in Michigan and we have a Chef who worked in Vegas. He made a version similar to this. It only had the squash with a little bit of nutmeg and cinnamon as the filling and the sauce was Apple Cider which was reduced to 1/2 then heavy cream with a bit of nutmeg and some brown sugar(I dont know the exact ammounts). Then he adds some raisons and walnuts to the sauce. Its a great Fall dish!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike O November 20, 2005

Only rating the filling...which was Excellent!! Put 1 rounded tsp. in between 2 wonton wrappers for the "dough" and sealed with water. I used gruyere cheese sparingly and the filling was creamy and very tasty. This was a very easy way to use up the other half of some leftover butternut squash. Will be making again! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn November 02, 2008

I used wonton skins instead of making my own pasta dough and just garnished the finished ravioli with cilantro. This recipe is wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Stress Chef October 14, 2007

Wow! What a great recipe! I made a couple of variations. I added chopped spinach and mushrooms to the filling mix and I was more than generous on the spices. The dough is a good recipe but I recommend using a pasta maker as it's really hard to roll it out by hand. I used a four cheese sauce which sweetened the entire dish. I will surely make these again. Thanks...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobclod May 31, 2012

These were delicious! The only problem I had were that I had to keep adding flour when they were hardening as the butternut squash made them very soft and took longer to harden. Other than that they were delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer February 11, 2009

the filling was great! found the dough a bit hard to work with so next time i will use wonton wrappers. overall a good recipe. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephyO November 04, 2008

I really wanted to like this but, it didn't work for me. I made this last night and found the filling to have a bitter aftertaste. My daughter thought it might be the spices, but I'm not sure. Could it be I just got a bitter butternut squash?..that's why I'm not rating this with stars. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate January 31, 2008

We loved this! It takes some time to make, but totally worth it! I didn't make the pasta with the cilantro tho. Just plain pasta. I made the Olive Garden Alfredo and the Butter Garlic Sauce from this site to go with. We tried both and loved the alfredo. My DH loved this type of ravioli at a local restaurant, so I made this for him. He said he hopes I make if often! Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlabjaguard-safe January 29, 2008

I made these for my 2 year old son. He ate them up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 October 23, 2006

I once had butternut squash ravioli in a restaurant and was craving it, so I went in search of a recipe. This one is great! Getting the pasta thin enough when rolling by hand, however, is a challenge. That was my only complaint. The filling was delicious- I added a little extra ricotta for a more creamy texture and served it with alfredo sauce and a sprinkling of parmesan. It really tasted like a restaurant meal. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl August 17, 2004
Butternut Squash Ravioli