17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG, This was so good, and OUTSTANDING indeed, and that's why this recipe is getting 5 stars from me. Like LA stated: "The flavor was more mild than pumpkin." Don't know about the rest of the other zaar members, but I found the baking time to be incorrect. After 45-50 minutes of baking time, I found that the pie was still not done, so I baked it for another 10 minutes, but adding aluminun foil around the pastry crust, I also ended up increasing the temp to 425 degrees, and baking the pie for another 15 minutes. The pie did finally set. I think one should bake this pie the same way you would a pumpkin pie. I now have baked this pie twice, (in my Pampered Chef Deep Dish Pie Plate) and baked it at 425 degrees for the first 15 minutes, then lowered the heat to 350, and baked it for exactly 55 minutes. The pie turned out great!! "Thank you" Peasant's Hearth for the wonderful recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess October 07, 2007

Delicious! I put into two shallower 8-in (?) graham cracker crusts (store-bought) and baked about 8 min. at 425 and 45-50 min. at 350. Didn't have apple pie spice; used 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, cut the sugar to ~1/4 cup brown and 1/4 white.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sylandi October 13, 2012

Butternut squash makes an excellent pumpkin substitute in almost all recipes. For those that don't know, Libby's pumpkin is actually Dickinson's Squash which is a closely related variety of the same species as both Butternut and Pennsylvania Dutch Crookneck. It's nearly identical to Butternut which is why they work so well interchangably. Try using it for pumpkin bread and other recipes. It is delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ucf.aeroengineer_8301984 August 25, 2011

This pie is awesome! DH was tired of all my same old butternut recipes, so I thought I'd give this a try. We love it even more than pumpkin pie - the texture is fantastic! Cooking time for me at a high altitude (7000') was 10 minutes at 450 and another 45-50 minutes at 350 with foil around the crust the whole time. Thanks for a sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina H. February 16, 2011

I have searched high and low for a squash pie recipe that was similar to the one my mother in law makes for my husband and after many trials and errors, this hit the nail on the head! Delicious, perfect texture, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_happy_goddess July 07, 2010

This is better than the best pumpkin pie!!! But, OOPS, I used a can of sweetened condensed milk! So, I cut the sugar by 1/2 and baked it anyway... It set better than a pumpkin pie, and was so very good. I'm going to make it this way every time. Everybody loved it at thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trishpet December 20, 2009

We grew alot of hubbard squash this year so I decided to try this recipe. I used apple pie spice #38766..I cut the squash in half and microwaved till done about 20 minutes..I cut sugar to 2/3 cup figuring the whip topping would add enough sweetness..We really liked the flavor..But,Even with increased baking time of 60-75 minutes the toothpick came clean but the filling was wetter, than we liked ,when I sliced it later in the evening....Next time I will microwave and put the pulp in a baking dish and bake awhile to dry out the squash alittle..I really liked the flavor over pumpkin pie..Thank U for this recipe..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck December 07, 2009

This pie was absolutely delicious. We had to cook it for a bit longer than it called for, but not much. I know what we'll be bringing to my aunt's for Thanksgiving dinner this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshPhile November 13, 2008

I made this last year, when I had to many squash, it was wonderful. Everyone this year has already started asking for it!! I also did the for 10 minutes on 450 and another 40 minutes at 350 and it was cooked perfectly. I am making this again and putting it in my family recipe book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Polly September 23, 2008

This was our first Butternut Squash pie and we loved it! I needed a third pie for T-day and I had a Butternut Squash...perfect. After reading the other reviews I cooked this like I do my pumpkin pies, for 10 minutes on 450 and another 40 minutes at 350 and it was cooked perfectly. The only little tweak I made was to add about a 1/4 teaspoon of cardamon instead of only an 1/8 as called for in the apple pie spice description. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debloves2cook November 25, 2007
Butternut Squash Pie