Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2007

      OMG, This was so good, and OUTSTANDING indeed, and that's why this recipe is getting 5 stars from me. Like LA stated: "The flavor was more mild than pumpkin." Don't know about the rest of the other zaar members, but I found the baking time to be incorrect. After 45-50 minutes of baking time, I found that the pie was still not done, so I baked it for another 10 minutes, but adding aluminun foil around the pastry crust, I also ended up increasing the temp to 425 degrees, and baking the pie for another 15 minutes. The pie did finally set. I think one should bake this pie the same way you would a pumpkin pie. I now have baked this pie twice, (in my Pampered Chef Deep Dish Pie Plate) and baked it at 425 degrees for the first 15 minutes, then lowered the heat to 350, and baked it for exactly 55 minutes. The pie turned out great!! "Thank you" Peasant's Hearth for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      Delicious! I put into two shallower 8-in (?) graham cracker crusts (store-bought) and baked about 8 min. at 425 and 45-50 min. at 350. Didn't have apple pie spice; used 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, cut the sugar to ~1/4 cup brown and 1/4 white.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Butternut squash makes an excellent pumpkin substitute in almost all recipes. For those that don't know, Libby's pumpkin is actually Dickinson's Squash which is a closely related variety of the same species as both Butternut and Pennsylvania Dutch Crookneck. It's nearly identical to Butternut which is why they work so well interchangably. Try using it for pumpkin bread and other recipes. It is delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      This pie is awesome! DH was tired of all my same old butternut recipes, so I thought I'd give this a try. We love it even more than pumpkin pie - the texture is fantastic! Cooking time for me at a high altitude (7000') was 10 minutes at 450 and another 45-50 minutes at 350 with foil around the crust the whole time. Thanks for a sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I have searched high and low for a squash pie recipe that was similar to the one my mother in law makes for my husband and after many trials and errors, this hit the nail on the head! Delicious, perfect texture, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This is better than the best pumpkin pie!!! But, OOPS, I used a can of sweetened condensed milk! So, I cut the sugar by 1/2 and baked it anyway... It set better than a pumpkin pie, and was so very good. I'm going to make it this way every time. Everybody loved it at thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      We grew alot of hubbard squash this year so I decided to try this recipe. I used apple pie spice #38766..I cut the squash in half and microwaved till done about 20 minutes..I cut sugar to 2/3 cup figuring the whip topping would add enough sweetness..We really liked the flavor..But,Even with increased baking time of 60-75 minutes the toothpick came clean but the filling was wetter, than we liked ,when I sliced it later in the evening....Next time I will microwave and put the pulp in a baking dish and bake awhile to dry out the squash alittle..I really liked the flavor over pumpkin pie..Thank U for this recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This pie was absolutely delicious. We had to cook it for a bit longer than it called for, but not much. I know what we'll be bringing to my aunt's for Thanksgiving dinner this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I made this last year, when I had to many squash, it was wonderful. Everyone this year has already started asking for it!! I also did the for 10 minutes on 450 and another 40 minutes at 350 and it was cooked perfectly. I am making this again and putting it in my family recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was our first Butternut Squash pie and we loved it! I needed a third pie for T-day and I had a Butternut Squash...perfect. After reading the other reviews I cooked this like I do my pumpkin pies, for 10 minutes on 450 and another 40 minutes at 350 and it was cooked perfectly. The only little tweak I made was to add about a 1/4 teaspoon of cardamon instead of only an 1/8 as called for in the apple pie spice description. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

    • on November 02, 2006

      Thank you for sharing your Squash Pie recipe, Peasant'sHearth. Superb recipe. Like Cheff#352877 I am also a New Englander and our family's preference is also Squash Pie. When I'm caught a little short on time during the Thanksgiving/Christmas holidays I have also used the canned solid-packed squash many times. It's an excellent alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Great recipe. If a person had never tried squash instead of pumpkin, you'd never really know how good it is. Being from New England, this is more of a tradition than pumpkin at our house. For great convenience, "One Pie" brand puts out canned solid-packed squash. Pumpkin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      This is so yummy! I did add some Brown Sugar so it was sweeter. My son who does not like veggies loved this so I am thrilled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      Shame on me for not posting sooner! I've made this pie probably a dozen times since I found the recipe, and it never lasts more than a day, my husband and son gobble it up so quick! Perfect, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Delicious :) This is the first recipe I've tried for butternut squash pie, and I'm sticking with it. I did use a little more spice, since my family likes pies spicier than most. Also, this makes a *lot* of filling; I filled up a deep dish pie crust and poured the rest into a small casserole and baked it as a custard alongside the pie. Very good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This is an excellent recipe. The first I've tried with Butternut squash. The flavor was more mild than pumpkin, but still an excellent taste! Thank you for sharing this recipe, it was super easy to make! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.7
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    29%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 58.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 158.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    90%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    apple pie spice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes