Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2008

      This was GREAT!! I used an acorn squash that I had already cooked. I used about 2 cups puree and added the spices, garlic and a can of evaporated skim milk. I used my hand blender to blend all to gether and make it smooth. I also added 1/4 cup grated parm. cheese to melt. Then I served it over penne pasta. My kids LOVED it and LOVED that it was healthy and full of vitamins and they didn't even know it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This was great! I made it for a debate watch party last night and served it over cheese ravioli, alongside soime autumn beers. The preparation is simple and the result is delicious. I found that it needed a bit more sage and quite a bit of salt and pepper when I was heating it on the stove after pureeing. Also, I topped it with some chopped fresh basil, which was excellent. This is a great way to use squash and I will make it again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I have been making this exact recipe for my family for about a year (I found it in Everyday Food magazine), and they all love it. My son, who hates all vegetables, doesn't even realize he's eating squash - thinks it's a cheese sauce because it's so flavorful and rich. It is especially divine over portabello mushroom ravioli. My husband says this dish is something you'd find in a gourmet Italian restaurant. I guess it freezes well, but I wouldn't know because it never makes it to the freezer in our house!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I found the squash took quite a bit more than 40 minutes to cook through by which time the garlic was dried out and had to be thrown out. Otherwise this was easy enough to make and the flavour was good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      This really hit the spot on this chilly Fall day. My only changes were that I I used spaghetti, because that's what I had on hand, used 1/3 C of heavy cream and 1/3 C of skim milk, to cut back on calories, added a tiny bit of nutmeg to the sauce, added the toasted nuts and topped with chopped fresh basil and parmesan. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      YUMMY! Its really the roasted garlic that makes it soooooo good! i used an acorn squash and roasted it in cubes but with the skin on. Which I had some fresh sage! My 4yo had 2 helpings :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I thought this was good, but everyone else in my family just thought it was okay. At first they thought they were eating noodles and cheese and thought it tasted funny. Once I told them what it was, they thought it was just okay. I made as directed except used broth in place of the water to add more flavor. I served it with whole wheat egg noodles. The one thing I would do different is to add a couple more garlic cloves; I couldn't even taste the ones I put in there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      This was good! Just not great. I really loved the idea and I served it with mushroom ravioli which worked well but I feel like there was a tiny something missing. Nutmeg? Lemon? Cheese melted in the sauce? Not quite sure but willing to experiment in the future, lots of promise in this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I liked this sauce a lot more than I thought I would. I improvised because I had a little bit of heavy cream to use, but not 1/2 cup. Then I poured in milk until desired consistency. I used Italian seasoning instead of sage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Wow, that was yummy! ;) The only change I made was to use fresh sage (2 sprigs) and broth and milk instead of half-and-half and water. Thanks for sharing! I'll definitely make this soon again. Perhaps I'll also try to turn it into a casserole by sprinkling it with cheese and baking it in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I'm so sorry, in truth this recipe was a great taste and a great concept....but for me personally simply a pour combo. I don't try a recipe for any reason that to enjoy it, and while I enjoyed this sauce, it was heart wrenching to have a perfectly healthy squash be destroyed by saturated fat. It's an ok 'once in a great while' recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I made this for a potluck. Followed the recipe as written. My DH and DD's didn't like it, but it was a hit at the potluck. Most of the kids thought they were eating mac-n-cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I'm such a sneaky mom! Baked a butternut squash in the microwave for dinner one night. Just seasoned with butter, salt & pepper. DH wouldn't touch it, and DD [3]said it was yucky. The next night I took the other half and made it into this recipe. I loved eating dinner with my family that night.... The 3 year old was telling her dad and I that she just didn't like that squash last night as she CHOWED DOWN on her pasta. She loved it! And asked for seconds. Even DH ate leftovers the next day. He officially gave it 3.5 stars...after all it is squash...but eating leftovers says it all for me. Since it was already cooked I skipped the initial roasting step, but did roast some garlic before sticking it in the food processor. Served with mostoccolli, crusty bread and a salad. Thanks for helping me bring a new veg into our rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Absolutely delicious. I cheated a bit and skipped the initial roast, since I had some pureed squash left over. I also used fat free half and half. Served this with fettucini noodles and chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    39%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 11.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 18.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes