12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved it was time consuming, (a glass of wine while cooking). I usually don`t follow a recipe step for step but this didn`t need any changed. Terrific.yum

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 23, 2002

This is a great recipe, and as advertised, worth the time it takes to prepare! I used 1.5 lbs both delicata, and butternut squashes. I also substituted kale for the swiss chard - I deveined the leaves, chopped up the stems, and sauteed them with the onion. I also used just a pinch of salt on both the squash, and greens. Thanks for sharing a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K October 05, 2012

Delicious and unusual. I, too, used frozen thawed spinach, squeezed dry, sauteed with some onion and garlic. I used a mushroom sage olive oil. Four stars only because it takes so long to make (and I had used some frozen pureed butternut squash already made) and I think it could use something to make it zing - a little grated fresh ginger? more garlic (chopped, fresh)? the smoky taste of some chipotle pepper or maybe some bacon? I served to a church youth group, though, and none of them thought it was missing anything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAFrogley October 10, 2011

This is a different way to serve butternut squash and very tasty. I used up the last of my carnival squash--similar to butternut/acorn--and spinach to make this. Next time I may add some mushrooms, but this is so good I hate to play around with it too much! Thank you, Julesong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BelleTerre March 02, 2011

This was good. I used frozen spinach because that's what I had on hand. We enjoyed it for a change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 December 25, 2009

I love butternut squash and am happy to find a recipe that incorporates it into a main dish! Although this was very time consuming, it was worth it. I made a few changes: the swiss chard at my grocery store looked a bit limp so I used fresh baby spinach and cooked it down instead. I also sliced my squash lengthwise in half and roasted it until it was fork tender at 400 degrees, and then pureed it. This is definitely a make again. However in the future I would add salt to taste to the squash puree, and use frozen spinach with the execess moisture squeezed out. I would fry the onion in olive oil and butter and fold it into the puree. This was so filling and tasty, thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG November 17, 2008

If you like the taste of butternut squash (a LOT), then this is probably great. I'd never had it before, but evidently I don't like it. The flavor made me think of baby food. The fact that this recipe takes a long time to put together didn't raise my opinion of it. The white sauce was good, but I literally had to scrape off any portion of the lasagna containing the squash in order to force it down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl February 24, 2008

that tasted so nice, we all loved it ,thank you. couldn't find the swiss chard though, I used spinach instade

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eman Fouda January 03, 2008

So tasty! I actually quatered this recipe and it still turned out fine. I'd never had a lasagna made from squash before, and I'll definately be using it again. I didn't measure the herbs and spices and so probably used a lot more than the recipe asks for. I really loved the nutmeg flavour. I didn't have any green onions so I added a leek in with the swiss chard layer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy December 09, 2007

What a wonderful recipe!! I had seen something like this on a TV cooking show years ago and thought that it was a lovely veggie option for a Holiday dinner...it was delightful to find it here on Zaar :) I did it pretty much as stated in the fabulous instructions...perhaps only slightly flavoring my squash a bit differently while roasting it and adding a few spices into my white sauce as well...the results are OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD!!! :) - so rich, buttery and creamy...most definitely one of the best things I have ever eaten (let alone made !!!!!) I took me quite a while to make it (I might be extra slow in the kitchen :) )...but it was a relaxing, non-stressful assembly of ingredients and well worth some effort!! A HUGE hit as part of our prep for Thanksgiving Holiday menu and bound to become a tradition...but now I won't be saving this just for that special Holiday being I found it here and am familiar with what's involved...THANKS SO MUCH Julesong :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free November 17, 2007
Butternut Squash Lasagna