Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2002

      I loved it was time consuming, (a glass of wine while cooking). I usually don`t follow a recipe step for step but this didn`t need any changed. Terrific.yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      This is a great recipe, and as advertised, worth the time it takes to prepare! I used 1.5 lbs both delicata, and butternut squashes. I also substituted kale for the swiss chard - I deveined the leaves, chopped up the stems, and sauteed them with the onion. I also used just a pinch of salt on both the squash, and greens. Thanks for sharing a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Delicious and unusual. I, too, used frozen thawed spinach, squeezed dry, sauteed with some onion and garlic. I used a mushroom sage olive oil. Four stars only because it takes so long to make (and I had used some frozen pureed butternut squash already made) and I think it could use something to make it zing - a little grated fresh ginger? more garlic (chopped, fresh)? the smoky taste of some chipotle pepper or maybe some bacon? I served to a church youth group, though, and none of them thought it was missing anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      This is a different way to serve butternut squash and very tasty. I used up the last of my carnival squash--similar to butternut/acorn--and spinach to make this. Next time I may add some mushrooms, but this is so good I hate to play around with it too much! Thank you, Julesong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was good. I used frozen spinach because that's what I had on hand. We enjoyed it for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I love butternut squash and am happy to find a recipe that incorporates it into a main dish! Although this was very time consuming, it was worth it. I made a few changes: the swiss chard at my grocery store looked a bit limp so I used fresh baby spinach and cooked it down instead. I also sliced my squash lengthwise in half and roasted it until it was fork tender at 400 degrees, and then pureed it. This is definitely a make again. However in the future I would add salt to taste to the squash puree, and use frozen spinach with the execess moisture squeezed out. I would fry the onion in olive oil and butter and fold it into the puree. This was so filling and tasty, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      If you like the taste of butternut squash (a LOT), then this is probably great. I'd never had it before, but evidently I don't like it. The flavor made me think of baby food. The fact that this recipe takes a long time to put together didn't raise my opinion of it. The white sauce was good, but I literally had to scrape off any portion of the lasagna containing the squash in order to force it down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      that tasted so nice, we all loved it ,thank you. couldn't find the swiss chard though, I used spinach instade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      So tasty! I actually quatered this recipe and it still turned out fine. I'd never had a lasagna made from squash before, and I'll definately be using it again. I didn't measure the herbs and spices and so probably used a lot more than the recipe asks for. I really loved the nutmeg flavour. I didn't have any green onions so I added a leek in with the swiss chard layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      What a wonderful recipe!! I had seen something like this on a TV cooking show years ago and thought that it was a lovely veggie option for a Holiday dinner...it was delightful to find it here on Zaar :) I did it pretty much as stated in the fabulous instructions...perhaps only slightly flavoring my squash a bit differently while roasting it and adding a few spices into my white sauce as well...the results are OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD!!! :) - so rich, buttery and creamy...most definitely one of the best things I have ever eaten (let alone made !!!!!) I took me quite a while to make it (I might be extra slow in the kitchen :) )...but it was a relaxing, non-stressful assembly of ingredients and well worth some effort!! A HUGE hit as part of our prep for Thanksgiving Holiday menu and bound to become a tradition...but now I won't be saving this just for that special Holiday being I found it here and am familiar with what's involved...THANKS SO MUCH Julesong :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      We ate a butternut squash recipe when we were on holiday in america, which had whole slice of squash. This wasn't prepared like that but it really was delicious. Especially good but it used up some of our glut of onions and chard from the allotment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      This was nice. I enjoyed the flavour of the dish and it was easy to make. My daughter loved the pumpkin/squash being used instead of meat. I didn't use butternut pumpkin/squash. I used japanese pumpkin. Using the Japanese pumpkin, I believed, made it very sweet. So I am going to cook this again with the butternut squash. Never the last, I belive that this recipe warrants a 4.5 and not a 4 star review. I will revise my review rating after I have tried this recipe with butternut squash. Here is a link to what a Japanese Pumpkin looks like for those non Australian chefs. This was nice. I enjoyed the flavour of the dish and it was easy to make. My daughter loved the pumpkin/squash being used instead of meat. I didn't use butternut pumpkin/squash. I used japanese pumpkin. Using the Japanese pumpkin, I believed, made it very sweet. So I am going to cook this again with the butternut squash. Never the last, I belive that this recipe warrants a 4.5 and not a 4 star review. I will revise my review rating after I have tried this recipe with butternut squash. Here is a link to what a Japanese Pumpkin looks like for those non Australian chefs. www.finefruit.com.au/ index.cfm?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (394 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.1
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    35%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 47.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 739.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites