16 Reviews

Wow... this was great. I made a few changes just to lighten it up. I used fat free milk for the sauce and fat free mozarella cheese. I also added a layer of low fat ricotta with spinach because of some of the other reviews. So good, I will make again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sryseff December 28, 2009

Made for vegetarian dinner party. 4 Star review since the original recipe does not include the following addition 2 - 16 oz containers of 4% cottage cheese mixed with 2 beaten eggs for additional protein & necessary body for a main dish similar to my regular lasagna. I also used the whole box of lasagna noodles (16 oz) so the cheese quantities and sauce need to be doubled if you are going that route. I used my largest baking dish (what you would cook a turkey in) 18" x 12" x 3". Turned out well, but may try with other more flavorful cheese next time white cheddar / mozz mix. Could also add cooked frozen spinach to the cottage cheese & egg mix. Freezes cooked well too! Happy Cooking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dc lesucre November 19, 2009

This was absolutely delicious when I had it last year at Thanksgiving at my StepMom's house. I made it at Christmas and, though it seemed to be coming out all wrong, it was a hit again. I would definitely use Recipezaar Fan's tip and food process the basil alone next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Jean November 18, 2008

Wow! I'm looking for something new for Thanksgiving so I tried out this recipe over the weekend. What a hit with my family. And the color is so pretty in the glass baking dish. This will definitely be on our holiday table. Many thanks Seamouse!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McQ October 13, 2008

This recipe would be much improved if the amount of mashed, cooked butternut squash were expressed in cups and portions of cups rather than pounds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KARLDERSPINNT October 12, 2008

Interesting concept but just wrong for my family. Our lasagna was sweet and goopy - honestly it was completely unappealling, and we ate just a little bit. There are better things to do with butternut squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couperine October 07, 2008

I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HIT. It's absolutely delicious. The only change that I made was that I excluded the amaretti cookies (they're very expensive).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AHarp December 12, 2007

This was the first meal I made in my new house/kitchen! We served this to his parents since they love squash. We all loved it! I softened the squash in the micro to make cutting of the skin easier.I t reheats in the micro wonderfully! Thanks Seamouse, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado October 10, 2007

I served this at a small dinner party and everyone loved it. It deserves 5 stars for flavor. This is kind of a "short" lasagna. Next time, I'm going to add some ricotta or another ingredient to plump it up a bit so it stands higher....perhaps even add another layer. A little low fat ricotta or maybe some spinach, would help with the nutrition problems this dish has. It's way high in fat! But if you are splurging, I guess that's not an issue. Here are some things I discovered: 1) I subbed 3 tablespoons bread crumbs and a tablespoon of Amaretto for the cookies. This worked beautifully. The squash seemed really sweet at first, but once it was baked and the cheese and sauce melted into it, it was perfect. 2) Rather than dump half the sauce into a blender, I just processed the basil in the food processor (which I already had out) with about 1/2 cup of the white sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipezaar Fan August 06, 2007
Butternut Squash Lasagna