10 Reviews

What a tasty treat this was. Never would have thought to use squash in cornbread but it is very tasty and am so glad we tried this recipe. Made half recipe using pumpkin as that is what we had on hand. Also after reading reviewers notes about being a bit crumbly decide to add an extra egg to help bind it. Baked in an enamel coated cast iron pan and turn out very nice. Will be making this again. Thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 31, 2010

I thought this was lovely. I'm from the south, so I can't rightfully call this cornbread -- It reminded me of a pone more than anything. I didn't have allspice, so I just used cinnamon. I accidentally used all white sugar, so I added a squirt of honey to make the flavor more complex than just plain sugar. My 10 oz bag of frozen squash made a little more than a cup worth of puree as well -- that's probably why it was more like a pone than bread. It was pretty sweet due to the extra honey, but it made a good pairing for some kale I made that was on the bitter side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgreen1288 August 19, 2015

The kids loved this and could not get enough of it. I think they would have eaten the whole pan if I had let them. A couple of comments were that they didn't notice the squash at all and wouldn't have guessed it was in it if they hadn't help me make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan November 07, 2012

I love cornbread-it is one of my all time favorite types of bread. This version is not overly sweet and relies mostly on the natural sweetness of the squash. I used squash I had roasted about six weeks ago, froze, thawed then processed it in a food processor so there'd be little bits of squash throughout the cornbread. I always use a cast iron skillet to bake cornbread, too. A sprinkle of raw sugar was the final touch. Reviewed for Best of 2011 Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 15, 2012

This was a delicious combination of flavors-the squash and allspice added moisture and subtle flavor. My daughter loves cornbread, and ate it up! I made this for Best of 2010 Tag-thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jociecee February 21, 2011

Absolutely fantastic!! I baked in an 8x8 and ended up with thick pieces of perfectly spiced buttery tasting tender cornbread. The butternut squash and corn taste were balanced perfectly with the spices as an undertone....no flavor overpowered any other. This was one of the best things I've made from this site.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraquarius December 14, 2009

Made this recipe as written & we were really pleased at how the squash changed the cornbread ~ Very, very nice! Will certainly be making this one again! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 11, 2009

Very good-moist yet a bit crumbly. Butternut squash is out of season here, so subbed in sweet potato. For the sweet potato, I bought a 15 oz. jar of sweet potatoes, thoroughly drained off the syrup, then mashed it, and it equaled 1 cup. I have too much whole wheat so used whole wheat due to a previous reviewer's review but b/c I did that the cornbread was not yellow instead it was brown so I am not recommending whole wheat when making this recipe. The reason I did not take a picture was b/c of the brown color. Baked mine in an 8 inch glass baking dish for 38 minutes. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders. Thanks BakinBaby for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal May 01, 2009

I made only two changes -- used cream instead of milk and five spice powder (a current addiction) instead of all spice. This cornbread is fabulous. The butternut squash really does have a magical effect. The texture is smooth; there's a beautiful crumb; it's moist yet not too sweet or cake-like. I can't wait to try this again -- as muffins, with cranberries, with scallions and/or green chilies. Just wonderful!! Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate December 26, 2008

i doubled the recipe and it made about 30 smallish muffins. these got labeled "the best muffin ever made in cooking class" by the staff and students. so yummy! (oh and we used 1/2 the butter and used whole wheat flour!) thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NYCDietitian November 18, 2008
Butternut Squash Cornbread