Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Coconut Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Coconut Curry

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2011

      I cut butternut squash in half lengthwise and roasted it with the skin on (it made it a lot easier to peel) and then I cubed it.When I mixed everything together at the end I cooked it all together for about 10 minutes. I really enjoyed this and didn't find it too overwhelming in it's spiciness, but it did have enough to be distinctive and a really nice change for a side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      This is a really great recipe. Made exactly as written (except we didn't serve with rice, didn't need anything more) Used a 3lb butternut which was about perfect! KEEPER!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Yum. I did roast the squash before cubing as per Tara's suggestion. I did not add the spinach (I hate cooked leafy green vegetables). I used half medium curry and half hot curry..turned out just right. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      This was fabulous. Just the perfect meal on a blustery fall night. I have an abundance of produce from my CSA right now so I substituted fresh kale for the spinach and added chopped broccoli. After the additions I needed more liquid so I added an additional can of coconut milk. Yummy! Can hardly wait for the leftovers for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      Loved this - hubby wanted a bit hotter so I'd throw in some cayenne next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      This was really easy to make and really tasty.I will be making this again!!!!! Quite a mild curry-yummy coconut taste!!! Thank you for posting it!!!I like it so muc I will make again next week!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Made this last night and it was excellent! I agree with a previous reviewer - wasn't overwhelmingly spicy, but does have a very nice distinct flavor and wonderful aroma! Didn't serve with rice - found the dish itself to be very filling, but I don't think rice would be a bad addition is someone wanted it. Will definitely make again! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This is great! It makes a TON too. I have also made your Sweet Potato Curry With Spinach and Chickpeas, and I think I liked this one better. I made it just as directed, except I upped the temperature to 400 degrees F when I roasted my squash (roasted for about 30 minutes), and I roasted it with salt, pepper, and garam masala sprinkled on it instead of curry. I used one 3 lb. butternut squash, and it seemed perfect. I made some brown rice to go with this, but I didn't think it needed it. I'm having it for lunch today, and I might test some out to see how it freezes (though there might be only so many times you can freeze and thaw spinach....haha) Anyway, thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Very good and quick! I didn't have chickpeas, and don't think I would miss them.
      The current photo doesn't look like they added the canned tomatoes, so I'll add my photo. I followed the recipe pretty well (though I rarely measure out spices, and I added cayenne for some heat). Also, I was in a rush and upped the temp on the oven, so only had to cook my squash about 30 minutes. My total prep/cook time was under 1 hour :) Cutting up the squash took the most time, as I was able to finish everything else while the squash was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This was great! I might add some more chilies next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      This was the bomb. I'm a meat eater, as are most of my fam, but my grandad is a vegan. I made this as part of the Christmas meal this year. Can't co-sign that this will make it to the table. The fam keeps dippin in the pot "just for another taste". This time I followed the recipe to the letter using pre- chopped butternut squash from the grocery store. Next time I may add the red pepper flakes as one reviewer suggested, just to see but so far, damn good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This recipe sounded soooo good. What could be bad if it has coconut milk? But something was just missing. I had to add more and more spices to it, and eventually (too much coriander?) it started to taste bitter. I'll try something else next time, but, like I said, the concept is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This was excellent! I made it during the week that my husband and I were being vegetarians and he loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

    • on November 01, 2009

      Wow, this is awesome. I started cooking early today to premake dinner, but this smells and tastes so good that now I think we'll be having an early supper. Great recipe. Followed exactly except for the part where I didn't have quite enough curry for the onion tomato mixture because I used it so liberally on the squash. I also fell a little short on the corriander, but will make up for it with a little extra cilantro. All in all this is a great recipe probably very adaptable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Kozmic, I made this today, early morning, thinking it needed time to "set" before supper, to let the flavors meld...but at the rate I keep sneaking back to the kitchen to steal "samples," there won't be any left for tonight! WOW, what a winner. I made 2 changes: I had half a Granny Smith apple sitting around, so chopped that up with the onion, and added a teaspoon of dried crushed red pepper to give a wee bit more heat. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Coconut Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.9
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    33%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 262.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 12.7 g
    51%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites