Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2010

      This was my first time ever to make bread with yeast; I've only attempted the sweet breads before that don't require yeast (i.e. banana bread, pumpkin bread). I didn't know what to expect as far as flavor, but very pleased with the result. The squash doesn't add any flavor to the bread; it comes out tasting like the plain loaves that my mom made at home during my childhood, but it definitely makes it more moist than a regular bread recipe. And I like knowing that I'm getting my DH & DD to eat more veggies! I've never had challah, so I can't compare that as the other reviewers did. Overall, this was an easy recipe to follow, and tastes very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I must say this a very forgiving recipe. Made it yesterday in my mixer. To make a very long story short. Did everything & had put the dough into bowl for 1st rise,when I discovered I had flour left over & had not put in the milk. So I took DOUGH out of the bowl put in the milk & remaning flour mix again, put back into bowl for the rise, then into pans, rise again then baked. YAHOO!!!BREAD WAS PERFECT. So for those who are not bakers this is "IT". bread was very tender & "WONDERFUL. Even f you make a mistake don't fret. I'm 74, & a wonderful bake....PLEASE TRY IT..... Pat in Tucson

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      This bread is both delicious and beautiful. It reminds me of brioche, only easier to make. It was moist without being soggy or mushy in any way (the way a quick bread can). It was a good, simple yeasty bread with only the slightest hint of sweetness. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I personally had trouble getting the loaf to come out of the (greased) pan, so next time, I intend on lining the pan with parchment paper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      What a fantastic bread! You can either impress your friends as it sounds like a gourmet bread, or not tell your family and they'll have eaten more veggies the sneaky way lol.

      Bread was moist, outside looked like a perfect artisan bread. I didn't have the smaller loaf pans so I split the recipe into 2 - 9"x5.5" pans. Baked for 30 minutes & turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      My husband really liked this bread. I halved the recipe because that's how much squash I had, but it took way more flour than what half would have been. I mixed it in my bread machine, so maybe that's why. It came out great, though, and I agree that it tastes like challah.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I liked that you can't really taste the squash in this bread---got my little one to eat some veggies without him knowing!!!! Made 3 nice, light loaves. I also used half wheat flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Took this to Easter dinner and all three loaves were gobbled up. Next day my bro put on Facebook that I make the best bread in the whole world. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      The color of this bread just cannot be beat - beautiful and golden - need to remember this one for rolls at Thanksgiving. I did need quite a bit more flour than the recipe called for in order to get a good dough. For some reason it took a rather long time to rise the first time, but rose normally after the loaves were shaped. Excellent use for butternut squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This bread is really good. The dough is very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Absolutely divine! Because of the eggs and butter, it's similar in taste/feel to a brioche or challah. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I didn't know what to expect when I decided to make this. #1 I didn't know for certain what a butternut squash even looked like let alone tasted like or how to prepare it, and #2 I didn't picture it tasting like bread. It does taste just like bread though. I halved the recipe: I used 3/4 cup of squash, and 3 3/4 cups flour, 2 egg whites; for the butter and sugar I eyed it. Also I used half wheat flour and half white flour. I will make this again, and I will put more squash in it because I wouldn't mind being able to taste it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      My friend Julianne actually made a loaf of this and brought it to us. You can not tell it has squash in it at all. This is a moist, delicious, flavorful loaf of bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1675 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1469.8
     
    Calories from Fat 268
    18%
    Total Fat 29.8 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 189.5 mg
    63%
    Sodium 1054.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 257.6 g
    85%
    Dietary Fiber 10.3 g
    41%
    Sugars 24.3 g
    97%
    Protein 39.7 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes