Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Bake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2002

      Good and very different. I enjoyed this recipe. I left out the sugar as I didn't want it to be too sweet and I sprayed the top with cooking oil instead of drizzling with butter. It had a lovely flavour and I enjoyed the crispy topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I followed this recipe exactly as posted. (Nowhere does it say to mash the squash. Keep it in chunks!) Got lots of rave reviews at Thanksgiving and I had to give the recipe to several.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      Awesome - hot out of the oven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Savory and sensational! Butternut squash with just enough sugar to enhance it's natural flavor cooked in a creamy mayonnaise and egg sauce with finely chopped onion that retains a bit of crunch and flavor. The crushed saltine cracker and parmesan topping adds more texture and a savory taste that combines with the other flavors to create a dish that would be the star of any meal. DH says: "next time skip the rest of the meal and just make the squash". The only thing I did different was to add some extra squash because I had more than 2 cups. Inez, this is a treasure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      I had a butternut squash that wasn't very good - had no flavor at all. I hated throwing it out so went searching and came across this recipe. I wasn't expecting much, but didn't figure I had anything to lose as we couldn't eat the squash the way it was. OMG this was amazing. I can only imagine how much better it will be with a squash that has some flavor. I did sprinkle some french fried onions on top, but other than that followed the recipe excactly. We loved this. Thanks MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Fast, easy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      i think i made this wrong, so, i'm not going to rate it. i pureed the cooked butternut squash (wasn't sure what i was supposed to do), and didn't have saltines, so, it was basically mush with onion pieces

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      This is wonderful. I served it as a side for dinner for DH and I and our "hired man". HM went crazy for it. That was last week. I was rummaging through the fridge for a quick lunch and came across the small container of leftovers. Wow! was that a great Lunch! Will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

    • on January 10, 2009

      I got lots of thank yous for making this squash dish! It was a nice change from the usual squash and butter that we usually have. We will be adding this to our Thanksgiving dinner menu for next year too! Tony

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This is great!! I different way to use butternut squash & so easy, my husband LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      great, mouthwatering and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      MMMMM GOOD. I will definately make this again. I'm not a squash eater but.... I ate my fill. It was ver very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      We had this with corned venison and a selection of fresh - plain veggies. I DID use virtually fat free mayo - as it was the only sort I had! I also uses a whole egg as I was halving the recipe and this would have meant having half an egg in the fridge! I also used a cream cracker crumbed as I don't know what a 'Slateen' is! I could happily leave out the sugar too - put it WASNT that sweet anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this. This is pretty much the only squash recipe I use. I have shared the recipe with several people after they've had it at my house and raved about it. Even my son, Zaphro, is a convert, as well as his 4-year-old granddaughter who is a squash hater. I do not add onions to the squash itself, I add French's crispy onions to the top along with the other toppings. It is a delightful side dish for Thanksgiving, as well as with any poultry or pork dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      After a day of hearing from my 4 year old grand daugher about how she "hates squash", as she was present for it's purchase. Dinner finally arrived, we all collectively held our breath, near the end of the meal she delclaired "I don't like squash!"... unfortunately the squash had already been eaten (1st thing off her plate) and she was talking about her mashed potatoes (which she would normally live on if allowed). A good laugh was had by all. Good recipe, and good memory. ha ha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

    • on October 02, 2007

      My husband who doesn't like squash likes this. I love squash and really didn't care for it. It was a bit to "fluffy" for me. I think I will just stick to baking it and adding salt, pepper & butter. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was absolute comfort food for me. Very very good, good enough for company and special holiday meals. I broiled my squash first at 475 (500 was burning it) then peeled the fragile cooked skin off and chopped with a knife. It did mash up almost completely when I stirred it into the mayo mixture though-there were not many visible chunks. I used a small onion (about 3/4 cup) and pulsed a couple of times in my mini processor and then sauteed in a bit o' butter. I used ritz crackers instead of saltines because I love the butter flavor in them and I did use Helman's light mayo. The mayo mixture was quite liquid and that's why I added the extra onion and squash. We baked it up and it was absolutely incredible. This may be my favorite recipe from Zaar yet....Thank you so much for posting. P.S. I picked this recipe out of the others not for the ratings, but because I only had one smallish squash ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Delicious! I agree with the previous reviewer that this is very souffle like. I also sauteed the onions a few minutes before adding them. This recipe is great when you want squash, but not a sugary sweet version of it. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.9
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    58%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 70.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 335.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites