25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good and very different. I enjoyed this recipe. I left out the sugar as I didn't want it to be too sweet and I sprayed the top with cooking oil instead of drizzling with butter. It had a lovely flavour and I enjoyed the crispy topping.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! June 26, 2002

I followed this recipe exactly as posted. (Nowhere does it say to mash the squash. Keep it in chunks!) Got lots of rave reviews at Thanksgiving and I had to give the recipe to several.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LWG November 28, 2010

Awesome - hot out of the oven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyWI October 23, 2003

Savory and sensational! Butternut squash with just enough sugar to enhance it's natural flavor cooked in a creamy mayonnaise and egg sauce with finely chopped onion that retains a bit of crunch and flavor. The crushed saltine cracker and parmesan topping adds more texture and a savory taste that combines with the other flavors to create a dish that would be the star of any meal. DH says: "next time skip the rest of the meal and just make the squash". The only thing I did different was to add some extra squash because I had more than 2 cups. Inez, this is a treasure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac August 13, 2002

I had a butternut squash that wasn't very good - had no flavor at all. I hated throwing it out so went searching and came across this recipe. I wasn't expecting much, but didn't figure I had anything to lose as we couldn't eat the squash the way it was. OMG this was amazing. I can only imagine how much better it will be with a squash that has some flavor. I did sprinkle some french fried onions on top, but other than that followed the recipe excactly. We loved this. Thanks MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea February 17, 2014

Fast, easy, and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Student January 06, 2011

i think i made this wrong, so, i'm not going to rate it. i pureed the cooked butternut squash (wasn't sure what i was supposed to do), and didn't have saltines, so, it was basically mush with onion pieces

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ July 30, 2010

This is wonderful. I served it as a side for dinner for DH and I and our "hired man". HM went crazy for it. That was last week. I was rummaging through the fridge for a quick lunch and came across the small container of leftovers. Wow! was that a great Lunch! Will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmmd June 06, 2009

I got lots of thank yous for making this squash dish! It was a nice change from the usual squash and butter that we usually have. We will be adding this to our Thanksgiving dinner menu for next year too! Tony

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 January 10, 2009
Butternut Squash Bake