Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash Bake

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2002

      I made this the night before and cooked it the next day. The rice crispies and nuts really put this over the top. It was different and good. I may mix different types of squash next time and I'll bet it will be just as good as this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      Absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS!!! Even my husband, son, and father who "don't eat squash" tried it and liked it. I used egg-beaters and fat-free evaporated milk. I didn't have Rice Krispies, so went hunting through my cabinet to find something suitable and came up with (are you ready for this?) Cinnamon Toast Crunch! Delicious. I could eat this for dessert. I'll be using this recipe yhe next time I'm asked to bring a vege dish to a pot-luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Okay - here's the honest truth. I have NEVER made squash for my family - it just seemed too....well.....too boring! My kids are picky when it comes to veggies (they are 5 yrs, 3 yrs old, and 7 mo's old). I was getting tired of the same old veggies all the time, so decided to try - squash! After browsing the recipes, I decided to try this one...WOW - We were NOT disappointed! My 3 yr old ate ALL his veggies, my 5 yr old ate most, and the 7 mo. old kept begging for more (naturally, we were not giving her the topping part, as it has nuts.) I myself LOVED it - and my DH's comment was, "I don't think I've EVER eaten squash in my life. THIS recipe's a KEEPER!" (after his 2nd helping of it!) THANKS FOR SHARING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      Made this for Christmas dinner. EVERYONE at the table requested the recipe. I doubled the topping just because I like extra! I was a little more work than I expected but well worth it! I have a feeling it will be a regular dish at our holiday meals from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      This was a great recipe. My whole family loved it. My husband who doesn't eat vegitables was eating this later for something sweet. It was like a desert. Very very Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      My whole family loved this!! Including my picky 22 month old daughter. It comes out so much better than I expected ..the topping is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      We had this today for thanksgiving. A great creamy and sweet flavor. The topping was excellent. I doubled this and cooked it for a 1/2 hour longer. We will definately have this again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      This was delicious! I used Jumbo Whole Grain Rice Krispies, which are naturally sweeter than the original kind, so I did not add any sugar to the topping, and it was perfect. So yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      This is really good. I only used 1/4 cup brown sugar in the squash. Wish I had put the topping on sooner as it would fall off your fork when eating it. A great alternative to a sweet potato dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Yummy stuff. Nice flavor that, yes, even the kids liked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      I use this same recipe that I got from my aunt who got it from a church cookbook several years back. This is just so delicious. People who don't even like squash don't even know it is squash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I'm just catching up on my reviews and have to tell you, this squash is to die for! I loved the topping and it was a shining star at our table for Thanksgiving! I will be making this each and every holiday from now on because everyone commented how wonderful it was. I guess you know it was loved! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Delicious. It fools people because they all think it is sweet potatoes. :) I used acorn squash because that is what I had. I also reduced the sugar to 1/4. I didn't have evaporated milk. So I used 4 oz of regular milk. I skipped the pecans in the topping because some guests were allergic. Excellent recipe. Thank you for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This is delicious. My husband was not a big fan of butternut squash, but this recipe changed that. I raised butternut squash in my compost pile this summer and we had a bunch of them. Not many left now. Thanks for a really delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This recipe was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner! I had some acorn squash and butternut so used both of those. I used about four cups squash total and the consistancy was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I have made this several times and each time it has been great! My MIL loved it for Thanksgiving. She said she usually doesn't like squash but this she loved. I used about half a butternut squash for the two cups. Will freeze the other half for Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Amazing!! I made this as a dessert..used all brown sugar and added walnuts along with the pecans in the topping. It was delicious and even though I doubled the recipe the pan was empty at the end of the dinner party! All of my inlaws have requested that I bring this to the up comming holiday dinners. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was SO good. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. It's really THAT GOOD!! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      Oh yum! this is like eating dessert for dinner. We loved it. The topping was crispy and good, the filling was delicious. I will be baking this every fall, we loved it. THank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      This is the only way I can get my DH and youngest son to eat squash. We LOVE this recipe. I usually make it exactly as written, subbing only the rice krispies for the nuts (though sometimes I use pine nuts).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.3
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    54%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 90.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 160.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    91%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites