10 Reviews

I really liked this soup! It was thick and flavorful. DH thought the cinnamon overwelmed it, so next time I'll cut back on that. I didn't have navy beans, so I used cannellini beans. Next time I'll add 2 cans of beans as I thought it needed more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn November 01, 2008

What a lovely, hearty, flavourful soup. I served this as part of my thanksgiving meal, to a group that included meat eaters, vegetarians and one vegan. *everyone* gobbled it up. I had to make a few changes out of necessity: used a can of white kidney beans, as navy beans were nowhere to be found. Used a dash of curry as I didn't realize I was out of cumin. Added a grating of whole nutmeg in with the cinnamon to compensate...have no idea what mexican tomatoes are, so used one large can of diced tomatoes to make up all the tomatoes in the recipe. Used veggie stock, and might have added a bit more than called for and it was still plenty thick. I pureed everything, beans included, as I wanted a smooth soup. Delicious, and the health benefits plus the good serving of protein have definitely put this one on my winter soup rotation! I'm glad there was a tiny bit leftover from dinner so I could pop a few servings into the freezer for later lunches. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 October 07, 2006

Mmmmmm...this soup is thick and flavorful. The cumin and cinnamon are detectable, but not overpowering. It's got lots of possibilities. I liked the beans stirred in as written, but if you wanted a completely smooth soup (or want to "hide" the beans), you could easily just puree the beans right in the soup. This is also good w/ a dallop of sour cream or even a little milk stirred in, if the acidity from the tomatoes is too much for you. Thanx for a great soup recipe. I'll make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 28, 2005

I doubled the recipe and ommitted the cinnamon and used a homemade chicken stock. And I got to use my Xmas present to puree the soup!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay December 28, 2011

A creamy, delicious soup perfect for a chilly night. I increased the amount of broth to 4 cups, added a dash of cayenne, and used black beans rather than navy (technically making it Butternut Squash and Black Bean Soup, I suppose...). The result was a tasty Tex-Mex-style flavor. We garnished ours with some chopped red pepper and shredded fontina, which complemented the soup really well. A great fall recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeeOfTheBird October 24, 2011

Made me vomit (literally) - flavors just don't work - very odd - threw away entire pot (costly...)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookonlyforme October 24, 2010

This was a nice soup for tonights rainy windy October evening in the Pacific Northwest. I added some roasted red and orange pepper strips I had, used a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes in place of the mexican because that is what I had on hand, then used an immersion blender to smooth it out some - but still a bit thick and "meaty". I also think I will add another can of beans next time as another reviewer suggested and spice it up just a bit more. Served it with a dollop of sour cream on top and some leftover biscuits from breakfast and an assortment of cheeses. All in all a great dinner - thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southshore cook October 26, 2009

This soup is amazing! I used frozen squash puree and it worked great. I loved the smooth, thick texture and the hint of cinnamon. Next time I think I'll just use regular tomatoes as the Mexican was a bit too spicy for my family. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki February 15, 2009

This is a wonderful, hearty, healthy, thick soup. I had some butternut squash already cooked and mashed so this soup went together very fast. I used my own chicken broth, a 28 oz can of tomatoes and red kidney beans (that's what was on hand). After cooking all of the ingredients, I pureed it in the blender. It's a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH October 24, 2008

I made this for lunch, cooking it for 15 min. in my pressure cooker, and pureeing with my immersion hand blender. I softened the whole squash in the micro for 4 min. to aid the peeling/chopping.I added about 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon (personal preference) and used beef broth, since that's what I had. This reminded me of a blend of carrot/tomato soup, with a very thick texture. It's very satisfying! Thanks for posting, LUc 2 Bake. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado March 30, 2008
Butternut Squash and White Bean Soup