Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash and White Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash and White Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2008

      I really liked this soup! It was thick and flavorful. DH thought the cinnamon overwelmed it, so next time I'll cut back on that. I didn't have navy beans, so I used cannellini beans. Next time I'll add 2 cans of beans as I thought it needed more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      What a lovely, hearty, flavourful soup. I served this as part of my thanksgiving meal, to a group that included meat eaters, vegetarians and one vegan. *everyone* gobbled it up. I had to make a few changes out of necessity: used a can of white kidney beans, as navy beans were nowhere to be found. Used a dash of curry as I didn't realize I was out of cumin. Added a grating of whole nutmeg in with the cinnamon to compensate...have no idea what mexican tomatoes are, so used one large can of diced tomatoes to make up all the tomatoes in the recipe. Used veggie stock, and might have added a bit more than called for and it was still plenty thick. I pureed everything, beans included, as I wanted a smooth soup. Delicious, and the health benefits plus the good serving of protein have definitely put this one on my winter soup rotation! I'm glad there was a tiny bit leftover from dinner so I could pop a few servings into the freezer for later lunches. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Mmmmmm...this soup is thick and flavorful. The cumin and cinnamon are detectable, but not overpowering. It's got lots of possibilities. I liked the beans stirred in as written, but if you wanted a completely smooth soup (or want to "hide" the beans), you could easily just puree the beans right in the soup. This is also good w/ a dallop of sour cream or even a little milk stirred in, if the acidity from the tomatoes is too much for you. Thanx for a great soup recipe. I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      I doubled the recipe and ommitted the cinnamon and used a homemade chicken stock. And I got to use my Xmas present to puree the soup!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      A creamy, delicious soup perfect for a chilly night. I increased the amount of broth to 4 cups, added a dash of cayenne, and used black beans rather than navy (technically making it Butternut Squash and Black Bean Soup, I suppose...). The result was a tasty Tex-Mex-style flavor. We garnished ours with some chopped red pepper and shredded fontina, which complemented the soup really well. A great fall recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Made me vomit (literally) - flavors just don't work - very odd - threw away entire pot (costly...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This was a nice soup for tonights rainy windy October evening in the Pacific Northwest. I added some roasted red and orange pepper strips I had, used a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes in place of the mexican because that is what I had on hand, then used an immersion blender to smooth it out some - but still a bit thick and "meaty". I also think I will add another can of beans next time as another reviewer suggested and spice it up just a bit more. Served it with a dollop of sour cream on top and some leftover biscuits from breakfast and an assortment of cheeses. All in all a great dinner - thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This soup is amazing! I used frozen squash puree and it worked great. I loved the smooth, thick texture and the hint of cinnamon. Next time I think I'll just use regular tomatoes as the Mexican was a bit too spicy for my family. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This is a wonderful, hearty, healthy, thick soup. I had some butternut squash already cooked and mashed so this soup went together very fast. I used my own chicken broth, a 28 oz can of tomatoes and red kidney beans (that's what was on hand). After cooking all of the ingredients, I pureed it in the blender. It's a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I made this for lunch, cooking it for 15 min. in my pressure cooker, and pureeing with my immersion hand blender. I softened the whole squash in the micro for 4 min. to aid the peeling/chopping.I added about 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon (personal preference) and used beef broth, since that's what I had. This reminded me of a blend of carrot/tomato soup, with a very thick texture. It's very satisfying! Thanks for posting, LUc 2 Bake. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash and White Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (380 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.4
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    40%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 495.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes