Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Squash and Apple Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2010

      Great simple recipe. I used about 16 oz homemade chicken stock and 16 oz water (butternut and apples contribute lots of water). I also used Gala and Golden Delicious apples and a single piece of wheat bread. The soup was a bit sweet for my taste after the puree, so my bf had the idea to add grated sharp Italian cheese (in this case provolone, but Parmesan or similar would work well). We left out the cream and it was amazing. Good combination of fresh, simple ingredients for a warming, hearty soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      To speed things up, I halved, de-seeded (is that a word?!) and microwaved the squash for about 5 minutes. Let it sit for 10 minutes, it was easier to peel and chop. While it was in the microwave I sauteed the onion and apple in 2 TBSP olive oil. Then added the squash to give the vegetables that "roasted" flavor. I also didn't add the bread, but used only 10 ounces of water(versus 20). I used fat-free half and half instead of the cream. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of powdered ginger. Great recipe, and can be changed based on what you have in the cupboard.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Incredible flavor and an easy recipe to make. I made a couple of changes. I omitted the bread (and calories that go with it). I didn't have double strength chicken stock so I added chicken base with the stock. I also omitted the water. This gets ten stars in my book. I'll be making this again soon to keep on hand in my freezer. Thank you so much for sharing this gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I made this delicious soup with the canned pumpkin instead of squash, and it was really amazing just how simple and easy this was to prepare. I reduced the recipe size to 2 servings, and it worked out just fine. Even after adding the cream in too early by mistake, the flavors just jumped out and seemd blended, yet, distinct. Great recipe with huge bread croutons!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      I have made this soup about 6 times now and this is my DH favorite soup he always says he understands why "Jackie O" loved this soup, it is amazing. I don't add the bread to the soup I make croutons instead other than that; I use whatever apples I have on hand. It turns out absolutely perfect every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      I was looking for a new way to use squash and decided to try this soup. (we also have an abundance of apples after visiting the orchard!) My three year old is always asking for soup and I like to try new recipes. Well, it was a hit with both her and myself! I scaled it down and just eyeballed the ingredients, it's rare for me to measure anything but it came out perfect. I think it's pretty foolproof. Great consistency!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      This was excellent! I used a can of organic butternut squash that I had on hand and this turned out amazingly! My husband doesn't even like butternut squash and he loved it! Definitely a keeper. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Best soup in the world! I used Swanson chicken broth in a box and added 3 boullions. Also garnished with bacon bits when served. Used red gala apples b/c that's all I had...worked fine. My husband hates butternut, but he really liked this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Really good. I loved the hint of sweetness from the apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This was a good recipe just not what we were hoping for. First you need to strain the soup even after blending as you get hard pieces of rosemary in the soup. I would also use sweeter apples next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I made this soup for a luncheon. It came out a little too thin and I added a cup of pureed pumpkin I had left over from a pie. The apples add a declicious flavor. I also added a T of butter...thanks Jude

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

    • on November 03, 2008

      We used homemade stock, I don't have canned stock. Also used fresh rosemary and fresh marjoram. Didn't like the bread in it.. why was it there? Good flavor the second time with out the bread.. everyone is different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      The heavy cream seemed to make the soup a bit sweet. Leaving out the heavy cream and adding a dollup of sour cream to the individual bowl suited my taste buds better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I love love love this recipe. Even my vegi-skeptic husband had two servings. We had it as a first course for a apple-themed dinner to ring in the fall. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Great soup!! I loved the sound of the ingredients and they proved to be a wonderfulcombination. I made as is except I had 32oz of stock so I just reduced the water by the correct amount. Super easy to make and the whole family enjoyed it. So glad I ran across this one - it IS a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This was great! I used some extra marjoram and light cream. Not even sure what kind of squash I had but worked fine for this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This is definitely a winner. I bought my fresh butternut squash pre-cut so I am not sure if I used 1lb. I didn't have any cans of chicken broth but used 950ml and a bit more of Campbell's sodium reduced Chicken Broth. I didn't measure the extra amount just poured in approx. 1/2 cup. I also sprinkled in a pinch of nutmeg. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I tried this receipe this weekend. My family loved it!! I kicked it up with a little Hot Sauce. And added some crumbled bacon after I purreed it. This soup gets 5 stars in my book anyday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      A very easy soup and I really liked the slightly tart flavor the apples add. Made it twice: the first time per the recipe; the second time I substituted 1/2 cup of non-fat half & half & it was just as good. Used homemade stock instead of canned. Next time I might try using canned pumpkin instead of fresh squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.0
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    22%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 13.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 547.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes