21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great simple recipe. I used about 16 oz homemade chicken stock and 16 oz water (butternut and apples contribute lots of water). I also used Gala and Golden Delicious apples and a single piece of wheat bread. The soup was a bit sweet for my taste after the puree, so my bf had the idea to add grated sharp Italian cheese (in this case provolone, but Parmesan or similar would work well). We left out the cream and it was amazing. Good combination of fresh, simple ingredients for a warming, hearty soup!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ames Shaps February 23, 2010

To speed things up, I halved, de-seeded (is that a word?!) and microwaved the squash for about 5 minutes. Let it sit for 10 minutes, it was easier to peel and chop. While it was in the microwave I sauteed the onion and apple in 2 TBSP olive oil. Then added the squash to give the vegetables that "roasted" flavor. I also didn't add the bread, but used only 10 ounces of water(versus 20). I used fat-free half and half instead of the cream. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of powdered ginger. Great recipe, and can be changed based on what you have in the cupboard.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boogerz January 01, 2008

Incredible flavor and an easy recipe to make. I made a couple of changes. I omitted the bread (and calories that go with it). I didn't have double strength chicken stock so I added chicken base with the stock. I also omitted the water. This gets ten stars in my book. I'll be making this again soon to keep on hand in my freezer. Thank you so much for sharing this gem!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildhorse December 28, 2007

I made this delicious soup with the canned pumpkin instead of squash, and it was really amazing just how simple and easy this was to prepare. I reduced the recipe size to 2 servings, and it worked out just fine. Even after adding the cream in too early by mistake, the flavors just jumped out and seemd blended, yet, distinct. Great recipe with huge bread croutons!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaryBiermann October 07, 2006

I have made this soup about 6 times now and this is my DH favorite soup he always says he understands why "Jackie O" loved this soup, it is amazing. I don't add the bread to the soup I make croutons instead other than that; I use whatever apples I have on hand. It turns out absolutely perfect every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo October 22, 2013

I was looking for a new way to use squash and decided to try this soup. (we also have an abundance of apples after visiting the orchard!) My three year old is always asking for soup and I like to try new recipes. Well, it was a hit with both her and myself! I scaled it down and just eyeballed the ingredients, it's rare for me to measure anything but it came out perfect. I think it's pretty foolproof. Great consistency!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy October 11, 2012

This was excellent! I used a can of organic butternut squash that I had on hand and this turned out amazingly! My husband doesn't even like butternut squash and he loved it! Definitely a keeper. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel September 11, 2010

Best soup in the world! I used Swanson chicken broth in a box and added 3 boullions. Also garnished with bacon bits when served. Used red gala apples b/c that's all I had...worked fine. My husband hates butternut, but he really liked this soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yum, Yum, Yum November 25, 2009

Really good. I loved the hint of sweetness from the apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cul_de_sac_Barbie November 01, 2009

This was a good recipe just not what we were hoping for. First you need to strain the soup even after blending as you get hard pieces of rosemary in the soup. I would also use sweeter apples next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EinyOpi October 13, 2009
Butternut Squash and Apple Soup