Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Pear Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Pear Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2008

      Fabulous! But here are my changes. I had everything in my pantry (I was amazed) except curry powder so I left that out, although I was upset to find out my pears had corn syrup on them (grr), so I used fresh instead. It takes longer than 10 minutes to cook the onions until golden, and I did more of a deep golden for more flavor. I did not use milk, I used more chicken stock in place of the milk. We served it with a fresh fruit salad, fresh homemade rolls and a good ham. The saltiness of the ham went perfect with the sweet soup. My mother and I agreed that milk would have made it too desserty. Although I may try it with coconut milk. We didn't use milk at first due to allergy, but loved it without it anyway! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Very tasty! I'd never thought of putting pears in a soup, but it really works. I used fresh pears instead of tinned, and used extra vegetable stock instead of milk. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      I made a few changes too, I didn't use the crystalized ginger as i didn't have any. I used pears in natural juices and coconut milk it was fantasti!! Creamy spicy and delicious!!! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Made this soup last night - I doubled the quantities. Would use less brown sugar next time and I also used more stock (to cover the vegetables completely) and added 250ml of light coconut milk (not the milk) - it was sensational. Must be followed by very plain meal as this is so full of flavour. Thanx Rita - great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      First Course of "Toolie's Designer Thanksgiving Menu A lovely creamy soup, Rita, prepared as first course of my "Designer Thanksgiving Dinner". Rita, you do not peel your squash prior to processing; I did peel the butternut and followed your recipe exactly with excellent results. I used chicken broth which is something I keep in readiness at all times, stored in the chest freezer. My mother taught me to be ready for anything; ("boil your bones", she would say); I am glad she did, Rita. A really simple procedure to produce a great flavour in keeping with the Thanksgiving season. It was a pleasure to feature your Butternut Pear Soup Rita; thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      I didn't have crystalized ginger, I used fresh instead of the powdered...and chopped some fresh sage OH my goodness the results are fabulous! (I was cleaning out my Asian supplies and fried up a couple of left over egg roll wrappers to top off soup! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      This soup was delicious! I made a couple modifications, used coconut milk instead of milk and oil instead of butter, to make it vegan. I also didn't add the brown sugar or the pear syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      This is rich and smooth. The flavor is excellent - you can really taste the spices in this. I chose to leave off the skin and added the crystallized ginger as a garish atop the individual servings, rather than adding it directly to the pot. Rather lowfat, but you'd never know it by the rich taste. Also, the pears give this a sweetness and body without tasting too "peary."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Pear Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.2
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    19%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 10.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 153.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 15.7 g
    62%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crystallized ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites