Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butternut Apple Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butternut Apple Casserole

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2010

      Simple, quick, and yummy! I'll probably only make this in the fall when apples & squash are in season... Also, be careful to sample the squash before serving and make sure they're well-enough cooked -- first time I made this some were still hard after an hour and I needed to remove the casserole dish from our table with guests (oops) & stick it back in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Delicious and easy! Love cinnamon and perfect in this. I will reduce the sugar the next time though. Served ours with grilled pork chops and salad. Thank you mikekey for another great recipe! Made for Theirs, Yours & Mine game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      The entire kitchen smelled like apple pie, like desert served with dinner. Aside from the sugar involved, entirely healthy side dish and even then it wasn't that much. I used apple cider and it worked well. Served with smoked sausage and it was a good match. It really is sweet, but different than the butter/brown sugar laden recipes you typically see with squash and could skip the brown sugar all together if you wish. I even got my husband to eat it, usually he avoids squash! I will definately make this again this fall as I have about 10 more butternut squash to eat from the garden. Thanks for great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I am so glad we tried this recipe. It is delicious and not overly sweet like some squash casseroles. We used pears and a touch more cinnamon. Served with pork tenderloin, it was a great match! DH couldn't get enough of it and he doesn't like squash..... Made for Comfort Cafe Snow Queens 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This was quite good and healthy. Just the right amount of sweet/tang. I had a small squash, so used 2 apples. The only hard thing about this is peeling that darn squash. Grrrr. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This came out good despite my choice in apples. I had some courtland apples in the fridge which gave the casserole a good flavor, but were too soft for this dish and got soft quicker than the squash. Other than that it was very tasty and easy to make. Made for One Dish Wonders-Casseroles for Photo Forum 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      As it happened, I had a butternut squash and three Granny Smiths to use up. This was so simple and absolutely delicious. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      I thougth this was just ok, but my wife though it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      Good. It cooked fine with hard russet pears. I didn't adore the texture/appearance of it all. I think it would be better with some dried cranberries thrown in. I added some after cooking and liked it more. Made for Holiday Appetizers and Sides Tag Game Dec 2010 in KK's forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      My husband and I both found this to be pretty ordinary. It begs for raisins or dried cranberries or something similar. There is no way it would fit into a 1 qt baking dish (or even a 2 qt). We found that a 3 qt baking dish was the perfect size. I did not peel the apples because peeling apples is a major pain and I was feeling lazy. I also was afraid that the apples would disintegrate if I sliced them, so I cut them into large chunks, instead... and they still disintegrated. They ended up looking like smudges of applesauce in the baking dish. Maybe the apples should be added halfway through the cooking process so they don't turn to mush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I honestly wasn't a fan of this one. The apples were complete mush before the squash was close to being done and the flavor just didn't do it for us. It does sounds really yummy, though..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Per other reviewer suggestions pre-cooked butternut a little - good idea as apple definitely softens faster.. But as to other suggestions not to add sugar - no good for me - dish was too tart - guess it depends on the sweetness of apples and butternut used?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      Does not have as much flavor as I hoped. Won't make it again. The apples taste great but the butternut squash seem to lack flavor. I used honey crisp apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Good fall recipe, and not overly sweet. Cooking time was perfect for me. Kids picked out the apple and left the squash, but I liked it. Not overly saturated in sugar and butter like most.

      Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Great combination of texyures and flavors, The butternut is a lot more dense than the apples.... suggest nuking the squash for 5-6 minutes to even the ultimate cooking times so everything seems blended. A great addition which changes the whole thing would be a pound of savory cooked suasage... your favorite... added to this for a really hearty casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butternut Apple Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.1
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    17%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 23.8 g
    95%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites