Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Syrup

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2002

      What a great syrup! I plan on making this more often. I served it with Oatmeal Buttermilk Pancakes (Oatmeal Buttermilk Pancakes). This syrup was simple and has a wonderful flavor. What a great gift idea when given with a homemade pancake mix. My family thanks you for this delicious syrup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      We couldn't believe how good this syrup was!! Put it over waffles and scraped the plates clean! Thanks for a great recipe. Will have this one a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I fell in love with buttermilk syrup after tasting some at the local farmers' market, but alas the merchant disappeared and I was never able to buy it again. So I am thrilled to find this recipe, which tastes just like the stuff I got addicted to! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This syrup is divine! I had some buttermilk to use up, and found this great recipe. What a pleasing and rich taste. I first used it on pancakes, and later used it on apple slices. Thanks so much for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was Awesome!!! My wife and kids loved it. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I thought this was very very good but rich. Only a small amount was needed. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Liked by all. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Never would have believed it but this is yummy! Also tried the recommendation to mix with peanut butter for an apple dip - YUM. What a surprise - will always help use up my extra buttermilk now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      So good! Beware of eating it straight from the jar with a spoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      great recipe. be sure to remember your 7th grade science class (buttermilk is an acid and baking soda is a base). The first time I made this, I added the baking soda in at the end and I ended up with syrup all over my stove :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Awesome syrup which I've made several times now. The first my syrup came out a dark golden and at 7 minutes cook time was so thick we spooned it on. The second time I cooked for only five minutes and it truly was a nice, light golden syrup; as suggested I served with German Pancakes (From the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      This syrup is absolutely delicious! I fixed it for my family of 7 plus 2 guests and we ate it over French Toast for dinner. We all ended up dipping our bacon and eggs in it too! It was that yummy! I will be making this a permanent part of my recipe collection. I suggest using a large pan, like a soup pot or something, because it foamed up very high and spilled over the sides. I just kept stirring and turned the heat low enough to keep it boiling, (but not boiling over) and it turned out perfectly. You won't regret making this syrup!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      Just made this recipe with Meghann's fantastic fluffy pancake recipe. YUM YUM YUM! Now, this is the only topping that I will use with pancakes, buttery deeeeeelicious, Thank you for a wonderful recipe Laura, certainly a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2003

      I really enjoyed this, it's like eating caramel syrup. My mom decided that she wanted it on ice cream more than pancakes though. Make sure you use a BIG pan when cooking it even though it doesn't seem like there's a lot. It foams up A LOT and I had to hold it off the heat so it wouldn't spill over. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      After cooking for 57 years, this would be included in my top ten favorite recipes. It is truly luscious! Thanks, Laura.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Yum! So good! Rich caramel-flavored sauce that's perfect with pancakes or whatever else you could think of. Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: I've been making this for a couple of years and the family loves it. Fills a pint jar to the top with a couple of tablespoons left over. Try with good quality vanilla ice cream and some cashews. Absolutley to die for! Don't save this for breakfast, it's a fantastic dessert sauce, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I have made this several times in the past and every time I get rave reviews from those who try it. I guarantee it's a delicious topping for pancakes, french toast and waffles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      this was so good! I have made it twice. Next time I am going to try half splenda. It would be good for a dip for apples too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      INCREDIBLE!! I've searched and searched for a syrup recipe just like this one. It tastes just like a restaurant's "vanilla syrup" that I loved back home. It was so easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I modified this and made a sugarfree version. It was wonderful! We have been on the South Beach eating plan and made this to pour over the oatmeal-buttermilk pancakes. It is a weekend treat that we look forward to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (649 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1089.6
     
    Calories from Fat 421
    38%
    Total Fat 46.8 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 29.6 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 125.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1133.2 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 169.3 g
    56%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 159.6 g
    638%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites