19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i use this all the time. clever you for writing out a recipe so others know , this really works made for u.s. southern leg of new world tour

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. August 04, 2014

i have been using this forever...i dont even buy buttermilk when needed. great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie June 24, 2012

OMG!! My brain is so HAPPY to find this receipe!! I'll never buy Buttermilk again!! THANKS for sharing! AWESOME!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NOT2PCKY April 21, 2012

I seem to never have buttermilk on hand when I need it, so I always use this little trick when I'm in a pinch. Seems I am constantly calling on this recipe when I am preparing TSR Version of IHOP Buttermilk Pancakes by Todd Wilbur. Works great. I wouldn't hesitate to try it with other recipes. At least I wouldn't end up wasting half the container (of buttermilk) for those times when I actually do remember to buy it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud March 13, 2012

This worked for me in recipe 168645 (Pancakes for Two).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon January 30, 2011

I have been using this substitute for years now, first when ever I forgot buttermilk, but now I don't even bother with getting the buttermilk. I see absolutely no difference in the outcome of the dishes I use it in. You can also add lemon juice if you do not have vinegar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini December 13, 2010

What a wonderful substitution recipe! It is a time- AND money-saver! Sometimes you just need a bit, and this recipe fits the bill. I even gave the recipe to a girl at the grocery store today! :-) Thanks for taking the time to post what has surely been a lifesaver for some (I ALWAYS forget the buttermilk, because I don't have a call to use it very often - LOL) and will continue to 'give' in the future! (Used in The Best Fried Ravioli #161680)Thanks for posting, Deb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl September 26, 2010

Absolutely GREAT, & it will definitely keep me from ever having well-aged buttermilk in my frig! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 10, 2010

Thank you for sharing this recipe Deb. It worked really well in my cornbread muffins. A nice substitute for buttermilk, when I am out. Made for Culinary Quest 2014 - Suitcase Gourmets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 17, 2014

I also use this all of the time. Now I never waste that store-bought buttermilk anymore. lol. I used this in Recipe: Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes with great results. Thanks, Deb, for sharing. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 12, 2014
Buttermilk Substitution for Baking