Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Substitution for Baking Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Substitution for Baking

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2014

      i use this all the time. clever you for writing out a recipe so others know , this really works made for u.s. southern leg of new world tour

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      i have been using this forever...i dont even buy buttermilk when needed. great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      OMG!! My brain is so HAPPY to find this receipe!! I'll never buy Buttermilk again!! THANKS for sharing! AWESOME!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I seem to never have buttermilk on hand when I need it, so I always use this little trick when I'm in a pinch. Seems I am constantly calling on this recipe when I am preparing TSR Version of IHOP Buttermilk Pancakes by Todd Wilbur. Works great. I wouldn't hesitate to try it with other recipes. At least I wouldn't end up wasting half the container (of buttermilk) for those times when I actually do remember to buy it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This worked for me in recipe 168645 (Pancakes for Two).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I have been using this substitute for years now, first when ever I forgot buttermilk, but now I don't even bother with getting the buttermilk. I see absolutely no difference in the outcome of the dishes I use it in. You can also add lemon juice if you do not have vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      What a wonderful substitution recipe! It is a time- AND money-saver! Sometimes you just need a bit, and this recipe fits the bill. I even gave the recipe to a girl at the grocery store today! :-) Thanks for taking the time to post what has surely been a lifesaver for some (I ALWAYS forget the buttermilk, because I don't have a call to use it very often - LOL) and will continue to 'give' in the future! (Used in The Best Fried Ravioli #161680)Thanks for posting, Deb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Absolutely GREAT, & it will definitely keep me from ever having well-aged buttermilk in my frig! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      Thank you for sharing this recipe Deb. It worked really well in my cornbread muffins. A nice substitute for buttermilk, when I am out. Made for Culinary Quest 2014 - Suitcase Gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2014

      I also use this all of the time. Now I never waste that store-bought buttermilk anymore. lol. I used this in Recipe: Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes with great results. Thanks, Deb, for sharing. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2014

      This is a great sub for buttermilk, it doesn't have the same rich flavor of buttermilk but helps in a pinch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Buttermilk is not available where I live. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Never need to buy buttermilk again! This is just the thing to make and ushe when buttermilk is needed. No more buying containers and throwing half out for me ever again. And it so easy and quick also!
      Thanks Deb this worked so well for my puddig.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      This works really well. I've never used it in dressings, but I have used it to cook with. I remember my Mom doing this too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      It works and you can always make just as much as needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I've used this recipe for years. It works exactly as advertised. It's wonderful because when you don't need a large amount of buttermilk, or don't have any and can't run out to the store. This is one recipe that should be in every baker's repertoire! Thanks for posting. Made for Everyday's a Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Works perfectly each and every time and great when you just need a small amount. I used it to make Mimi's Maine Blueberry Cobbler. Yumm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I hardly ever use buttermilk, and I bought some dried buttermilk powder, but it turned into a hard clump, so now I have this recipe to use whenever I need a little buttermilk. Thanks! Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This is a trick my grandmother used to use (back in the old days when recipes used to call for "sour" milk.) It adds the "tang" of buttermilk and you don't have to buy a quart of it, which doesn't always get used up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Substitution for Baking

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.2
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    50%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 120.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites