10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

MMmmmm Comfort food at it's best. So rich and creamy. I did add in a handful of shredded cheese the last few minutes of baking and also used smoked paprika. Made for HolidayTag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB December 20, 2009

What a great recipe. I love the idea of flouring the slices first. What really impressed me the most is that it had a cheeseyness to it. The paprika gave it a soft orange color and I guess it was the buttermilk that gave it pseudo cheese effect. I made a half recipe and it was perfect for DH and I, it still required the full amount of oven time. A+ Mikekey :D.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 15, 2009

What a great low-fat alternative to the rich, cream-laden scalloped potatoes I used to make. I've been missing them but not anymore now I've found this. I've had trouble before with our Aussie buttermilk curdling when I heated it, so I just took it to around blood temp for this. It still curdled, but the flour seemed to fix the problem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS April 27, 2011

I used about 4 cups of sliced potatoes and loved the smell coming from the oven! However, the buttermilk curdled (though I did not let it boil), which did not make this dish very appetizing to look at nor eat. I think the tang of the buttermilk was a bit much for me - maybe a combination of milk and buttermilk would have worked better. Sorry for the negative review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 09, 2014

Really great scalloped potato recipe. I especially liked the flouring of the potatoes in a bag! I wound up burning my onions so I just left them out of the dish.....they were just fine without them. Thanks for posting. Made for Football Pool 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa September 19, 2013

Great recipe! I goofed and put the onions in with the flour and potatoes but it didn't hurt it at all. I really loved the tangy taste of the buttermilk. It certainly didn't hurt to have a recipe that was so easy to make either. I'll definitely be making this one again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY March 27, 2012

Great scalloped potatoes!!! I made this when I DH went out of town and my son and his girlfriend joined me for this great dinner. The only things I changed was to add chunks of ham and to double the recipe so that I would have leftovers for lunches!! I really liked the added color paprika and the little tang from the buttermilk, compared to my own recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe and congrats again on your win in the football pool!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 21, 2012

I cut these potatoes very thin, and followed the directions directly. But for some reason, the onion flavor was overwhelming in these....maybe my onion was way too big. I thought it was, so only used about 1/3 of the onion. My buttermilk worked out fine....no curdling. I blame the poor result on the intensity and size of my onion. Made for Football tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 24, 2011

As mush as I've always enjoyed scalloped potatoes, & also like the flavor & nutrition of the peel, so, as with many other potato recipes, I didn't peel the taters but otherwise followed the recipe right on down! I realize, too that the finished dish probably looked a little 'rustic' but they were very, very flavorful, & after all, that's what I wanted! [Made & reviewed in 123 Hits]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 20, 2011

I have always made my scalloped potatoes on the stove and made a huge mess. Before serving I stirred in a handful of swiss cheese but with this recipe there is no mess and no need for the cheese. Very good potatoes that were so easy to make! Was in a bit of a hurry and missed the directions...saute the onion in butter and heat the buttermilk so I improvised. Layered chopped onions over the potatoes then cubed the butter and added that. Poured the buttermilk over the potatoes and baked in a casserole dish. The buttermilk adds a rich cheese flavor and the potatoes are perfectly seasoned. A nice side dish to serve any time! Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef Spring 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 April 18, 2010
Buttermilk Scalloped Potatoes