8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good bread! Made dough in B/M and cooked in oven,will make again thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 August 17, 2009

Wonderful! This is the recipe that encouraged me to literally DIG out my bread machine that hasn't been used in almost 10 years. Made just as instructed & the rye aroma & flavor was excellent. The texture was beautiful as well. Crunchy on the outside, making it so easy to slice perfectly sized slices, & moist & soft on the inside. I made it especially for Lightly-Butter Fried Cheese Sandwich (a Pick-A-Chef tag). Made, enjoyed & reviewed for Flour Power! - April 2008 challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 11, 2008

This bread is delicious. I made it twice in two days and am posting a new review. On both days I used plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk. The first day I added a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten because I wanted to see what would happen. The second day I did not use the gluten. I stuck to the recipe in all other respects both times, except for being a little heavy-handed with the caraway seeds. Both versions were delicious. The first bread, made with the gluten, was a little lighter and drier than the second loaf. The second loaf, though, was not at all so very heavy and it came out a bit moister. I will make this bread without the gluten in the future. I baked both loaves in my ABM on the light crust setting. The bottoms and sides were done to perfection, and the bread was baked through both times. The tops of both loaves were paler and rougher-looking, but were also baked through. Thank you very much for posting this recipe. I will use it often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao January 27, 2008

Delicious! I made in my stand mixer and got two 8x4 loaves. I also used deli rye flavor (from King Arthur) and extra seeds. Chia, you always have the best bread recipes! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose February 28, 2011

Very good would make again, thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty March 07, 2010

Very good bread in many respects! This is in my Betty Crocker's Bread Machine cookbook. I used canola oil. I especially like the buttermilk in this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 14, 2008

Used the dough cycle and shaped the dough into rolls. Light rye taste with a good amount of caraway seeds. Easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl October 11, 2005

This is a good hearty country style bread. Nice texture and great rye flavor. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan February 17, 2003
buttermilk rye bread