Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2003

      I'm always on the lookout for a good/different pound cake recipe, and this one did not let me down! My pound cake was sweet and buttery with a lovely texture that only buttermilk can produce; the cake melts in your mouth. I did not add the chopped pecans or lemon flavoring (some lemon haters in my house). I baked my cake at 325 degrees F for approximately 1hr 10min (1 1/2 hours would have been too long) - check your cake about every 5 minutes after you have baked it for an hour to check for doneness. I baked two pound cakes, and will be defrosting one next week to take to my DD's elementary school for Teacher Appreciation week. Wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      This was delicious! Great flavor and texture. I might try an almond or orange extract next time just to experiment. We topped ours with fresh strawberries and then a dollop of the following: using room temperature cream cheese, mix equal parts cream cheese and marshmallow fluff with a blender until smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Left out the lemon, ground the pecans and added to cake batter before baking. Great cake will make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      I followed this recipe exactly despite having reservations about the lemon essence, but I thought it deserved a fair go the first time. I made it in my new 24cm/9.5" Bakers' Secret "fluted tube pan" (see photo) and when I turned the cake around in the oven halfway through the cooking time (because my oven cooks faster at the back than the front) it was absolutely full, so make sure you use a big cake tin! The cake is nice and moist and dense but doesn't taste too heavy. Next time I'd either leave out the lemon essence, which always tastes artificial to me even if it's a "natural" extract, or use freshly grated lemon zest instead. I might also reduce the amount of sugar by half a cup or so because it's a bit too sweet. Hopefully that won't affect the texture, which is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Very good and easy to make. My ds made this without any problems following the directions exactly (except for skipping the nuts and lemon flavoring) and it baked to perfection in 1 1/2 hours for us. It was perfect dusted with powdered sugar for a dessert that pleased everyone. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      Great cake! Easy to make. I used some of it in a strawberry trifle. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Wonderful flavor. I think I might have baked mine too long b/c the top was a little too brown, but it was a good complement to the meal and satisfied the picky eaters as well. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      I only had 1/2 cup of buttermilk left so I halfed the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. It took 75 minutes. We all liked it. Good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.9
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    40%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 77.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 155.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 38.5 g
    154%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites