Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2002

      I wanted something not too sweet and so I made this. It really fit the bill and was delicious. Thanks Anke for the delightful recipe. I'll certainly make it again! Nancy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      Wonderful moist cake. I substituted orange juice and zest for the lemon extract and made 2 loaf cakes instead of using the tube pan. I might try adding cranberries or something interesting in the future. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2003

      Nice moist and light cake. Didn't have any lemon extract so used grated rind of a lemon and orange, great citrus taste. This is also a good basic recipe that could be adapted to lots of different flavours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      This was a good moist cake. And really light and fluffy. I did substitute the lemon extract for juice from a whole lemon, and i gratted the orange zest into the cake mixture. I didn't have lemon extract at home. The outcome was good, gave it a really nice fragrance AND added flavour to the cake. Easy must try cake. Dad gave it two thumbs up. And that is a tough compliment to get.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      I was looking for a desert to use up some buttermilk and this was perfect! I followed Miraklegirl's suggestion of making two loaf cakes, which I dusted with sugar. Instead of the lemon extract I used coconut extract for a different taste. We will definitely be making this again soon changing different extract flavors for different cakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      This was very good and very easy with a great flavor. Due to dietary restrictions, I used King Arthurs Gluten-free flour and it turned out so tasty that no one in my family could tell it was gf. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      This recipe makes a very nice pound cake - moist, nice crumb, not too sweet. I substituted Splenda sugar blend for the sugar. I am not fond of lemon extract, so I omitted it and doubled the vanilla. This would be good with any citrus zest as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      Baked it a 9 x 13 pan and served it with sweetened strawberries over the top. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      This is so easy and delicious. I made it in two loaf pans, also cooked at 325 degrees for an hour. Absolutely fabulous. I already made it twice! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

    • on June 09, 2010

    • on May 11, 2010

      I didn't have lemon extract, so I used 2 teaspoons of Triple Sec. Had to cut the cake, bag it, and give it away really fast because I kept eating it, and eating it, and eating it. Addictive! One of the best cakes I've made in a long time! I'm going to make another one today and use a different flavoring--Mango Schnapps or black walnut extract maybe? YUM! (Oh, and I'm high altitude, so maybe I had some different results than everyone else?).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      I cut this recipe in half, and used 1 loaf pan. I tripled the vanilla so the flavor was nice, but I agree it wasn't as rich or as buttery as I would have hoped. It was very, very light. It really didn't taste like a pound cake at all. I wasn't disappointed, but I had hoped for something more pound cakey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I wanted to love it. I used 1tsp vanilla and some Lorann orange oil (stronger than extract) plus the zest of an orange. Still I found the cake not as rich or buttery as I had hoped. Not very flavorful. Sorry.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      First cake I ever made. Easy and delicious. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Followed directions, except I added 1 teaspoon butter flavoring and 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. A very pretty cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      followed the directions completely... The cake came out PERFECT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Pretty decent. I followed recipe exactly as printed. However, my baking time was longer than 1 hr. More like 1 hr25 min. Came out of pan no problem, I use shortening then a tspn flour over the shortening. No cakes ever stick with that. Not really a fan of lb cake. They never thrill me. This was no different. I like to fry the slices in pan then serve with ice cream. I'll try that tomorrow. I'd make it again. Can't say I tasted the buttermilk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      We thought this pound cake was great. I didn't change a thing, and we enjoyed it plain, warm from the oven, and later as strawberry shortcake. My tube pan was too small, so I baked a second, smaller cake, which I froze. It was just as good out of the freezer later. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      If you need a basic pound cake to adorn with strawberries and whip cream ( or anything else), this is your cake. However, by itself it does not have much flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4946.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1880
    38%
    Total Fat 208.9 g
    321%
    Saturated Fat 124.7 g
    623%
    Cholesterol 1241.8 mg
    413%
    Sodium 3384.7 mg
    141%
    Total Carbohydrate 700.0 g
    233%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 413.3 g
    1653%
    Protein 73.9 g
    147%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes