Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2002

      I used both lemon and almond flavoring and this tasted terrific. We live on a military base, so consequently I have an old, unpredictable oven, which is I'm sure the reason my cake was somewhat dry. The flavor was so awesome, though, I cut it up and layered it with some homemade strawberry-lemon jam and homemade custard filling. Yummy. I'll make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2002

      This was a wonderful, luscious, buttery tasting pound cake. It was very moist and slightly crumbly (a little like cake but not) as compared to a dense pound cake. The buttermilk (I used the real stuff) added a buttery flavor that is not obtained with pound cakes made with milk, sour cream, or cream cheese. The cake is not a large 10-inch tube pound cake (in height) but is a great size for coffee, snacking or dessert. I used vanilla extract and did not add chocolate chips, orange peel, or lemon peel. My husband has fallen in love with this recipe, and has managed to eat at least two pieces/day over the past two days. This one is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      I have a problem: I can't stop eating this! It came out of the oven about 90 minutes ago, and I've already had two pieces--and I haven't even had dinner yet! I don't believe I've ever made a cake with just shortening before (typically I would automatically substitute butter) but in my quest to find lowcost recipes, I went with just the shortening. And I can't believe it, but I don't care at all that I didn't use butter! This cake is an absolute delight--moist inside, a little crusty outside, with a wonderful flavour (I used 1 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp almond extract). This was perfectly done after 90 minutes. The recipe is very easy to prepare and will definitely be a regular for me from now on. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      Great basic cake, buttery and moist. I used orange essence and the flavour was just right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      This pound cake is wonderful! I had some buttermilk to use up and was looking for a recipe when I came across this one. I followed the recipe and added lemon rind and some lemon juice; great flavor and a lovely consistency, moist but not heavy or crumbly, just perfect! This is going to be my go - to poundcake recipe! Thanks, Donna M. for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I made this pound cake twice, once using vanilla flavoring and the second time using banana flavoring, they both tasted excellent!! This will be my pound cake recipe!! I made them both in the same week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Mmmm, good cake. Used lemon juice and zest and will try it with other flavourings too. The cake was moist, dense and buttery (although I kept to the recipe and used shortening). It baked in exactly 90 minutes and I had no problems at all to get it out of the pan (used a bundt pan). Very good recipe, this cake will be made many more times!
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

    • on December 06, 2007

      This is a fabulous cake. I did use the zest of 1 orange & it gave a nice(tasteable)orange flavor. I also used a splash each of almond & vanilla extract. I did the buttermilk substitution suggested like I also have when it's needed. After about 1hr 20 mins I cranked the temp up to 350 for 5 more mins because it was very pale looking. Will definatley make often as it is a recipe with most of the ingredients on hand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      The flavor was good with this cake but you have to be really careful with the greasing/flouring step. I split this into two pans and both of them stuck to the bottom. Next time I will have to try a different method but I would make this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I've made this easy recipe twice and it's a keeper! The first time, I had a couple of very ripe bananas to use up so I added them - delicious. The second time, I made it as the recipe directs, using vanilla. Oh my, we love it. Makes superior strawberry short-cake, but I like to just cut and eat it! Doesn't need frosting or anything. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I made this cake last weekend for a Super Bowl party. I added maraschino cherries and almond extract for the flavoring. It went over well, with some friends going back for another slice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I made this with butter. I also added rum soaked cherries (I had them on hand) and chocolate chips and a little cherry extract. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      simply delicious! i followed the recipe exactly, and the cooking time was right on! i baked it in a bundt pan, turned out perfectly. thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      Awsome recipe, it turned out wonderful. It had a nice texture and I also used a traditional shape pan instead of the bundt. Before I baked it I brushed some more melted butter over it and sprinkled some sugar. Perfect addition to an evening cup of tea. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Doubled the recipe using half shortening and half butter. Used vanilla and cherry extract with chopped cherries mixed in. Came out very nice but next time I will increase oven temp to at least 325. Had to raise temp last fifteen minutes to get them to brown. The taste was wonderful, dense but as a pound cake should be... flavor was yummy as was the smell while baking. Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      Totally different than what I expected and something I will make again soon for sure. The overall texture was smooth but not overly heavy. I baked it in two bread pans to have traditional pound cake slices and I topped it with a lemon icing I found on this site as well. I used a little extra lemon zest and I only used lemon flavoring (double).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      I cooked this cake and it was fantastic.I wanted an easy to cook pound cake and I didn\'t want to go to the store. Had everything but the buttermilk so I mixed lemon with sweet milk. We all loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      How can you have a Pound Cake with no butter and expect something more than marginal results. Nothing to write home about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.8
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    40%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 35.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 195.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    103%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites