Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Pie

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      Wow! I took one bite of this delicious pie and I had an immediate flashback of me, as a child, sitting in my Amish great-grandmother's kitchen eating this exact pie. This recipe is the real deal! I followed this recipe exactly, but I recommend loosly placing some aluminum foil on top of the pie the last 30 minutes of baking to avoid overbrowning. This pie is good served cold for Summer and warmed up for Winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I had actually never heard of the buttermilk pie, but the name and picture enticed me. The ingredents are similar to a southern chess pie, but after tasting this, I can never go back! I also used a refrigerated pie crust. Now that I am pregnant, I crave a warm slice of this pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I love this pie. This recipe fits PERFECTLY into one of those frozen Pet-Ritz deep dish pie shells. I made two pies... one pie with 1/2 tsp. lemon extract added and one without. Both were delicious!! I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup, as others did. Cooking custardy-pies is always tricky for me. I make a loose foil "tent" over the whole pie with a slit on top for steam to escape. If it needs browning, I'll remove the tent 10 or 15 minutes before the baking time ends. Thank you for sharing this treasure of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This is soooo yummy! I think it's more like creme brulee than pecan pie. I wish it was a tad more custard-ish, but it's awesome. I used a frozen pie shell, margarine & powdered buttermilk. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      This pie is absolutely amazing, very easy to make, and hard to mess up. I cut back to just a little over a cup of sugar after reading some of the other reviews, but I messed up and put in a whole cup of butter instead of a half. I also turned up the oven to 450 and then cut it back to 350 and set it to bake for 55 minutes after the recommendation of another reviewer, but at the end of that time it was still soupy in the middle, so I just left it in and kept testing the center. I jiggled kept watching it, and discovered that the best test for done-ness is the jiggle test - when it goes from being runny to being gelatinous and wiggly in the center, it's done. It took more like an hour and 15 minutes at 350, but in the end it had a lovely golden caramelized top, the edges were golden and not overly done, and it was rich and delicious. I served it to a small group of friends and we all just loved it. It is a more custard-like version of pecan pie, with a creaminess replacing the corn syrup-ness. It has an old-timey, southern comfort-food personality. You will LOVE this pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Awesome pie, I used Substitute for Buttermilk for the buttermilk, and this pie turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I thought I had already reviewed this recipe and I should have it is soooo good. I had some buttermilk that needed to be used and that's why I made it the first time. Now I buy the buttermilk just so I can make it. I have started freezing the buttermilk in 1 cup portions so I always have it on hand. The only change I made was to add fresh grated nutmg and a couple of sprinkles of cinnamon. Sure is yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I made it with the full sugar amount, and made it again with only adding 1 cup. Definitely better with only 1 cup. I used Pillsbury frozen deep dish crusts. The first pie, I cooked as directed, but it browned more than enough with 20 minutes still left to bake. Second pie, I heated the oven to 400 degrees but immediately turned it back to 350 when I placed the pie in to bake. Came out perfect the second time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Thank you so much for posting this pie. My mother made this every year for the holidays and like you the recipe was lost. I tried many recipes as well and none were quite right. This is it!!!! Thank you soo much. I agree the sugar is important, do not reduce, it is suppose to be sweet. Again thank you so much for bring this amazing pie and all of it's memories back so I can now share it with my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR THIS RECIPE...forever!! Thank you, thank you, thank you. It is PERFECT. My grandmother made a similar pie but she never wrote anything down so I haven't been able to replicate her buttermillk pie.

      I was worried when I poured the pie into the crust because it looked like it had curdled and I was afraid I had messed something up even though I had followed the recipe exactly. I did turn the heat down to 300 degrees for the last 10 minutes. My pie was beautiful and delicious and exactly how I remembered my Grandmothers! LOVE it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      This is such a great recipe!! So easy to make. I did sprinkle some pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, and cinnamon on the top before baking. I think next time I will add lemon juice or coconut extract to the filling. Great consistency and texture. If your looking for a good buttermilk pie recipe you shou should try this one it's a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I think this recipe is perfect. My family has had a buttermilk pie recipe passed down through generations, and this recipe is quite comparable. I'm sure oven temperatures differ, but I only cooked for 40 minutes on 350 after the 10 minute 400 period. Had I left it in longer, it would have been too dark. Tastes the way a Buttermilk Pie ought to! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I just made this pie last night because I was intrigued by its name. I actually heard of it on a tv show and instantly wanted to make it. I can't believe how simple it was to make. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, like many of the other reviewers recommended. It was perfectly sweet. I love nutmeg in custard sweets, so I added just a touch. I think I may reduce the butter just a tablespoon or two; I had to sop up some of the the butter that had pooled a bit on top of the pie with a paper towel once it had come out of the oven. But really, absolutely perfect pie. Great texture, great flavor. Delicious!!! ... I made it last night and I need to make another tomorrow.. it's almost gone!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Very tasty pie! The one I made 2 days ago has all but disappeared! I used only 1 cup of sugar and still found it a tad too sweet, though. I think a little cinnamon would be nice in this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This was my second recipe to try for Buttermilk pie. The first one was not what I or my husband remembered at all. When he took the first bite of this recipe he said, "Perfect!" I was so happy. I'll make this again and again for him. Thank You for submitting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Sometimes the most simple recipes are the best and this is one of them. Thank yo for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This pie is delicious!! I made one with the full amount of sugar,and one with about 1 1/4 cups. since i have quite a sweet tooth i liked them both. I kicked the temp down to 350 as soon as i put the pie in the oven so it wouldnt burn before set. Also placing a layer of foil over the pie can keep it from burning before the pie is set. I did add about a tablespoon of lemon zest to give it kind of a kick and it turned out really good. I plan on making several of these during the holidays for friends and family. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      My attempt turned out great. I did substitute some splenda for a little bit of the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Hi! I don't want to add stars because I modified this into something else, but the recipe is yours, so I have to give credit. What a yummy surprise flavor! I used FF Buttermilk that I needed to use up, 1 c of sugar and I added the vanilla in to the mix at some point- the instructions don't say where. Anyway, I omitted the crust entirely and greased a glass pie pan. Baked as directed, first for 10 mins at 400, then 50 mins at 350 and ended up with a really thin and light and creamy custard with a caramelly top. I would serve with berries, but for the 2 of us, it was just a great sweet treat without a lot of fuss. We're keeping it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I am in the process of making my second buttermilk pie to stop my husband's begging! I substituted splenda for the sugar due to DH's diabetes. Thank You so much for this wonderful recipe. I came across it while looking for ways to use up extra buttermilk. We had never even heard of buttermilk pie before.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.8
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    43%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 101.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 269.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 39.8 g
    159%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites