139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! I took one bite of this delicious pie and I had an immediate flashback of me, as a child, sitting in my Amish great-grandmother's kitchen eating this exact pie. This recipe is the real deal! I followed this recipe exactly, but I recommend loosly placing some aluminum foil on top of the pie the last 30 minutes of baking to avoid overbrowning. This pie is good served cold for Summer and warmed up for Winter.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whipcole_4660585 June 23, 2010

I love this pie. This recipe fits PERFECTLY into one of those frozen Pet-Ritz deep dish pie shells. I made two pies... one pie with 1/2 tsp. lemon extract added and one without. Both were delicious!! I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup, as others did. Cooking custardy-pies is always tricky for me. I make a loose foil "tent" over the whole pie with a slit on top for steam to escape. If it needs browning, I'll remove the tent 10 or 15 minutes before the baking time ends. Thank you for sharing this treasure of a recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri Lou December 31, 2009

I had actually never heard of the buttermilk pie, but the name and picture enticed me. The ingredents are similar to a southern chess pie, but after tasting this, I can never go back! I also used a refrigerated pie crust. Now that I am pregnant, I crave a warm slice of this pie.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kriggsbee June 03, 2010

This is soooo yummy! I think it's more like creme brulee than pecan pie. I wish it was a tad more custard-ish, but it's awesome. I used a frozen pie shell, margarine & powdered buttermilk. This is a keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina A April 23, 2010

This pie is absolutely amazing, very easy to make, and hard to mess up. I cut back to just a little over a cup of sugar after reading some of the other reviews, but I messed up and put in a whole cup of butter instead of a half. I also turned up the oven to 450 and then cut it back to 350 and set it to bake for 55 minutes after the recommendation of another reviewer, but at the end of that time it was still soupy in the middle, so I just left it in and kept testing the center. I jiggled kept watching it, and discovered that the best test for done-ness is the jiggle test - when it goes from being runny to being gelatinous and wiggly in the center, it's done. It took more like an hour and 15 minutes at 350, but in the end it had a lovely golden caramelized top, the edges were golden and not overly done, and it was rich and delicious. I served it to a small group of friends and we all just loved it. It is a more custard-like version of pecan pie, with a creaminess replacing the corn syrup-ness. It has an old-timey, southern comfort-food personality. You will LOVE this pie.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KIMBER120 March 15, 2010

I made it with the full sugar amount, and made it again with only adding 1 cup. Definitely better with only 1 cup. I used Pillsbury frozen deep dish crusts. The first pie, I cooked as directed, but it browned more than enough with 20 minutes still left to bake. Second pie, I heated the oven to 400 degrees but immediately turned it back to 350 when I placed the pie in to bake. Came out perfect the second time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HRH Mom August 17, 2009

Hi! I don't want to add stars because I modified this into something else, but the recipe is yours, so I have to give credit. What a yummy surprise flavor! I used FF Buttermilk that I needed to use up, 1 c of sugar and I added the vanilla in to the mix at some point- the instructions don't say where. Anyway, I omitted the crust entirely and greased a glass pie pan. Baked as directed, first for 10 mins at 400, then 50 mins at 350 and ended up with a really thin and light and creamy custard with a caramelly top. I would serve with berries, but for the 2 of us, it was just a great sweet treat without a lot of fuss. We're keeping it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM January 18, 2009

Awesome pie, I used Substitute for Buttermilk for the buttermilk, and this pie turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Rachelle April 08, 2010

I thought I had already reviewed this recipe and I should have it is soooo good. I had some buttermilk that needed to be used and that's why I made it the first time. Now I buy the buttermilk just so I can make it. I have started freezing the buttermilk in 1 cup portions so I always have it on hand. The only change I made was to add fresh grated nutmg and a couple of sprinkles of cinnamon. Sure is yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young September 07, 2009

Thank you so much for posting this pie. My mother made this every year for the holidays and like you the recipe was lost. I tried many recipes as well and none were quite right. This is it!!!! Thank you soo much. I agree the sugar is important, do not reduce, it is suppose to be sweet. Again thank you so much for bring this amazing pie and all of it's memories back so I can now share it with my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyd31474 December 16, 2012
Buttermilk Pie