16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have a Buttermilk Pie recipe with exactly the same ingredients/proportions. I have been using this recipe forever and always had rave reviews. BUT, the difference is in the instructions. My recipe did not specify to beat the egg whites separately; it just calls for 3 eggs, beaten. I decided to try it, beating the whites separately, because I've always been displeased with the "look" of the finished pie. WOW! Same great tasting pie, but a lighter, fluffier presentation. We loved it!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas December 26, 2002

I have been using a similar recipe for years. I add 1 1/2 cups of coconut to mine to give it an extra pizazz. My husband does not like buttermilk, so I tell him it is a coconut pie and he loves it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom's Mercantile December 23, 2003

My southern born husband who's mother always made the best pies, according to him, really liked this. For once, I didn't hear..."Well mom would have...". I really liked it too. I just didn't realize that buttermilk pie would be lemony! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiNMike October 19, 2005

So I came across this recipe, having never heard of buttermilk pie. The reviews convinced me not only to try it, but that it should be good enough to serve to the family at Easter.....and boy were they right! The pie was devoured and delicious....as well as kept everyone guessing what the heck it was (none of them have heard of it either). It was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 April 05, 2010

Yummy ... I love that this is not overly sweet. My hubby loved it. I did not change anything .. the pie came out perfect. Thank you !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linnylouise July 28, 2009

I hadn't even heard of this pie until I searched for "pies" here. The flavor and texture were unusual but very good. The only caveats for me were one; the baking time, it took me 25 minutes longer than the directions so about a good hour in total and two, the filling was too plentiful for my 9" pie shell so I had to discard a bit. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Montreal August 13, 2008

We made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner and did not receive very good reviews. The consistency of the pie was perfect but the pie itself did not taste very good. It just was not sweet enough. Maybe it just needs more sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachael.walters January 01, 2006

This is a lovely, delicious pie. I doubled the recipe to make two for New Years, and the recipe doubles well. When I make this again, though, I will not bake for 10 minutes at 450. After reading other comments, I preheated the oven (electric) to only 425 degrees. After 8 minutes, the tops were starting to brown so I turned the oven down to 350 ahead of schedule. After another 10 minutes, they browned enough that I had to cover them with foil. Next time, I'll start out at 350 and bake until done. This recipe is a real keeper. I live in Kentucky where almost everyone makes buttermilk pie, and this one is the best tasting. The beaten egg whites and fresh lemon juice and rind are what makes this pie so nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snow White January 01, 2006

Being a New Yorker, i have never had a "buttermilk pie", but my TN boyfriend kept saying how much he loved it. I baked this pie today and have to say it's amazing and wonderful! it was so light and fluffy, and like everyone else said, i think beating the egg whites seperate really did it! thanks so much for this lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 December 31, 2005

Creamy and delicious! I agree with Susie in TX, I think the seperation of the egg yolks/egg whites is the cincher in this recipe. The taste of lemon is obvious, but not so overwhelming. We love it!! Thank you, NurseDi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie November 27, 2005
Buttermilk Pie