Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2002

      I have a Buttermilk Pie recipe with exactly the same ingredients/proportions. I have been using this recipe forever and always had rave reviews. BUT, the difference is in the instructions. My recipe did not specify to beat the egg whites separately; it just calls for 3 eggs, beaten. I decided to try it, beating the whites separately, because I've always been displeased with the "look" of the finished pie. WOW! Same great tasting pie, but a lighter, fluffier presentation. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I have been using a similar recipe for years. I add 1 1/2 cups of coconut to mine to give it an extra pizazz. My husband does not like buttermilk, so I tell him it is a coconut pie and he loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      My southern born husband who's mother always made the best pies, according to him, really liked this. For once, I didn't hear..."Well mom would have...". I really liked it too. I just didn't realize that buttermilk pie would be lemony! Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      So I came across this recipe, having never heard of buttermilk pie. The reviews convinced me not only to try it, but that it should be good enough to serve to the family at Easter.....and boy were they right! The pie was devoured and delicious....as well as kept everyone guessing what the heck it was (none of them have heard of it either). It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Yummy ... I love that this is not overly sweet. My hubby loved it. I did not change anything .. the pie came out perfect. Thank you !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      I hadn't even heard of this pie until I searched for "pies" here. The flavor and texture were unusual but very good. The only caveats for me were one; the baking time, it took me 25 minutes longer than the directions so about a good hour in total and two, the filling was too plentiful for my 9" pie shell so I had to discard a bit. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      We made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner and did not receive very good reviews. The consistency of the pie was perfect but the pie itself did not taste very good. It just was not sweet enough. Maybe it just needs more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      This is a lovely, delicious pie. I doubled the recipe to make two for New Years, and the recipe doubles well. When I make this again, though, I will not bake for 10 minutes at 450. After reading other comments, I preheated the oven (electric) to only 425 degrees. After 8 minutes, the tops were starting to brown so I turned the oven down to 350 ahead of schedule. After another 10 minutes, they browned enough that I had to cover them with foil. Next time, I'll start out at 350 and bake until done. This recipe is a real keeper. I live in Kentucky where almost everyone makes buttermilk pie, and this one is the best tasting. The beaten egg whites and fresh lemon juice and rind are what makes this pie so nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      Being a New Yorker, i have never had a "buttermilk pie", but my TN boyfriend kept saying how much he loved it. I baked this pie today and have to say it's amazing and wonderful! it was so light and fluffy, and like everyone else said, i think beating the egg whites seperate really did it! thanks so much for this lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Creamy and delicious! I agree with Susie in TX, I think the seperation of the egg yolks/egg whites is the cincher in this recipe. The taste of lemon is obvious, but not so overwhelming. We love it!! Thank you, NurseDi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      I can't believe how good this pie is, considering that I burned it with all that high heat at the beginning! Next time I'll either cover with foil from the beginning, or probably just lower the heat to 400-425. My expectations were not high, since it didn't look so good, but it has that wonderful, true Southern buttermilk pie taste, with an added "lightness"! But somehow you don't lose the "dense" feel that you expect with buttermilk pie either - absolutely delish! Definitely use a deep-dish pie crust (recommend Mrs. Smith's frozen), and you can top with approx. 1/4 cup toasted coconut towards the end of baking for an added taste treat. I recommend refrigerating overnight before enjoying this wonderful pie - thanks Nurse Di, for another terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      This was the 2nd pie i have ever made, and got sooo many compliments from it! My mum-in-law whose a piegal loved it soo much, I printed this recipe for her. She said it was soo different but GREAT! Shes such a berry person, so the berries she added for the toppings was just perfect! THANKS! 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      I honestly didn't try this myself, but I made the pie for a friend and she ate it ALL herself, declaring it one of the best pies she had ever tried! Since she is a real connoisseur I trust her judgement, and give this five stars! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      Oh, wow. I had never had buttermilk pie, but needed to use up some buttermilk. I made two of these, and they were such a hit, someone asked for the recipe! I personally loved it. I'll make this one again! I love the slight hint of lemon without being too lemony, and it's neither too sweet nor too tart- the perfect pie. (My oven turned the tops really brown, too, but that's probably because it's an evil electric.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      I have had buttermilk pie before but this was my first time making it. Everyone loved it...especially my DH. I liked the fact that it cooked all the way through and the center was not runny like the one a co-worker always brings...lol. Maybe I should give her this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      My pie got alittle too brown on top but that is my oven's fault. We tried it after it cooled and it is great! My husband was cautious about eating a new kind of pie, but was won over with the first bite! Thanks, Carole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.5
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    44%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 266.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 27.3 g
    109%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes