Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Panko-Crusted Oven Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Panko-Crusted Oven Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2013

      Crisp,moist, delicious!!! I was extremely pleased with this recipe and my husband loved it and asked me to make it again. "A Keeper." I changed things up a bit, but not significantly. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice. I also seasoned the panko crumbs with more garlic, pepper, and all seasoning with salt. Used parchment paper instead of foil, sprayed it lightly with Pam. Helped chicken to become crisp and goldenon the bottom and did not stick. Needed to cook longer, 40 to 45 minutes as the breasts were thicker. There was absolutely no sticking, and it browned and crisped nicely on the bottom. In fact, the bottoms were more golden and crisper than the tops, so after 20 minutes I turned them over so they would brown. I will definitely make this again. Try the parchment paper and you'll be delighted with both the consistency, and the taste. No sticking, no loss of breading, crispy, golden brown, moist and delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      I read the other reviews and tried without foil and on a wire rack. That didn't work out so well - the top was crispy but the bottom was mushy. So tried directly on the cookie sheet and using cooking oil. That worked: meat was moist inside and crispy outside. The flavor is great. We just want it a little crisper so will try 425-450 for 20-25 min next time to seal in the juice and work on a crisper outside. Will update my review when we have perfected this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This is a crispy, crunchy, very tasty and moist chicken. I was looking for something to replace take out chicken at our house. Even though the chicken is skinless it's so moist and tender. The panko is so delicious I don't think I will use regular breadcrumbs to coat my chicken anymore. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      I wanted to help a few of you out who are saying it stuck and didn't crisp. I used a cookie sheet sprayed generously with Pam. When they were no longer moist, I flipped them. I found it needed to be cooked a little longer than the suggested time on here for the crispiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I'd give this 4.5 stars, if I could -- it really was VERY good. I used boneless, skinless breasts, and was only able to marinade them for about 2 hours, but they were nevertheless wonderfully moist and tender. Next time I'll plan ahead better and marinade them longer! The only wish I had, regarding these, was that the coating on the bottom could get as wonderfully crisp and crunchy as the top. I was afraid to roll them over for fear of rubbing off the coating. Maybe next time I'll try cooking them on wire racks?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I marinated the chicken overnight and it was very moist. The panko didn't really get crisp and brown like I thought it should so next time I'll put it on broil for the last minute. Delicious chicken! I used boneless breasts without any problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      My husband just tasted this and said "it's so moist I can cut it with a fork-- super moist!" It was my first run on the recipe. I served it with canned cranberry sauce, mashers and steamed mixed vegetables, with a ramikin of the mustard honey sauce fom another panko chicken recipe listed here. Delicious! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Really tasty! Just had this for Father's Day lunch and it was a hit. Easy to make and full of flavor. I used a salt-free Mrs. Dash seasoning with the crumbs and did not miss the salt at all. I used 8 thighs and the crumbs and eggs were sufficient to coat everything. We'll make this again - might even try making chicken tenders or breasts this way. So moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      Excellent recipe. I used corn flake crumbs instead of panko, only because it is what I have in the house. I did not realize that the chicken was supposed to sit in the buttermilk for 4 hours, so it only sat for one. I sprayed the foil lined pan with Pam, then turn the chicken over 15 minutes after cooking. I also used chicken breast tenders. The outside was nice and crunchy and the inside tender and juicy. This is the only way I'm oven baking chicken from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      I quartered a small whole chicken (just under 2K) and removed wings from breast and left thigh and leg/drumstick intact and left the skin on and marinated as per recipe. When I crumbed the chicken I just shook of the excess buttermilk off and crumbed with the panko crumbs seasoned with salt and pepper (I think since I left the skin on the crumbs adhered to the chicken well), sprayed with oil and placed on the baking paper lined tray (I find this method of cooking gives you crispy moist chicken and clean up is a breeze as when using foil the chicken more often that not sticks to the foil). Baked at 175C fan forced for 50 minutes and the result was (cranked oven up to 200C fan forced for the last 10 minutes with an extra spray of oil) crispy moist chickens but the best for me was the chicken wings they were oh so good would consider this recipe just for making wings, the meat fell of the bones but if doing use the whole wing and tuck the tip under the first bone and make as per recipe, I think you could get about 18 to 24 wings out of this recipe. Thank you SilverOpera made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Very Very Good. I sprayed the chicken with butter flavored spray before baking. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Made this last night, and we really liked the taste. The only problem was the breading sticking to the tin foil really badly. So, I would definitely spray the tin foil in the pan, before putting the chicken in. Then spray the top as well. It may be good to turn part way through cooking, but I have not tried it yet. I plan to keep using this recipe because we bought about 6 boxes of panko when it was really cheap. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

    • on June 17, 2011

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Panko-Crusted Oven Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.6
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    22%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 195.3 mg
    65%
    Sodium 601.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites