13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used all purpose flour and instead of butter I used canola oil. Great pancakes :) Thanks Mimi :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 16, 2013

Great recipe! Very light and fluffy and very nice tasting. I added 1 teaspoon vanilla after reading some of the other reviews. I have tried a bunch of pancake recipes and this is one of the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sofe January 25, 2009

These were the absolute best pancakes I have ever had. I added a little bit of vanilla. This is the first pancake that I have ever made that I didn't need to add extra flour to make them thick enough. I subbed about half the all purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Even the first pancake turned out beautiful. This recipe is a keeper, thank you Mimi. I make up several batches of the dry ingredients and put in ziploc bags then just add the wet ingredients when we want pancakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 January 24, 2009

WOW!!! I have not had good luck with pancakes(As far as my husband is concerned!) Well let me tell you, my husband said that these are THE BEST pancakes I have ever made! I doubled the recipe and the only thing I did was add a teaspoon of vanilla. These were light, fluffy and as other posters have said only need syrup. I will be replacing my old recipe with this one. Thanks so much for sharing yours Mimi! Note : For Dad's Kitchen thanks for the tip, 400 degrees was right on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piggypie1333 December 07, 2008

This just became my favorite buttermilk pancake recipe. As mentioned before, these pancakes only need syrup. I tried adding butter on top and they became soggy. Next batch I tried just syrup and that's all you need. I cooked these on my electric griddle at 400 degrees.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dad's Kitchen February 24, 2008

This by far is the best pancake recipe I have ever made, and I have made a lot of them! I omitted nothing, plus I added just a teaspoon of vanilla. Absolutely perfect and fluffy. You should double though, it's a very thick batter and I don't think you family will appreciated you rationing the mix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjlphil16 February 24, 2008

Great recipe! I forgot to add the butter though.lol And the batter was so thick that I decided to make them into waffles. Delicious! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Creampuff March 24, 2006

These were amazing! So light and fluffy. Definitely a keeper. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJones October 06, 2005

These pancakes were great! I made them with fat-free buttermilk and I used egg beaters (two eggs worth) and no butter. In a second batch, I added a quarter cup of apple sauce and two teaspoons of cinnamon along with a little extra sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZJDad August 07, 2005
Buttermilk Pancakes