223 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful way to start the day! I cut the recipe in half and still got 6 big fat pancakes that were served with some homemade jam. We will definitely be enjoying these again, thanks for the post.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl September 04, 2011

Excellent. Best pancake recipe I've ever made. Soft, fluffly, velvety. Cooks Illustrated light and fluffy pancakes were the best until now.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmalkemus August 04, 2010

— posted Jul 26, 2003,Made these for breakfast today as my last recipe for "pick your chef". I have never been very successful at making regular pancakes, but this recipe worked for me! I did make the first few a little thick but by the end I had mastered pouring the right amount of batter. I made these with whole wheat flour and the kids still gobbled them down. Thanks for this great recipe! ***updated I made these today for a special breakfast and served these with Strawberry topping Sweet Southern Sugared Strawberries (Strawberry Topping), whipped cream and icing sugar. Delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * August 05, 2004

One word: YUM. Rave reviews all around. Don't sub anything else for the butter, I think that has a lot to do with the deliciousness factor. Also, I wanted to mention that I spaced and forgot the sugar, and really, I don't think it's necessary. BF says not to use it, since they are fantastic as is. So if you're trying to watch your sugar intake, this is one small way to get rid of a little (granted, jam and syrup are going to have tons of sugar, but baby steps, right?). Again, these have great flavor, and I won't be looking any further for a pancake recipe, because this is the clear winner. I used spelt flour. Thanks for posting! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel October 29, 2012

These were wonderful! A thick fluffy makes a thick fluffy pancake. I was out of baking powder so I had to make a substitute from baking soda and cream of tarter. I also had salted butter so I reduced the salt by 1/2 tsp. We ate these with butter, maple syrup, and Blueberry Sauce from this site. Next time I might try adding an extra half cup of buttermilk (as done by some other reviewers) to get a thinner pancake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle.a.hendricks July 04, 2010

I made these for a late breakfast today, I bought buttermilk yesterday just for these as I usually use just 1% milk & vinegar for a sub. I always read the reviews then go from there. All I had was salted butter so used that & cut the salt in 1/2 used a 1/3 measuring c. to pour the batter with, added 1t. of vanilla. They turned out light & fluffy tasting almost like IHops. Made plenty & we just ate 5 of them so I had plenty to freeze & have on hand.
A great pancake recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoryJean54 February 26, 2013

Wow, these are awesome. Light, fluffy, with slightly crispy edges. Perfect recipe, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meganalissa June 08, 2013

These are excellent. Easy to follow directions. The kids loved them! (Six-year-old said, "these are better than dad's!")

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 January 22, 2011

These are very very good! My husband hasn't liked pancakes since he was a kid but he loved these! They are very easy to make and are very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshleyMiranda July 01, 2010

These were light, fluffy and truly delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and my picky husband raved. Thanks so much for posting! Made these again today, but added semi-sweet chocolate chips. With or without chips, these pancakes are wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodsport May 26, 2010
Buttermilk Pancakes