Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    218 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 218

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2011

      Wonderful way to start the day! I cut the recipe in half and still got 6 big fat pancakes that were served with some homemade jam. We will definitely be enjoying these again, thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Excellent. Best pancake recipe I've ever made. Soft, fluffly, velvety. Cooks Illustrated light and fluffy pancakes were the best until now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      — posted Jul 26, 2003,Made these for breakfast today as my last recipe for "pick your chef". I have never been very successful at making regular pancakes, but this recipe worked for me! I did make the first few a little thick but by the end I had mastered pouring the right amount of batter. I made these with whole wheat flour and the kids still gobbled them down. Thanks for this great recipe! ***updated I made these today for a special breakfast and served these with Strawberry topping Sweet Southern Sugared Strawberries (Strawberry Topping), whipped cream and icing sugar. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      One word: YUM. Rave reviews all around. Don't sub anything else for the butter, I think that has a lot to do with the deliciousness factor. Also, I wanted to mention that I spaced and forgot the sugar, and really, I don't think it's necessary. BF says not to use it, since they are fantastic as is. So if you're trying to watch your sugar intake, this is one small way to get rid of a little (granted, jam and syrup are going to have tons of sugar, but baby steps, right?). Again, these have great flavor, and I won't be looking any further for a pancake recipe, because this is the clear winner. I used spelt flour. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      These were wonderful! A thick fluffy makes a thick fluffy pancake. I was out of baking powder so I had to make a substitute from baking soda and cream of tarter. I also had salted butter so I reduced the salt by 1/2 tsp. We ate these with butter, maple syrup, and Blueberry Sauce from this site. Next time I might try adding an extra half cup of buttermilk (as done by some other reviewers) to get a thinner pancake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      I made these for a late breakfast today, I bought buttermilk yesterday just for these as I usually use just 1% milk & vinegar for a sub. I always read the reviews then go from there. All I had was salted butter so used that & cut the salt in 1/2 used a 1/3 measuring c. to pour the batter with, added 1t. of vanilla. They turned out light & fluffy tasting almost like IHops. Made plenty & we just ate 5 of them so I had plenty to freeze & have on hand.
      A great pancake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Wow, these are awesome. Light, fluffy, with slightly crispy edges. Perfect recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      These are excellent. Easy to follow directions. The kids loved them! (Six-year-old said, "these are better than dad's!")

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      These are very very good! My husband hasn't liked pancakes since he was a kid but he loved these! They are very easy to make and are very tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      These were light, fluffy and truly delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and my picky husband raved. Thanks so much for posting! Made these again today, but added semi-sweet chocolate chips. With or without chips, these pancakes are wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Love this recipe! Very light and fluffy with a great butter taste to them. I used salted butter as I didnt have any unsalted on hand (I just reduced the salt to 1/2 t.) This is definately a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Yum! These were great! I doubled the vanilla & added chopped pecans. This was my first time making pancakes from scratch... very easy & came out perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2003

      I just finished making these for breakfast this morning, and my entire family gave them 5 stars! I used soymilk mixed with 2 Tbsp lemon juice in place of the buttermilk for dietary reasons, and had to add a little bit more flour to get them to a good consistency, but they turned out perfect! The "buttermilk" gave them a wonderful flavor! Much better than our usual Bisquick pancakes. I'm sure we'll be having these again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      Perfect pancakes every time. This is a special treat for my family on Saturday mornings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      Excellent. I accidentally left out the butter and the pancakes still turned out fine. I made 1/2 recipe and added 1 T. flax seeds (ground) to the batter to provide a little more fiber. 1/2 recipe was plenty for two people. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      Great recipe for light and fluffy pancakes. Served with maple syrup - yummy! I halved the recipe and made 7 pancakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      So disappointed! I really wanted this recipe to work, as my husband loves boxed pancake mix and I wanted to get away from it. I made the recipe as directed and I found the flavor to be much too salty, much too salty. I also had to shake the pan a bit to get the batter to thin out since my first few pancakes were too thick and were mushy in the middle. I will try this recipe again, cutting the salt in half and doubling up on the vanilla, maybe even use a bit less butter (I did not even need to "grease" my non-stick pan). I guess I should note that we do not add salt to our food normally, I do use kosher salt as a garnishing salt for flavor. Also, we try to eat without very much animal fat. That might be why we were not as happy, we we do not claim to be healthy eaters either, so I don't know. I'll update after I try my modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      OMG these were the best pancakes EVER!!! Everyone loved them and gobbled them up. I was making breakfast for dinner and wanted to make them from scratch, this recipe was a home run. So glad I tried this recipe!! Used the leftover batter for breakfast So easy, I never want to eat the box mix again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Great recipe, but too much salt. I'd half it. I halved the sugar, which would be okay if less salt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I've been eating pancakes at restaurants for as long as I can remember, but these pancakes were so easy to make and tasted so darn good, that I'll be making them at home from now on. I halved the recipe and substituted almond milk mixed with a teaspoon of white vinegar for the buttermilk. They were fluffy and light. Ironically enough, pancakes were the first thing I ever learned to make and that was over 25 years ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.2
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    36%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 171.2 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1659.4 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.8 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites