53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Magnificent. These are THEE best pancakes ever! The best I've ever had. They remind me of childhood and the BEST part is that you can make the pancakes and refrigerate or freeze any leftovers and then just pop them in the toaster for a quick breakfast... and they taste JUST as good. Thank you for this great great recipe!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VelvetPie January 24, 2009

5 Stars all the way. So good, nice and light and easy to make. Maybe this should be TEN stars. The only change I made was to cut the serving in half, then followed the directions as posted and they turned out just as I'd hoped. These are a true winner and I highly recommend them. Thanks for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 04, 2012

This is an amazing recipe! I will be making this one every time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetnesscat February 17, 2014

Too oily and flat. They fluffed up while cooking and looked promising but once they were plated they deflated. No matter what size I tried, they were difficult to flip, easily tearing and bunching. End result was greasy tasting and flat. Followed recipe exactly as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hdashnau February 16, 2014

Winner, winner! Chicken dinner! Hubby says 'Best I ever had!', so the search is over. Not being much of a pancake person myself, I never had a favorite recipe, but these were pretty darn good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi 13 January 14, 2013

I made these for dinner tonight and they were very good. Others commented about them tasting to salty and I didn't think so myself. I did not have buttermilk and made my own with milk and lemon juice. The kids could taste the lemon and I kind of liked the lemon flavor. This recipe make a nice fluffy pancake. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linnylouise December 17, 2011

These turn out very fluffy when you follow the instructions. I love how they have a slightly salty taste (I also used salted butter). Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lara.ghadban June 25, 2011

These are delicious! The next time I make them (and there will definitely be a next time!) I'm going to cut the amount of salt in half (they're a tad on the salty side) and add a few T. of sugar (I don't like syrup on my pancakes, so I prefer a sweeter pancake). Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells June 05, 2011

These are fabulous! No need to go out for pancakes anymore.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunnerbun November 28, 2010

This is my go-to pancake recipe. My boyfriend loves them. He even had me make him a pancake sandwich with salami and cheese in the middle :) I always add a little extra buttermilk to make them spread a little more in the pan and use up the whole container. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
komcdonald November 23, 2010
Buttermilk Pancakes