8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were delicious! Loved the fact that they had just the right amount of batter/breading. Not so much that it seemed like they were "all breading." Just perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted April 06, 2010

So so good. The best recipe I've tried yet. I wish there was a way to get the batter to stick on the onions more, it isn't a problem with this recipe, just all in general. But they were so good, will definitely be my go to recipe for onion rings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madefromscratch August 16, 2009

Nice tasting onion rings. We also used this batter for shrimp and it turned out just wonderful. The spices were right on. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 13, 2008

Delicious onion rings!! WOW! I made it as written except for using canola oil to fry in. I made these as a lunch side dish for the kids. Oh, boy they were scrambling to get more! LOL! Thanks, Wildflour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady April 05, 2008

SOOO GOOD!!! I was all set to make onion rings & was already soaking them in a buttermilk mixture, following another recipe (not from Zaar) - when I decided that they needed a little extra something or "kick" so I decided to use this recipe instead and I'm so glad I did! The only thing I changed was subbing Old Bay for chili powder out of personal preference and wow - just delicious. Served with Cheeseburgers for a simple but crowd pleasing meal. Terrific recipe! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinot Grigio March 19, 2008

These onion rings deserve 5 stars!!!! They were wonderful - crispy and full of flavor. We had them with a ribeye steak! Prepared as a participant in the March 2008 Aus/Nz Swap #14 Event. Thanks, Kelly for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook March 10, 2008

YUM YUM YUM!!!!! THIS was fabulous!!!!! I have NEVER made my own onion rings before and this was great!!! I halved the recipe and THAT was a HUGE mistake!!! I plan on making the other half tomorrow night. The spices were wonderful. I used a combination of white and yellow corn mean. I fried this up in my deep fryer and they were wonderful!!!! Again Kelly a Spectacular recipe!!! 20 starts or more!!!Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen July 15, 2006

These are wonderful! Gotta crunchy coating too! YUM! I did add about a Tbs. of cornstarch to the coating and sprinkled lemon pepper over the hot onion rings after bringing out of the hot oil. We loved them! Great with cheeseburgers!! Thanks for sharing your recipe peacefulnightdove! Its a Keeper! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. November 18, 2005
Buttermilk Onion Rings