10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really good and it makes great toast. I made one loaf using honey and then made a second loaf using agava nectar (hubby and I are diabetic) and both turned out really good. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 September 04, 2011

WOW is this yummy. I honestly chose it because I had some buttermilk to use up in the fridge and I am SO glad I did. I am eating the heel right now (warm) and it is fabulous as is. I am serving it tonight with Katzen's Vegetarian Cabbage Soup for a fabulous vegetarian dinner. THANKS for a keeper of a recipe!!! Funny for the day. . .I cut 2 pieces of bread for the photo, ate 1 and left the other piece and the remainder of the loaf to cool on the counter. Walked thru the kitchen about a half hour later and the loaf was GONE!!! My dear 10 year old golden retriever stole it. . .he too gives you 5 plus stars LOL. Will have to make this one again very soon as it was truly wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 22, 2009

I used equal parts of white flour and wheat flour and it had a great flavor. Thanks, will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec November 17, 2008

This was easy and tasty! I had to add about 3 tablespoons more flour, as the dough was way too sticky. It also stuck to my pan, and was not fully done after 25 minutes. I'll make again, but with a longer bake time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH August 21, 2008

We are heartbroken that our breadmaker broke; this is our favorite bread! Guess I'll have to try making it by hand...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anonymous23 April 16, 2008

Love, love, love this bread. No screwing with a perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJJohnson November 10, 2007

This one went over well with the family and made a moist but substantial slice. I did play with it, subbing about 1/2 cup of the white flour for 1/2 cup oat bran, but then the dough was a little wet and I add in probably about 2 to 3 heaping tablespoon of white flour. A tasty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ March 18, 2007

This was great bread! Dough was done in the ABM and then baked off in the oven. Very moist and great toasted. I ran into an ingredient problem and didn't have buttermilk, but was able to substitute some powdered buttermilk and it still worked out great. This one is a keeper! Thank you for posting:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 November 05, 2006

This is excellent bread. It has a nice, soft texture and a wonderful flavor. It makes great sandwiches. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine. When it was finished, I removed the dough and placed it in a greased cast iron loaf pan to let it raise and bake. I baked it at 325 degrees (cast iron cooks a little hotter) for approx. 30 mins. It came out perfect. My family devoured this and gave it 2 HUGE thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill April 22, 2006

Great bread and super easy to make. I started it in the bread machine and took it out to rise and baked it in the oven. The bread is moist with a wonderful flavor and nice crust! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper February 01, 2006
Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread (Abm)