Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk & Honey Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk & Honey Bread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2005

      First review 2/26/05I made this for MEAN CHEF's online bread making class. I made 1 loaf and 8 rolls. I went ahead and "shaped" the loaf before reading in the class transcript that you should flatten the dough and tightly roll it into a loaf; my loaf did not have a round top, but it’s just fine. The rolls look better. It all tastes great. I did not glaze with egg, and I had to put it all on hold in the middle of the second rising - I put in fridge and when I returned about an hour later, they had continued to rise and were ready for the oven ~ I just brought to room temp (about 15 mins) and baked ~ per MEAN CHEF's online instructions in the "classroom." Great class, great bread and GREAT teacher! Thanks MC for giving up the afternoon and to show us how to do it right! UPDATE! this is such a versatile recipe! I have made it again twice this weekend; once with equal parts whole wheat and white flour and again with 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds, 1/4 cup old fashioned (not quick cooking) oatmeal and 1/2 cup untoasted wheat germ. I decreased the flour to 4 cups and used equal parts whole wheat and white flour. I baked it in one big rustic free-form loaf. This is the BEST bread recipe! I will be using this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      first time I made this recipe, I set the loaves on the cooling racks, went to store to find nothing but crumbs left when I got back. Had to make 4 more loaves just to have enough bread for lunch sandwiches. thanks for the recipe post. A keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This made a really good dough that I'm sure would work great with alot of bread recipe's. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Recipe was pretty easy to follow and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Very good bread. This is on my Make Again list. I made half a recipe in my bread maker but took it out after the first rise and put it in a loaf pan for its 2nd rise and then baked it in the oven. My DH and I both liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This DESERVES 10 stars. Not only easy, but the loaves look pretty,after the egg wash, I sprinkled some kosher salt on top and then just a drop of butter here and there on top. It came out the BEST BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE!!! AND, it makes 2 loaves!!! (I didn't read down far enough to see that) THANKS..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This recipe turned out great and I'll definitely be making this again. In fact, I'm pretty sure this is my new go to recipe. The bread came out a nice brown, color, with a soft but lightly chewy and dense taste and feel. I wanted to use up some whole wheat pastry flour, so I used almost 2 cups of that, with the rest being (Canadian - not sure if that makes a difference) AP flour. To compensate for the denser/heavier whole wheat flour, I used two packages of dry yeast, which helped the heavier dough rise. Definitely a "keep it!" recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This bread tasted very nice. I only used 2 tbsp honey and it gave it a very subtle, sweet flavour. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      A good everyday bread with a soft center and somewhat tough, chewy crust which would, I think, be nice baked as French loaves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      Delicious bread with easy-to-follow directions. I didn't have any bread flour on hand so I used regular white flour. Worked great, except when I took the cover off after rising, the bread "fell" ...just deflated as I watched. I read elsewhere that white flour (in the US at least) doesn't have as much gluten as elsewhere...I'm guessing that would have helped here. I'll try it again with bread flour. In the meantime we'll enjoy our yummy (short) loaves! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Had some leftover buttermilk and wanted to try my had at making this bread. I substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour and didn't have any bread flour on hand, and it came out beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Yum! This took a while to rise, but it was well worth it. Next time I think I will make it with whole wheat flour mixed in our some seeds for added texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      Great bread! I made a loaf and rolls with this recipe and it is very good. Slightly sweet tangy flavor, nice crust and soft chewy inside, perfect for dinner rolls and sandwiches. I can tell right now this will be one of my favorite breads. Thanks Mean for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      This was a tasty bread, and easy too using the mixer. I managed to add an extra tbsp of honey on accident (once it starts flowing, look out!), and I used 1 packet of yeast, which is only 2 1/4 tsp. Worked out well. Thanks, Mean Chef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Loved this recipe...it made two tasty loaves perfect for sandwiches and toast. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      Yet another winner from MC.. Easy to follow directions and DELICOUS results. Fantastic sliced thick and toasted, which is how I judge homemade bread :) Thanks for another one to add to my list of "Over the Top" recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Another great buttermilk recipe! I am so glad to see someone else loves buttermilk as an ingredient! This bread smells and tastes wonderful. Easy to make! You know your stuff MEAN!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I love the taste and texture of this bread. Made mine just like the recipe, kneaded by hand nothing better than kneading bread dough. I used two 9x5 loaf pans but next time I think I would use smaller ones to get a higher loaf. Great bread for extra thick french toast, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk & Honey Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.6
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    10%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 10.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 311.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites