35 Reviews

First review 2/26/05I made this for MEAN CHEF's online bread making class. I made 1 loaf and 8 rolls. I went ahead and "shaped" the loaf before reading in the class transcript that you should flatten the dough and tightly roll it into a loaf; my loaf did not have a round top, but it’s just fine. The rolls look better. It all tastes great. I did not glaze with egg, and I had to put it all on hold in the middle of the second rising - I put in fridge and when I returned about an hour later, they had continued to rise and were ready for the oven ~ I just brought to room temp (about 15 mins) and baked ~ per MEAN CHEF's online instructions in the "classroom." Great class, great bread and GREAT teacher! Thanks MC for giving up the afternoon and to show us how to do it right! UPDATE! this is such a versatile recipe! I have made it again twice this weekend; once with equal parts whole wheat and white flour and again with 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds, 1/4 cup old fashioned (not quick cooking) oatmeal and 1/2 cup untoasted wheat germ. I decreased the flour to 4 cups and used equal parts whole wheat and white flour. I baked it in one big rustic free-form loaf. This is the BEST bread recipe! I will be using this again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmejulie April 03, 2005

first time I made this recipe, I set the loaves on the cooling racks, went to store to find nothing but crumbs left when I got back. Had to make 4 more loaves just to have enough bread for lunch sandwiches. thanks for the recipe post. A keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefmick April 29, 2011

This made a really good dough that I'm sure would work great with alot of bread recipe's. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes October 21, 2010

Recipe was pretty easy to follow and it was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OuttaWorkMightAsWellCook October 06, 2010

Very good bread. This is on my Make Again list. I made half a recipe in my bread maker but took it out after the first rise and put it in a loaf pan for its 2nd rise and then baked it in the oven. My DH and I both liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 20, 2010

This DESERVES 10 stars. Not only easy, but the loaves look pretty,after the egg wash, I sprinkled some kosher salt on top and then just a drop of butter here and there on top. It came out the BEST BREAD I HAVE EVER MADE!!! AND, it makes 2 loaves!!! (I didn't read down far enough to see that) THANKS..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco March 17, 2010

This recipe turned out great and I'll definitely be making this again. In fact, I'm pretty sure this is my new go to recipe. The bread came out a nice brown, color, with a soft but lightly chewy and dense taste and feel. I wanted to use up some whole wheat pastry flour, so I used almost 2 cups of that, with the rest being (Canadian - not sure if that makes a difference) AP flour. To compensate for the denser/heavier whole wheat flour, I used two packages of dry yeast, which helped the heavier dough rise. Definitely a "keep it!" recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NutMegs August 25, 2009

This bread tasted very nice. I only used 2 tbsp honey and it gave it a very subtle, sweet flavour. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose January 02, 2009

A good everyday bread with a soft center and somewhat tough, chewy crust which would, I think, be nice baked as French loaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes November 03, 2008

Delicious bread with easy-to-follow directions. I didn't have any bread flour on hand so I used regular white flour. Worked great, except when I took the cover off after rising, the bread "fell" ...just deflated as I watched. I read elsewhere that white flour (in the US at least) doesn't have as much gluten as elsewhere...I'm guessing that would have helped here. I'll try it again with bread flour. In the meantime we'll enjoy our yummy (short) loaves! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely March 29, 2008
Buttermilk & Honey Bread