Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Herb Marinade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Herb Marinade

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2009

      Fantastic! Added marinade to a ziploc bag containing 4 chicken breasts with bones and skin and froze. Pulled out the night before I cooked them, and let marinate/defrost in the fridge. Baked for an hour at 350 and got the most flavorful, incredibly moist chicken. Absolutely delicious! The whole family enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This marinade is outstanding, and the quantity given here is enough for about 8 chicken pieces. When I have them in my garden, I usually use fresh herbs for this, dried work as well. I use it for OAMC cooking, as follows. Place marinade in a ziplock bag. Add chicken pieces, and coat chicken well. Remove as much air as possible, and seal the bag. Freeze. Remove from freezer 24 hours before cooking to thaw. Cook as you wish. I usually throw these on the grill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Used this marinade prior to making French's Crunchy Onion Chicken with beautiful results. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      ~Nimz~ you have done it again! This is scrumptious on chicken & pork. I did add 3 cloves of minced garlic, as we bleed garlic in this house! Thank you so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Marinated cornish hens overnite with this lovely marinade. This was so perfect on the grill, the chik almost got up to run away, it was such huge hit. Once I got everyone to calm down, this produced a dramatically tender cornish hen, that was easily eaten up by all who graced the table...so tender, so juicy, there was nothing left but cleaned bones. Will use this often, thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I really liked the taste of the chicken (I marinated for 7 hours) but it stuck to the grill and came out a bit on the soft side (not getting that firm crust on the outside that I love. If I were to make this again, I would use the oven or else add some oil to the marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      I marinated 8 chicken thighs for about 8 hours. I did add 1 chopped garlic, but could definately add more next time. As I always have buttermilk in my fridge, I will be doing this one again!!! Thanks for the posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Marinated boneless skinless chicken breasts for about 4 hours. Turned out very moist on the grill. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Fabulous on chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I used this marinade for pork tenderloin, that I sliced. It was in the marinade overnight. I didn't have sage and marjoram and it was still delicious. The pork was so tender and tasty. Thanks Nimz. Made for 123 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      This turned out really good. I marinated my chicken overnight, then baked it in 1 cup white wine with sprigs of lemon thyme resting on top. Very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      This was a very tasty marinade ~Nimz~. I marinaded my chicken legs in the marinade for 2 days, I then coated them with a ritz crackers mixture and baked them in the oven. They turned out perfect; the chicken legs were tender, moist, juicy and very very flavourful. I didn't have any dijon mustard, so I used prepared mustard instead. I especially loved the chicken cold, it brought out all the different flavours and the after taste was amazing. Thanks so much for sharing, I can't wait to try this with pork tenderloin. Kudos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I'm trying to clean some meats out of my freezer that are close to the limit for how long they should be so stored, which led me to choose this recipe for some pork center-cut chops I neede to use. I created a buttermilk equivalent by placing 1 Tbs vinegar in a cup measure, filing it with skim milk, waiting 10 minutes, then stirring. I knew I would love this marinade especially because I'm fond of the combination of thyme and sage as thickeners. It also had the pleasant tang of the mustard and just a hint of sweetness from the noney. He chops came out tender and perfect. I look forward to trying this with chicken, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This was so easy and so good. I used mine for chicken kebobs (see picture) and marinated for about 2 hours. The chicken was really nice and tender and well seasoned. Noticed that served hot, it was hard to taste the honey and I considered leaving it out next time. However, with the cold leftovers there was a touch of sweetness that complemented the herby-ness. Love having a lowfat marinade and will certainly use this again. Thanks Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Herb Marinade

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.8
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    14%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 9.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 2755.1 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 29.1 g
    116%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites