19 Reviews

Cut down on the salt and it's not to bad...Good flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wes Goforth November 06, 2001

Gay--what a fabulous way to fry chicken! My husband really does any frying that we may do, and he LOVED this method. We soaked boneless chicken in buttermilk for 24 hours, then drained, and cut into strips, about chicken tender-size. I didn't have any paprika left, so we instead of using the spices suggested, we improvised by shaking the strips in a ziploc bag with some emerils essence that I had mixed up earlier. Doing this first, THEN dredging in flour is so perfect. I was saying, "Why didn't we ever think of doing it this way?" Anyway, since it was boneless, they cooked up very quickly, and were flavorful, tender, and very juicy. This is the only way he'll fry chicken anymore. Thanks for a perfect recipe, Gay!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao March 01, 2004

Way too salty. It was tasty but I make other chicken dishes that are better and not fried in tons of vegetable oil!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srappleby July 23, 2015

I wrote a review and it has not appeared..... anyway, this is good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfnagle_7014039 September 06, 2014

This produced the most amazing crust. I brined my chicken in a buttermilk, herb and hot sauce brine, then dredged in flour, egg wash and flour again. I wanted to take a picture, but the gorgeous chicken was inhaled by my guests before I had a chance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs March 08, 2012

This made some great tasting fried chicken! I especially loved the seasoning, which doesn't get lost in the flour, but trapped just underneath the crust! I did add a little hot sauce to my buttermilk soak, as we love hot and spicy. I think that next time, I'll double-dip, for a little more crust. I'm on a quest for awesome fried chicken and this will surely go into 'my favorites' cookbook! Thanks for sharing Alton's recipe, Gay Gilmore!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl August 08, 2011

Easy process, crunchy, but too much salt. I'll try it again but cut the salt in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alwayseating September 08, 2009

Juicy, tangy and well-spiced, even when we reduced the cayenne. I was kitchen-testing skillets and cooked in three different skillets, so agree with the reviewer who said it took much longer than 10-12 minutes per side. Mine was more like 17 to 20 per side to reach 160, the new recommended temp for poultry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffernutter August 23, 2009

This recipe produces beautiful chicken, no question, and it was enjoyed by my family and guests, but there is something about fried chicken prepared with buttermilk that is just not my cup of tea. I make fried chicken just about every week, so I've tried many recipes and I prefer a crust that is lightly crispy. That is just my preference, however, so for all you out there that like the heavier crust, this is an excellent recipe. I made this recipe with less salt and without garlic powder, but with a touch of onion powder as I think garlic powder tastes funny on traditional fried chicken. Thanks for such pretty and tasty chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson July 07, 2009

I made this for my DH using chicken legs. Some were very large, so I finished them off in the oven. He enjoyed them. Thanks Gay!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 26, 2009
Buttermilk Fried Chicken