Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2001

      Cut down on the salt and it's not to bad...Good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      Gay--what a fabulous way to fry chicken! My husband really does any frying that we may do, and he LOVED this method. We soaked boneless chicken in buttermilk for 24 hours, then drained, and cut into strips, about chicken tender-size. I didn't have any paprika left, so we instead of using the spices suggested, we improvised by shaking the strips in a ziploc bag with some emerils essence that I had mixed up earlier. Doing this first, THEN dredging in flour is so perfect. I was saying, "Why didn't we ever think of doing it this way?" Anyway, since it was boneless, they cooked up very quickly, and were flavorful, tender, and very juicy. This is the only way he'll fry chicken anymore. Thanks for a perfect recipe, Gay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2014

      I wrote a review and it has not appeared..... anyway, this is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      This produced the most amazing crust. I brined my chicken in a buttermilk, herb and hot sauce brine, then dredged in flour, egg wash and flour again. I wanted to take a picture, but the gorgeous chicken was inhaled by my guests before I had a chance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      This made some great tasting fried chicken! I especially loved the seasoning, which doesn't get lost in the flour, but trapped just underneath the crust! I did add a little hot sauce to my buttermilk soak, as we love hot and spicy. I think that next time, I'll double-dip, for a little more crust. I'm on a quest for awesome fried chicken and this will surely go into 'my favorites' cookbook! Thanks for sharing Alton's recipe, Gay Gilmore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Easy process, crunchy, but too much salt. I'll try it again but cut the salt in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Juicy, tangy and well-spiced, even when we reduced the cayenne. I was kitchen-testing skillets and cooked in three different skillets, so agree with the reviewer who said it took much longer than 10-12 minutes per side. Mine was more like 17 to 20 per side to reach 160, the new recommended temp for poultry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This recipe produces beautiful chicken, no question, and it was enjoyed by my family and guests, but there is something about fried chicken prepared with buttermilk that is just not my cup of tea. I make fried chicken just about every week, so I've tried many recipes and I prefer a crust that is lightly crispy. That is just my preference, however, so for all you out there that like the heavier crust, this is an excellent recipe. I made this recipe with less salt and without garlic powder, but with a touch of onion powder as I think garlic powder tastes funny on traditional fried chicken. Thanks for such pretty and tasty chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I made this for my DH using chicken legs. Some were very large, so I finished them off in the oven. He enjoyed them. Thanks Gay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      With the exception of the overwhelming salt. This was really good. I should have known that 2 tbls of salt, any kind was going to be too much...but no! I went with it any way. I did tell (salt loving DH) to taste before he added any salt. He said this is perfect...It did crisp up nicely and the directions were right on.Thanks Mr Jackson for posting. Made for PAC spring 08'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Great fried chicken. The only thing I did differently was to cover the skillet to begin with. Then when I turn the chicken over, I leave the cover off so that the browned crust doesn't get steamed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Sooooo delicious. The best pan-fried chicken recipe I have found. I made a big batch of the seasoning and put it in an empty spice jar with a shaker, just like Alton does in the episode featuring this recipe. It is fantastic to have on hand. I added some extra cayenne since my husband and I like our food spicier than average. It was DELICIOUS the next day, cold and warmed up. I fried in canola oil instead of shortening (since I totally smoked the shortening through carelessness.) Be very careful with the temperature of your oil or shortening, as it's easy to take it past the smoke point if you don't watch out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      This is my standard for fried chicken recipes; tried and true. The only part I struggle with is keeping the temperature consistent and I usually add a little more shortening than is called for so it actually cooks the bottom half of the chicken. The taste is delicious and it makes for some REALLY good cold chicken for a picnic or leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      Wonderful fried chicken Kimberly! I did not have any Kosher salt on hand, so I used regular, but cut the amount down a bit. I soaked the chicken in buttermilk since early this morning. The spice combination was perfect and the chicken was melt-in-your-mouth DELICIOUS!! I served it with homemade fries, what a wonderful meal! This is a keeper for sure, thanks so much for posting!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      We enjoyed this recipe. The coating was very good. I had a hard time keeping the crust from becoming too brown while cooking it. I might lower the temperature just a little bit next time. I served it with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes #65159 and made milk gravy from the fried chicken pan. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      Was looking for a recipe for fried chicken that I could serve cold and this one turned out WONDERFUL!! The whole family loved it. I had to fry it for a lot longer than 10-12 minutes per side and I finally covered it (slightly vented) to get the breast to cook to an internal temp of 180°F. Once it had, I removed the lid and let it fry about 5 minutes more per side to recrisp the coating. Let drain as directed and placed in frig. Coating held up well and the flavor was excellent. The meat was very tender and tasty also. Thanks for sharing Kimberly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      This was the first time I have ever attempted to make fried chicken. Like leannr, I used sliced boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and was simply blown away by how explosively juicy they were. Just incredible. My crust wasn't quite up to par, as I had some issues trying to maintain the correct temperature of the fat (I used lard), but with time, I can see that becoming second nature. My husband has told me that anytime I want to make this, he would be more than happy to clean up the stove for me. :) Great recipe- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2004

      I made this recipe for a Memorial Day picnic, and it was hilarious. My Mom was over my shoulder the whole time telling me that if I didn't turn them they'd burn. I was trying to use my cast iron skillet, not having an easy time controlling the oil temp, and she was right--the first batch burned. I told her it wasn't because I didn't turn them, it was because I couldn't control the temp, so she went out and bought me an electric skillet. The second batch was the best chicken we've ever had! The chicken is juicy, the flavor is wonderful, and the crust is just the right amount of crispy! I cut back on the cayenne, because we aren't hot/spicy people, but it was still excellent! Thanks Gay! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (398 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 897.8
     
    Calories from Fat 438
    48%
    Total Fat 48.7 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 236.5 mg
    78%
    Sodium 5042.4 mg
    210%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 67.8 g
    135%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes