Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Doughnuts Donuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Doughnuts Donuts

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2008

      Wow, these made my kids so happy. I mixed the dough in my bread machine, cut them out, and put them in the fridge overnight. Then in the morning I took them out and let them rise in my warm oven for about 1 hour while I exercised. (To counter the fact that I was going to eat a bunch of doughnuts for breakfast!) Then I fried them up and dipped them in the glaze that I had added a handful of melted chocolate chips to. They were wonderful and the kids devoured them in minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Finally! I've been searching for a doughnut recipe that actually tasted like doughnuts. They came out soft and I didn't even use make the glaze. The recipe was so easy to follow. The only hard part was getting the frying part down. I found out that it's got to be the perfect light brown. My family loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Hi Marg, I love these donuts. They're tasty and easy to make, especially when you toss it all into the bread machine. I used 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour, 1 c whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 c oat flour for a little variety and extra fiber. Last night I prepared the dough, cut them out, and put them covered on a cookie sheet in the fridge overnight. I got up early to take them out and let them come to room temp and rise some more for a couple of hours. We had lovely fresh donuts this morning, a hit with all of us. Your glaze was delicious. Took a bit more milk for me and I'd add some vanilla or other extracts to it next time. After I'd used the glaze for a quarter of the donuts, I added some melted semi-sweet chocolate to the remainder to make chocolate glazed as well. Cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar also fit the bill. Next time I'll leave the "hole" in and try filling them with pudding or jelly. These are really tasty and fun to make. Thanks, Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Marg, I used this recipe for soofganiyot! I had bought buttermilk during Channukka with some odd memory of buttermilk doughnuts floating around in my head, tried a recipe from my Settlement Cookbook that was substandard, and with a lot of buttermilk left went looking for another recipe. Decided to use this recipe and use up the dulce de leche as well for filling. Amazing combo!! This is my new soofganiyot dough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I made this recipe yesterday and these were the best homemade donuts I ever had. I have been cooking for many years but just recently got interested in making donuts . I have tried many recipes but this one is the best for sure. Simple ingredients, mixes with a spoon! What else could you want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      This is the first recipe I made with my new fryer, and the first time I've made fried doughnuts. I've done very little frying in my cooking career, so would consider myself a novice. That said, these were really very easy and the kids absolutely loved them. Next time I think I'll let rise on a heavily floured tea towel and see how that goes. My one complaint was that after rising, when I picked up the dough to add to the fryer, it deflated, so some of my doughnuts weren't as light and fluffy as they should have been. That's not a fault of the recipe, just something I'll work on next time. The glaze was very good, and I love the idea of stirring in some raspberry jam or melted chocolate chips for variations. Come to think of it, this is a recipe I probably should never have found :) Thanks for sharing, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Absolutly the BEST donuts I have ever had! I mean it, you wont be sorry that you made these. Everybody loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I've died and gone to doughnut making heaven! I'm so excited that I can make doughnuts now!!! This has to be the best recipe ever. I put maple flavoring in the icing and it was delicious! You have to make these doughnuts now!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This is the easiest, most successful doughnut recipe I've ever used. The dough is smooth and silky and so easy to knead and cut. I opted to make doughnut twists instead of traditional doughnuts (inspired by Almanzo Wilder's mother in Farmer Boy, which I'd been reading aloud with my children). The twists fried up a beautiful golden brown, and we dipped half of them in the glaze and dredged the others in cinnamon and sugar. YUM! Definitely a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I help the chapel cook dinner for single airmen in the dorms once a week and, I prepared approximately 50 of these plus all the holes, and they were an amazing success. Some thought they were better than Krispy Kreme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Awesome homemade doughnuts, I don't keep buttermilk so I make "fake" buttermilk when I need some and they were great! Here are buttermilk substitutes if anyone needs them: 1. Add 1-3/4 tablespoons of cream of tartar to a cup of milk OR 2. Add a tablespoon of lemon juice OR white vinegar to a cup of milk and let it stand for 5 to 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I have made these twice this winter already and they are a big hit with my family -- there is just something about buttermilk that makes wonderful baked goods. The only change I made was to proof the yeast in a small, warmed glass bowl and then add it to the other ingredients in the large bowl. It's a beautiful dough, rolls out easily -- I also used a larger doughnut cutter, about 3 1/2", yielding about half as many larger doughnuts. We didn't glaze these either, just tossed them in regular granulated sugar. I mixed them up, cut them out and let them rise in the refrigerator all day,then took them out and fried them that night when we got home from a Christmas activity. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      I have a KA, so this was practically no work at all. Dough was so soft and pliable. I let it double before rolling and shaping. Let it rise again for 45 minutes before frying. These donuts actually taste best when rolled in plain sugar. Wonderful recipe. Thank you so much for posting. Will make again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I made these donuts today. They turned out pretty well. The only challenge I had was after they had risen for 45 minutes they deflated and didn't stay round, when I tried to take them out of the tray. The dough was also very sticky. They tasted good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      was a little worried at first with the dough being "springy" but these turned out awesome...just like krispy K......! even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      Praise God! I don't have to go 40 minutes out of the way to buy my favorite glazed doughnuts anymore. These were absolutely delicious! Thanks for submitting this recipe. Just curious as to how these could be this good without eggs? Every other recipe I have seen used eggs. What made me want to try this is of course, was the buttermilk, which always makes baked products moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      These were such a hit! I made some for my son's birthday breakfast and they disappeared! My husband says they're better than Krispy Kreme (but then again, there is no Krispy Kreme where we live, so his memory may be a little fuzzy)! :D Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2014

      Than you for the most delicious doughnuts I've ever made. Easy preparation and very soft and tasty. The kids were amazed when they tried them! We're going to make these and only these from now on! A big thank you to you Marge from Norway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      I am giving this a no star rating because it is really a note to me and I need it in my review folder so I remember for reference.I am on a quest to find a great donut. This is not what I was looking for. This process allowed the gluten to form too strong of stands to make a light airy doughnut. glaze had too much of a powdered sugar taste and was not liked my DH or DS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Great flavor. I too used to fry cooker. Thanks for that idea. I forgot the baking power but thy still turned out great. Only problem is the recipe did not make many and they did not last!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Doughnuts Donuts

    Serving Size: 1 (1021 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    14%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 256.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 24.1 g
    96%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes