Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Cornmeal Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Cornmeal Muffins

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2006

      Have made these several times, the 2nd time using mostly whole wheat flour, used only 1/4 c. sugar, substituted 1/4 c. olive oil for the melted butter. Worked fine for us! Very easy to make too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      I recently made these tonight according to the recipes directions and lined the muffin tin with paper muffin cups and cooked them at the oven temp listed after 15 minutes they still weren't baked all the way through so I added an additional 5 minutes bringing them to a total baking time of 20 minutes at 400 degrees the texture was alright and the muffins were moist . soaking the cornmeal in the butter milk does make a difference in the way they turn out so its important to be sure to soak the cornmeal in the butter milk that results in a moist and tender muffin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Excellent! I reduced both butter and sugar to 1/4 c. I also mixed the ingredients on my usual way for cornbread--all dry ingredients combined in a large bowl, all wet stuff whisked together in a large measuring cup, then add wet to dry and stir to combine. Went together fast and had a great texture and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      SO delish! Had some buttermilk I needed to get rid of last week and found this recipe. What a keeper! The only change I made was reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup. It was plenty sweet that way. I filled the cups 3/4 full and had enough batter to make exactly 13 muffins. Boyfriend gobbled them up in less than 24 hrs! Making more right now to go with venison chili. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      These we were going to make and give to a neighbor, but were so good we ate them all. We'll have to make another batch. YUMMY. We got 13 muffins but the tins were the disposable kind that are rather small. My kids loved being part of the process of making it since it was so easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Really good! I also used (per the review of Marzy) 1/4 cup of olive oil in exchange for the butter and cut the sugar in half. I served them with chicken wild rice soup and salad. They were REALLY good crumbled over the salad! I like the texture of these... they don't crumble to bits like a lot of corn bread recipes do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      It appears that I'm eating/drinking my way across fooddotcom. I most enjoyed your contribution towards my quest and your generosity sparkles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I made these and my kids ate them so quickly I made double next time - and the same thing happened. It is the muffin of choice for our family and they are quick and easy too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      These make a nice fine-grained muffin--fab with chili! DH thought that they were a little dry, though I thought they were moist enough. (I will keep a closer eye on them next time!) Thank you for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Very, very nice! The only thing I omitted was sugar, only because I prefer them salty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Another winning recipe I found on Recipezaar!! I followed the recipe exactly and the texture was perfect. Next time I'm going to throw in some shredded cheddar cuz that's the kind I always buy when at coffee break. The bottoms were slightly burned but I think that might be my oven....Thanks for the great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

    • on January 02, 2007

      Wow! These are so yummy! They are cake-like and soft. I'm in love! I rated the other muffins 5 stars because they were yummy too but now, after making these I wish I could give them 6 stars!! Superb and easy! P.S. THis recipe doubles beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Good Recipe! Moist and cake-like texture. My only mistake was not sifting the dry ingredients together. I ended up with some dry clumps in my muffins that tasted bad, but this was in the technique, not the recipe. This is by far the best cornbread recipe I have ever tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      These were fabulous corn muffins. They had the perfect sweetness without being overly sweet. The muffins were dense, but not heavy and baked perfectly in my oven in 20 minutes. I served them as a side to BBQ ribs, coleslaw, baked beans, mac & cheese and with Honey Butter (Honey Butter) spread on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Mmmmmmmmmm - Is how the critics responded with just one bite. Thanks for the recipie; it truley is the BEST!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      These are delicious. Just sweet enough, with a great texture. I decreased the salt significantly and used 1/4 tsp. I also substituted sour milk (1 1/2 Tbsp vinegar mixed with enough low fat milk to equal 1 1/2 cups) for the buttermilk. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      I really like cornmeal anything!! These were really good. Will probably make them again in the near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Cornmeal Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    31%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 431.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites