22 Reviews

Have made these several times, the 2nd time using mostly whole wheat flour, used only 1/4 c. sugar, substituted 1/4 c. olive oil for the melted butter. Worked fine for us! Very easy to make too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marzy September 21, 2006

Just made a double batch of these along with a nice big jar of pumpkin butter for the family to enjoy on Halloween. They taste amazing! I did make one addition of 3 cobs of fresh corn. I cut them from the cob and put them in a sauce pan for about 5-10 minutes on high before adding them to the batter. I have to say it made a huge wonderful addition to the muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky S. October 30, 2015

No one cared for these mainly because we couldn't taste the corn flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squeaks2much September 21, 2015

I've been trying all the pro recipes with the highest ratings but this one is by far the best. Very light, fluffy and more cake like than any one elses, so far! Thanks. Used 2% and 1 t vinegar. Used 70% noname canola marg. Still awesome! Cant wait to try them with real dairy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunliferob September 14, 2015

Best corn muffin recipe I have ever made, and I have made a lot as I love corn muffins. I even used buttermilk powder, as I did not have fresh on hand. The batter looked thin but they turned out great. I also used less sugar, about 1/4 cup. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denise d. August 02, 2015

I recently made these tonight according to the recipes directions and lined the muffin tin with paper muffin cups and cooked them at the oven temp listed after 15 minutes they still weren't baked all the way through so I added an additional 5 minutes bringing them to a total baking time of 20 minutes at 400 degrees the texture was alright and the muffins were moist . soaking the cornmeal in the butter milk does make a difference in the way they turn out so its important to be sure to soak the cornmeal in the butter milk that results in a moist and tender muffin

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunnybiz June 26, 2014

Excellent! I reduced both butter and sugar to 1/4 c. I also mixed the ingredients on my usual way for cornbread--all dry ingredients combined in a large bowl, all wet stuff whisked together in a large measuring cup, then add wet to dry and stir to combine. Went together fast and had a great texture and flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamC March 03, 2013

SO delish! Had some buttermilk I needed to get rid of last week and found this recipe. What a keeper! The only change I made was reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup. It was plenty sweet that way. I filled the cups 3/4 full and had enough batter to make exactly 13 muffins. Boyfriend gobbled them up in less than 24 hrs! Making more right now to go with venison chili. YUM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
projectclean October 16, 2012

These we were going to make and give to a neighbor, but were so good we ate them all. We'll have to make another batch. YUMMY. We got 13 muffins but the tins were the disposable kind that are rather small. My kids loved being part of the process of making it since it was so easy to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkymunky613 July 06, 2012

Really good! I also used (per the review of Marzy) 1/4 cup of olive oil in exchange for the butter and cut the sugar in half. I served them with chicken wild rice soup and salad. They were REALLY good crumbled over the salad! I like the texture of these... they don't crumble to bits like a lot of corn bread recipes do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cara Lee March 29, 2011
Buttermilk Cornmeal Muffins