9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought I would take a walk on the Wild Side and see how those Yankees were fixin' their cornbread ;) Well, I have to tell you, I was very pleasantly surprised!! Delicious texture with just the right amount of sweetness! The only substitution I made was using salted butter instead of unsalted. Otherwise, followed your directions to the letter. It was so easy preparing this in the food processor! I will definitely make this recipe again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 08, 2003

All four of us gave this recipe the 5 star rating! Even my husband who dosen't really like cornbread... Easy to make. I used salted butter, and made small individual loaves.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beachdreamin' October 05, 2008

This cornbread was really good! I made it according to the directions except I don't have a food processor, so I just did it the old fashioned way. It still turned out wonderfully, really moist and very fluffy. I think next time I'll leave out the vanilla - although my kids really liked that flavor. I also decreased the sugar by a tablespoon and nobody noticed. I made it in a 8x8 pan. This is a great recipe for a good sweet, fluffy, soft cornbread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fab.butcher January 17, 2008

This is the best cornbread I've had in years. I only used 2 tbls. sugar, though, since we don't like it sweet. Still turned out good! Had a nice crispy crust from cooking it in the cast iron. Using the food processor made it fast and easy! Thanks for posting this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 21, 2007

I prepared this recipe for Pick a Chef '06. Being a gal from North Carolina I had never heard of vanilla in cornbread. Even though I was born in Maryland, I hadn't heard of that one. This cornbread was delicious though. Just the right sweetness and I prepared the recipe as posted. Thanks Steve, for a recipe I will be preparing again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinafan May 03, 2006

Excellent cornbread! Very nice texture, not too crumbly, perfect crust. The only change I made was to use sour milk instead of buttermilk. I'm a northerner so this is exactly suited to my tastes! I'll definitely keep this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Rowan March 28, 2004

There was an odd taste to it. I may not have used fresh ingredients or the fact that I used 6 times the amount of baking soda (thought it was baking powder when I grabbed it, oops). I will try it again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erik Hanson April 19, 2010

After trying many cornbread recipes, this one is the easiest and best. My choice from now on. The food processor makes it a snap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrlm February 08, 2010

Halved it & used 1 extra large egg - turned out marvellous. Cut the chilled salted butter with a pastry cutter & did add 1/2 cup minced yellow onion. It was delicious! Served with Jalapeno 2 Bean Colon Cleansing Chili - it was marvelous! Another keeper - especially with the hot stuff. Thanks Steve G!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 18, 2010
Buttermilk Cornbread