Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2001

      This is a delicious traditional cornbread. It is not crumbly or sweet. I got about 4 servings from this recipe. I did not have buttermilk on hand, so I put a tsp. of lemon juice in 1 cup of milk and it worked just fine. Thanks for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      This is the best cornbread recipe I've tried (and I've made lots of mediocre cornbread). It came out with a wonderful crispy crust but was nice and tender inside. I like the fact that it had no sugar or honey, as I do not like sweet cornbread. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      My mom's best friend always made buttermilk cornbread but mom's was made with sweet milk. I loved the buttermilk on so I had to try this. I was not disappointed. I made it in a iron skillet that is divided into 8 slices. *can't think of the name of it* It made exactly that amount and was nice and crunchy on the outside and moist and tender inside. Thanks for the perfect cornbread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

      This is a very good recipe! It is not crumbly or sweet! So simple to make and delicious too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      This was delicious! It took less than the twenty minutes in our oven. Very good corn bread with chili!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Great recipe. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I did not use the 2 tablespoon of oil. Instead I sprayed the pan with a little bit of canola oil. I did not need the whole 20 minutes to bake, out at 18 minutes and it was fully cooked, maybe next time I will check by 15 minutes. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Didn't care for this one. Texture was rubbery, slightly "off" somehow... not what I remember cornbread was like when I was a kid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      We used my wife's grandmothers cast iron skillet which is at least sixty years old. It is ten inches so I increased the amounts by 50% except the egg. The ou come was the best cornbread I have ever made. Moist yet crispy. I think this is a recipe you can work from. Add some peppers and corn for Mexican etc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      My family and I did not care for this cornbread - it tastes bland and lacked any sort of flavor, which might be a good thing if you're looking for a very plain cornbread, but I guess we're used to a more sweet cornbread. The one plus is that the texture was good, moist and crumbly. Maybe next time I'll just add 1/4 cup of sugar and see if that helps. I doubled the recipe to fill out a 9x9 pan, baked only 18 min and it was done. My family did eat it though after the initial disappointment with the plain flavor, spread it with lots of butter and jam. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      This is a very good recipe- easy and with excellant results. Personally, we prefer a sweeter cornbread- but if you are looking for a 'neutral' recipe- not sweet and not particularly savory, this is perfect. Thanks..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      The family is NOT into cornbread but I was making chili and this seemed like a great time to try the recipe. I have a 10 inch cast iron, so I did 1 1/2 times the recipe. The result was good but crumbly which could be blamed on me using only 1 egg. Next time I would add a second egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      You are such an enabler for if you only knew that I am far too likely to eat the whole pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      This is truly a southern cornbread that's made with buttermilk, a little flour, and NO sugar. I guess it could be considered old fashioned if it had a little melted bacon grease in it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      I am from England and met cornbread on a visit to Minneapolis, and have adored it ever since. I've tried many recipes since then and this is the BEST EVER. I also add a little chilli pepper and when all the grandchildren come over, I double the quantities and bake in a bigger Pyrex dish. Patricia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      This is a very mediocre recipe for Southern Cornbread. I live in NC and this isn't it! "Real" Southern Cornbread is sweeter, which can be accomplished with Truvia sweetner for you watching your sugar intake, and shouldn't we all?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      Too dry for my tastes. I prefer the fat to be in the cornbread. I also prefer a softer "crumb". Growing up in the south I have eaten a lot of cornbread and this was not one of my favorite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      Chef #1423922 may want to just buy a box of Jiffy Mix, as this was an excellent recipe, and Southern cornbread is not supposed to be sweet. That is like thinking you put milk and sugar in your grits! Just give me some butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      I'm a southern girl with an intolerance to wheat gluten, and I've have been searching for the perfect cornbread recipe. I was so happy to discover this one. It is perfect. I just use gluten free all purpose flour and add about 1/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum to make it taste "normal". This is my cornbread recipe for life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This recipe is amazing - and just like my mom's. She had taught me to make cornbread when I was young, but she just 'showed' me there was no recipe - and then I didn't make any for like 12 years (after moving to California, no one really wanted true Southern Style cornbread), but as I was making this, it all came back. Thanks so much for posting this, it gave me back some great memories. By the way I found this about 3 years ago, and never posted a review, then lost my printed copy and realized I'd never reviewed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      this was the first time that I tried a cornbread with cornmeal only.
      it is much better than the ones which also use all purpose flour in the recipe.
      Delicious and very easy and spongy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.3
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    39%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 226.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes