Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2001

      I cut this recipe in half (using 3 tbsp honey) and baked it in an 8" cake pan as a side-dish with tonight's dinner. This is by far the moistest cornbread I have ever made. It was easy, quick to whip together, and was wonderful. It's a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      This was by far the BEST cornbread recipe I've ever made. The honey gave it such a great hint of sweetness. I usually sprinkle some sugar in the raw over top my cornbread before baking, but opted not to with this one because of the applesauce and honey in it. It was a good decision too. All this cornbread needs, is a little butter on it when you eat it. Two thumbs up! Pretty easy to make, and a great flavor. POSITIVE I will make it again! My husband finished it off the next couple of mornings with some syrup on it for his breakfast. YUMMY! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      A FANTASTIC cornbread recipe.. very moist.. and very easy to make. Will be using this one often. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      i can't believe i forgot to give this 5 stars when i first tried it-sorry i was brand new then. this is the best cornbread recipe i have ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      I've been looking for a great cornbread recipe and this is it. Low fat, but still moist and delicious. I used nonfat yogurt instead of the buttermilk because that was what I had in the fridge, and it turned out perfect. I used it top a chili casserole (chili on the bottom, cornbread batter on the top, bake according to the cornbread directions) and it couldn't have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Very good cornbread. I had a hard time getting my boys to try it because they said the cornbread at school is always dry and yucky. Well, they changed their minds. I served it for guests on Thursday night and they ate a lot - good sign! Today I ate a leftover piece and it is STILL nice and moist. The only change I think I will make is to cut down on the salt. It seems just a tad bit salty to me so I might try that adjustment next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      Great cornbread recipe that we will be making again soon. Makes a lot enough for supper and hopefully leftovers for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Good! More flour than traditional cornbread so more cakey and moist. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      My DH is not a fan of cornbread but he said, hey this one isn't dry like most cornbread. That's a rave from him! It was delicious. I did cut salt in half and did 3 tsp baking powder to balance that change and the taste was terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Last night I served this cornbread - (recipe followed to a T) to 50 people at our BBQ. While I still haven't been able to sit down with a big piece of it, many guests came to me to compliment the cornbread. Thanks for a recipe that makes me look like a great cook! I am most happy that there is a little leftover piece for me to heat up and enjoy with my tea this morning while I survey this MESS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I have tried this recipe and my family loves it. I have had other recipes from Reserve La where my sister lives and they all match up to goodness

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Very good cornbread, super easy to make. It was a different texture than many, almost like a white cake, and much higher than any other cornbread I've tried. It had the perfect amount of moisture - not too dense and not too crumbly. It was a sweeter than we usually have, though if I'm going to make a 'sweet' cornbread this is now my go-to recipe. (I also used unsweetened applesauce and am not sure how the previous reviewer ended up with a non-sweet bread unless perhaps the 1/3 c. honey was accidentally omitted.) I think next time I might cut the honey in half, to give it just a subtle tinge of sweetness, just per personal preference. Hubby and the kids all loved it; I think they ate half the pan the first night! Since we usually go through an entire smaller recipe per meal, I also appreciate the larger size of this recipe. It's definitely going into our menu rotation and also into my list of recipes that work well for potlucks, church dinners, etc. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I just made this recipe as muffins and couldn't help myself by trying one and now I can't wait for dinner. Just fantastic and I will be making these quite often now. Thankyou Divinemom5, my search for cornbread muffins is over

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      These are quite different from traditional cornbread. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a bit more honey. They were still not very sweet. I made them into muffins. I served them to guests and they weren't especially popular. I will not make the recipe again, but it is worth trying once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This recipe is easy enough but I am not too crazy about the texture/crumb of the bread. It was too crumbly. I followed the recipe exactly too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      The subtle flavor of this cornbread grew on me. It's not very sweet and has a almost a spice flavor to it. The texture is very much like muffins. I used 1 tsp of salt (reading some of the reviews), 1 1/2 c white flour and 1 cup wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      This cooked up beautifully golden, with the texture of a fine-grained cake. I followed the exact recipe, with the exception of reducing the salt to one teaspoon. I would not use the word "moist" to describe it, and I did not detect any sweetness, perhaps because I used unsweetened applesauce. My husband shared a plate of this cornbread with his office and they really liked it. If you want a really good traditional cornbread recipe, this is the one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This cornbread was good. Texture very different than what I have been use to. Will try again, I'm sure. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Love it when I find a "keeper", and this definitely is. I cut the recipe in half and then halved the amount of salt once again. Got 10 moist,wonderful tasting muffins with just a hint of sweetness. Thanks, Divinemom5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      I ADORE this recipe. The first time I made it, I was amazed that cornbread could be so good! I grew up putting butter and syrup on mine just to avoid inhaling the dry crumbs and dying! I've made this recipe four times in three weeks (and there's only two of us!)and still can't get enough. I always halve the recipe and use less salt than is called for and we eat it plain. It makes an excellent snack bread and I'm sharing the recipe with everyone I know! We're purring loudly in Colorado!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.5
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    35%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 32.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 664.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes