28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

6/18 Update: Just made this pie again for my bf for Father's Day with 3/4 c sugar. Time to abandon this easy recipe - with the 3/4 c sugar renders it virtually tasteless, so you've got a choice between way too sweet and no flavor at all. You could try it with just one cup, but it's time to move on to a better fool-proof recipe.
6/10: Great texture, beautiful presentation, gorgeous to behold - but oh-so cloyingly, feel-it-in-your back-teeth sweet. I wish I had paid attention to some of the reviews and reduced the sugar to 3/4 c. I'll make it again as it is my bf's favorite, but glad he wasn't around to try this one. I made the crust with Ina' Garten's pastry dough recipe in a 9" tart pan and the entire pie came out picture perfect, but to put it bluntly, if you think Krispy Kreme Donuts are just the right amount of sweet, don't change the amount of sugar in this pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a cook from SoCal June 18, 2012

Very good. The recipe I use calls for grated coconut, which I find much better than with flaked coconut..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biggal March 15, 2012

Absolutely fool proof and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xajart101 December 26, 2011

This is a very easy, very rich pie. I cut the sugar down to alittle over 3/4 cup and it was still a bit sweet for my tastes. I know one reviewer said they put close to 1/4 c flour-DO NOT DO THIS. I have made this pie 3 times and did that one time and it dries out the pie. I am only giving it 4 stars b/c it was a little too sweet for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dhikirah786 September 01, 2010

When I put on my cooking shoes, I burn 'em up! Made for Farm Cooking Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 04, 2010

I had never had a buttermilk pie before, but I had some buttermilk I needed to use up and thought that I would give this a try. It was delicious! It was nothing like my all time favorite pie - coconut cream - but it was so good that I will definitely be making this again. Add to that the fact that it was super simple to make and came out perfectly after following the directions exactly and it is a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingCook October 01, 2009

great pie! very easy to put together. great flavor. everyone loved it.5 stars Debster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grumpy adams September 22, 2009

I have baked this pie and all of my family loves it. When I make it now I have to double it up. My sons are grown and want to take a pie home. My husband is diabetic so I made it with 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar. MMMMM. good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darnell0815 September 10, 2009

I made this pie for a dinner party. It was truly the best coconut pie I have ever tasted. Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbaraf306 July 13, 2009

Yummy! But I am diabetic, so I changed it a bit. For the sugar, I used 1/3 cup of splenda baking mix and 1/2 cup of powdered splenda. Didn't have any buttermilk, so I made my own with canned milk and vinegar. My baking time was reduced to 45 minutes. Took it to class and nobody could tell I used splenda and they all wanted the recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda1950 December 04, 2007
Buttermilk Coconut Pie